We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Maritime Marstrand
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marstrand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Marstrand is a beautiful place and staying in Villa Maritime puts you perfectly on the island. Comfortable rooms with a fully equipped kitchen and a heated pool. Perfect when travelling with family! Good restaurant too! We had a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    7
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
6
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

As u get off the ferry on the mar strand island u can see the villa maritime. A two min walk n u r at the property. Lovely n beautiful view. As the winter is still on the restaurant of the hotel is closed until you have a huge group staying. But beautiful rooms, very clean n comfortable. It's a mini apartment in itself. Our was facing the swimming pool (covered coz of winter), you can see the top of the fort as well as the waterside.we had a gr8 2 day stay. The breakfast was placed in the room itself. Overall a memorable weekend getaway.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddybailur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Had high hopes for this hotel on the island of Marstrand. It's got self-catering 'apartments' with a little kitchen in the corridor, a sitting room and bedroom. In the event, we got a room on the front on the ground floor. It was badly equiped, noisy and hot. When we booed we were told there was air con, but it didn't work. As a result we were kept awake until the early hours by revellers. Pity, because the location is potentially good. Dishwasher hadn't been emptied and had dirty stuff when we arrived. Not surprising because it didn't seem to work. Kitchen was badly equipped and we had to borrow stuff from the hotel restaurant kitchen. You may do better if you get a room higher up or at the back. but avoid ground floor front!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellinB0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

I've stayed at Villa Maritime two times during business trips. The conference facilities and the food is great but the rooms feels very dated and in urgent need of new furniture. The rooms I've stayed in are quite a contrast when compared with the modern and trendy lobby and restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PolarTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2006

My grandparents were born and raised on Marstrand. I so wanted to meet all of our relatives, but wanted my own place to stay. I rented two rooms..one for my husband and I...we got a lovely first floor apartment that was close to the pool and had a lovely patio. Everything that we needed was there for us...

Be aware though, that if you are renting, you must rent sheets and towels. We didn't know that! The staff is very helpful and friendly. I have not one complaint about this place and would stay again.

My kids had a two bed room on the third floor...it was large and roomy.

You can do your own cleaning, or have a maid service come in.

Laundry has to be signed up for, but they provide everything and it is free!!

Lovely grocery store across the island stocked with anything you need. Ferry ride to Marstrand is about $2 the ride back is free.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank cmfairygodmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 April 2005

I've just come from a night at the Villa Maritime hotel on Marstrand Island, off the west coast of Sweden. I was so impressed that I jumped to write a review when I saw this site.
The hotel is right on the waterfront, only steps off the ferry. Upon stepping into the room, my first impression is that it was larger than my first apartment. A 2-room suite, living room and bedroom. The living room area also contained a full kitchen and dining table. The kitchen was fully equipped with utensils, etc. Because I had a ground-floor room, it also had a sitting area outside with lounge chairs. The hotel overlooks the "gap" between the island and the mainland, which is perhaps a hundred yards. Marstrand has gorgeous North Sea scenery. Rooms looking the other way would have a view of the Carstens fortress, which dramatically tops off the island.
Everything was very clean and efficient. Large closet space would make this a comfortable place for a lengthy stay.
My only disappointment is that I was traveling on business, only here for the one night because all the hotels in Gothenburg were full. Thus I missed out really being able to enjoy the hotel and the island. I certainly plan to come back someday, and suggest you should too!

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marstrand
0.2 mi away
Marstrands Havshotell
Marstrands Havshotell
#1 of 3 in Marstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Marstrand
Grand Hotel Marstrand
#2 of 3 in Marstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
15.5 mi away
Nosunds Vardshus
Nosunds Vardshus
#1 of 1 in Nosund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Stenungsbaden Yacht Club
Stenungsbaden Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in Stenungsund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soldathotellet
Soldathotellet
#1 of 3 in Marstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
4.7 mi away
Salt & Sill
Salt & Sill
#1 of 1 in Kladesholmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maritime Marstrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maritime Marstrand

Property: Villa Maritime Marstrand
Address: 35 Hamngatan, Marstrand 442 67, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Bohuslan > Marstrand
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Marstrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Maritime Marstrand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing