We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for exploring the Sani Pass”
Review of Albizia House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albizia House
Ranked #4 of 9 Himeville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Simple and nice bed and breakfast - a perfect location to tour the Sani Pass.

Chris and Meg were super friendly and accommodating, cooked a lovely big breakfast. They organised a great day trip to the sani pass (500R per person) with pick up at the hotel.

The hotel is simple, clean and down to earth. Rooms have everything you need including heaters for the very cold winters, kettle, fresh milk, and the bathroom has underfloor heating – awesome! There was no TV but who needs one?

Breakfast is in their dining room which has some neat antiques like these enormous copper weights and measures containers used by the SA imperial authorities to regulate commerce; also family photos. However, the dining room was extremely cold...so bring a scarf as you scarf down breakfast in the morning!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

We like to travel without pre-booking everything and leave ourselves the option of staying in a place longer or moving on. Our first choice bed & breakfast in Himeville was full, so we arrived at Albizia on a whim. The welcome could not have been friendlier. Our room was at the end of a terrace of rooms to the side of the main house. The only gripe being that the beds were two singles pushed close together and our preference being for a double. However, the beds were comfortable, the room pleasant and the location quiet.
Our hosts were also travel guides and when we told them the sort of things we liked doing, they came up with an array of absolutely perfect (as it turned out) options of things to do in the area. We were also recommended a route along a gravel road towards our next destination which was extremely beautiful (and not too arduous going) which we would probably not have taken without the recommendation.
We stayed for two nights and were served good full English breakfasts.

Room Tip: I would recommend the room on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kukalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Albizia House. The owners are very friendly people, very helpful! We had a beautiful room with a big bathroom. Fine breakfast. Chris is also a guide and organises tours, so he gave us very good information for our route when we left. Highly recommended, one of our favourites! Thank you Chris and Meg!
Astrid X Wim
www.astrixx.be

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Astrix_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I travelled with my wife for the first part of our trip around kwazulu Natal. We were both tired on our arrival at the B&B and were glad of the peaceful and beautiful surroundings where we were able to relax. We had pre arranged our trip up the Sani pass into Lesotho with Chris and he was a top guide with lots of knowledge so we would highly recommend him for any trip that you might want to do. Both Chris and Meg felt us feel so at home and we thouroughly enjoyed their company in the evening. They even took us in in to Underberg for some lunch and wine shopping. We really cannot say enough about their hospitality and would love to return one day. Meg's breakfast is awesome. Thank you both so much.
Dan & Chrissie

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Headmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Meg and Chris were waiting for us with umbrella's because it was raining a lot when we arrived. We felled directly at home.
We had a beautiful large room with a big bathroom. Everyhing was really clean.
We stayed for 2 nights. They made a delicious breakfast. Also they made arrangements for dinner in the village. You can can go there by foot.
Thank you Chris and Meg for the nice days we stayed with you

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank limburgwereldburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We stayed 5 nights at the Albizia House. Chris and Meg, the owners, were absolutely fantastique! We felt like at home. The room was very clean and comfortable, breakfast delicious. We had some washing to do and over night it was all perfectly clean again. If you want to make a day trip, don´t hesitate to ask Chris to guide you. He took us up the Sani Pass in his car, so that we had a very private tour. Indeed, we could enjoy the trip as if we would do it on our own, but without the really tough driving - which was much better than doing it on our own - it was perfect!
We´ll definitely come back - as soon as possible!!!
Anne & Carsten

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ct1ob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We spent two nights in Himeville, mainly because we wanted to go up Sani Pass Road to Lesotho. There are not too many B&B's and Guesthouses in that Region but we decided for the right one: Albizia House. From the very beginning, we really felt at home. The room was spacious and clean, the breakfast very "lekker". When we came home from Dinner, Meg and Chris invited us for a beer or glass of wine. Very nice! But the best was the Sani Pass Tour: We initially asked Chris to book an official tour for us but when we came there he said: WE will do the tour with you! (Chris is a tourguide too!) It was like a little family trip. Chris and Meg knew a lot about the region, they found hidden flowers and tiny birds in the trees. Whenever we wanted to stop for a photo - we stopped. It was a very exklusive trip - much better than one of the official tours you can book in Himeville or Underberg. Chris is an excellent Driver - actually you HAVE TO BE an excellent driver, if you want to go up Sani Pass Road. Very adventurous! Up on top, we didn't only stop at the Sani Top Chalet, but drove on until we found a nice place to have a picnic with tea and homemade cookies. In Summary: we had a great time at Albizia House. I would recommend it to everyone! Thanks Meg and Chris!

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jacaranda2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Himeville hotels
5.9 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
2.3 mi away
Premier Resort Sani Pass
Premier Resort Sani Pass
#2 of 2 in Himeville
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Hotel Himeville Arms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Moorcroft Manor Boutique Country Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sani Gables
Sani Gables
#8 of 9 in Himeville
3 reviews
0.6 mi away
KarMichael Farm Guesthouse
KarMichael Farm Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Himeville
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albizia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albizia House

Address: 62 Arbuckle Street | Himeville, Himeville 3256, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Himeville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Himeville
Price Range: £51 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albizia House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albizia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing