We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moorcroft Manor Boutique Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Himeville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We just stopped in for lunch. But would love to go back to stay, Great atmosphere , neat and clean. Peaceful with great veiws. Everyones food looked good but my berg bunny was amazing. Homemade bread and very good curry.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goolu K, Owner at Moorcroft Manor Boutique Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

We are always happy to hear our guests enjoyed their visit.
I hope we have the pleasure to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed at this lovely place over the Heritage day weekend. Having made last minute travel plans, this was among the very few places available over the weekend. But we weren't disappointed, especially after the 6hr drive from Jozy!
Moorcroft is a beautiful property, very secluded and quiet and the rooms are very comfortable. Most of them overlook the berg.
Breakfast, which is included in the stay, is standard fare...fresh fruits, cereal, yougurt, etc with a choice of cooked stuff. However, others meals here are really good. We ate two meals at their restaurant and everything we ordered was very well prepared and presented - something we did not expect in a small town!
The property is well located whether you wany to go upto Sani pass or simply hike in Cobham.

Room Tip: Try not to take a room in the main house- it can get a bit noisy when guests are checking in or out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellernamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goolu K, Owner at Moorcroft Manor Boutique Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We were blown away with this gem - accommodation excellent food fantastic ( made sure we ate in the dinning room all four nights of our stay ) no expensive spared on the quality and presentation - friendly helpful caring staff. What a setting for an intimate wedding. I would recommend to anyone wanting to explore the Southern Berg " this is the place to stay "
Loved it
Yvonne Donnelly

Room Tip: All rooms face the Southern Berg Mountain Range
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goolu K, Owner at Moorcroft Manor Boutique Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your review.
It encourages us to continue on the same path.
Hope we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The fireplaces really help to warm the place up during the cold winter nights. Its peaceful and quite. The food is amazing. A must try is the durban bunny chow - the home baked bread is really good. Overall, amazing place to stay.

Room Tip: Not all all rooms have a bath which can be disappointing if you keen on having one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yolanderose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goolu K, Owner at Moorcroft Manor Boutique Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed the food and your stay with us.
Hope to see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Our family stayed over for a weekend. We were made to feel at home as soon as we arrived. The rooms are spacious, well equiped and very comfortable. The staff made sure our every need was catered for. The owners are very friendly and open people, with a wealth of knowledge. A wonderful surprise for us was the restaurant. A truly wonderful dining experience! Well presented, tasty food, prepared in the freshest way possible. They also boast an impressive wine cellar that wont break the bank. I would recommend the restaurant to anyone staying in the area. This is certainly one of the top places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goolu K, Owner at Moorcroft Manor Boutique Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed a week at Moorcroft. The current owners have put huge effort into making this a very comfortable mid range hotel. The rooms are simply superb and rank alongside many five star. The views are outstanding with their own Lake in the Lee of the Bergs. The service second to none. Then the piece de resistance. . excellent cuisine. The fillet steak as good as it gets. The breakfasts keep you going all day. a brilliant family run hotel not to be missed if you tour the drackensberg.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goolu K, Owner at Moorcroft Manor Boutique Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Robert,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us.
We feel encouraged to continue our effort to make every guests stay comfortable and memorable.
Our regards to your family and hope to see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed a few days to visit the Drakensberg. Very comfortable room. Very friendly and helpful staff. Good food. If you want to go up the Sani Pass ask for Crispin - great guide. Altogether a very good experience. Don't believe anywhere else in the area can compete.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuart d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goolu K, Owner at Moorcroft Manor Boutique Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thank you very much for your complimentary review.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himeville
5.2 mi away
Sani Valley Lodge and Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Resort Sani Pass
Premier Resort Sani Pass
#2 of 2 in Himeville
95 reviews
16.7 mi away
Gooderson Drakensberg Gardens Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Bushmans Nek Berg & Trout Resort
0.3 mi away
KarMichael Farm Guesthouse
KarMichael Farm Guesthouse
#3 of 9 in Himeville
66 reviews
13.0 mi away
Penwarn Country Lodge
Penwarn Country Lodge
#5 of 19 in Underberg
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorcroft Manor Boutique Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorcroft Manor Boutique Country Hotel

Address: Sani Road, Himeville 3256, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Himeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Himeville
Price Range: £117 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorcroft Manor Boutique Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are perfectly situated to provide rest for the weary but at the same time we are surrounded by places offering activities that suit young and old. Inside one experiences warm luxury and a mere step onto your verandah and the beauty of a rugged country side awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moorcroft Manor Boutique Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorcroft Manor Counry House Hotel Himeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing