We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic welcome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Netherfield Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I can concur with all of the previous reviews that this is a fabulous bed and breakfast in a superb location. As this was my 3rd stay with Jan and Grant I was expecting the usual great welcome to their home, but I was surprised to find that since my last stay in October 2011 they had updated their rooms with new furniture and fresh paintwork. This attention to detail shows that this couple will go to any lengths to ensure their guests receive a warm welcome and beautiful accomodation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterandCarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2011

Great stay at this super B and B. Jan and Grant are perfect hosts - friendly, helpful and going the extra mile to make their guests stay just perfect. Lovely spacious rooms, spotlessly clean,delightful views of mountains and wildlife and delicious breakfasts. This was our second stay and we hope to be back again. Have no hesitation in recommending wholeheartedly -you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purelypencil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This was our third year to Netherfield B&B, because it truly is the best B&B we have ever been to, and we've been to many ! The rooms are spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished with stunning views of the Cairngorms and several bird species (including greater spotted woodpeckers) and red squirrels to watch in the garden. Jan and Grant are the perfect hosts and make us feel so welcome. Their springer spaniel is a firm favourite with our daughter, and adds to the delight of holidaying there. Activiities in the area for kids are Landmark Adventure Park, Treezone, walk round Loch an Eilan, RSPB Ospreys at Boat of Garten , Mountain railway at Cairngorm, and when it rains visit the Fun House at Coylumbridge Hilton for Soft play aged up to 12, adventure golf, air hockey and billiards.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pimshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We could not have asked for anything better on our first trip to Scotland. The views were picturesque, the wildlife was stunning, the weather was tremendous and the attractions were terrific.

However, nothing compared to the splendid accomodation of Netherfield B&B. You could not ask to meet two nice people than Jan and Grant. They were welcoming, talkative, funny and a delight to get to know. Nothing was too much trouble for them and the breakfast... let's just say I didn't miss eating cereal and toast at home!

The room itself was cosy and spacious. The bathroom was kept impeccably clean, the beds were comfortable and the view into the front garden was perfect for watching red squirrels help themselves to the nuts in the feeders.

All in all, it was a wrench to leave Netherfield after staying for almost a week, and we would not hesitate in recommending such a wonderfully warm place to spend your vacation in Scotland.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomp1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at Grant and Jan's lovely B & B for three nights in July of 2011. The two of them are warm, welcoming and personable. They readily shared their knowledge of the local area along with loans of maps. The Scottish breakfasts were superb with a lot of choices. They were always willing to make more coffee if we wanted. The room we had was large with great light due to the large windows. Through those windows were beautiful views and a plethora of birds (a pheasant!) and numerous red squirrels. The shower was to die for- plenty of hot water, large and great water pressure. The entire house is spotless, is freshly painted and has all the travel amenities needed. Jan loaned me her anorak when I realized I had left mine behind in another town. Grant even loaned me his battery recharger. We recommend Netherfield wholeheartedly and only hope that they will take us up on our offer for them to stay with us when they come to California.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms. They are both great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Myself, my 5 year old son and our friend had the pleasure of 2 nights at Netherfield. When I say pleasure it really was a fantastic pleasure to stay in Jan and Grants beautiful home. The welcome we recieved was first class and this care continued throughout our stay especially where my wee boy was concerned. The breakfasts were superb and set us up for the day. I would thoroughly recommend staying at Netherfield for the warmth and hospitality shown by both Jan and Grant. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roisineric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

The bathroom was spacious & clean to our surprise. the hot water & heating was sufficient & ample which was very important to us with young children. every morning, we woke up with a view of the garden & the wild birds, red squirrels which were frequent visitors to the owners' lovely garden.

Jan & Grant also had plenty of knowledge & recommendations of what to do & where to eat for those with young children. we were also pleasantly surprised that we could have wireless access when all the other more modern, city accommodation we stayed at provided no free access at all. extra thumbs up for providing this service!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniesng_ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Netherfield Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Netherfield Bed and Breakfast

Address: Netherfield Skye of Curr Road | Dulnain Bridge, Grantown on Spey Cairngorm National Park, Dulnain Bridge, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey > Dulnain Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dulnain Bridge
Price Range: £93 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grant & Jan MacLachlan offer you a warm welcome to their 4* accredited highlands-escape, from £40 pppn. Set in an elevated position with stunning views of the Cairngorm Mountain range, where Red squirrel play in the large well cared for garden.Restaurant within 1 mile, or Grantown-on-Spey just 3 miles away. A truly delightful Scottish experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Netherfield Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Netherfield Bed And Breakfast Dulnain Bridge, UK - Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing