We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stop on any journey”

Speyside Heather Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Scottish, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An award winning centre in the heart of Speyside, Attractions include a Gift Shop, Exhibition, Art Gallery, Antiques Shop, Traditional homely food served all day in the Clootie Dumpling Restaurant, Freshly made soups are a favourite and of course Starthspeys largest Garden Centre with a large selection of hardy plants & over 300 different Heathers from which to choose a living part of Scotland to take home with you.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect stop on any journey”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Always a warm welcome and lovely food. Also a super gift shop along with the great selection of garden products. Best place to get Stags Breath whiskey!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HazelandMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    57
    29
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
504 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Interesting with lots to see and eat”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Red squirrels, heather liqueur, clootie dumpling (Rob Roy no 18 - gorgeous) and the heather gems jewellery. Lots to see and if you have time explore the woods and see the red squirrels. Clootie dumplings light but filling. Heather liqueur so nice. The red squirrels feed boxes are so near to the car park even if you don't want to explore the woods you stand a good chance of seeing these beautiful creatures. Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We enjoyed our visit to the Speyside Heather Centre. We were on a long walk in the area, and called in for refreshments. The café was nice with a good menu. The shop sells a good selection of shortbread and other souvenirs. We especially liked the sign outside that is hung in the outdoor seating area which says the " Sitooterie", although we did not sit outside because it was snowing.. We loved the web cam of the feeders whilst enjoying our cup of tea. Even better - outside in the grounds we saw our first ever red squirrel.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“100 ways to use heather”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

It is amazing what you can do with dried heather. Each piece is unique and very attractive. The Speyside Heather centre is a combination of a garden centre, a gift shop and a restaurant. If you are unlucky enough to visit just after a couple of tourist coaches have arrived the restaurant is very crowded. Some of the souvenirs seem to be expensive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BirdingTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A PLEASANT PLACE TO POTTER ABOUT”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Parking: Ample. Staff: Friendly and helpful. Cafe: Clootie Dumpling Restaurant.

We enjoyed our visit to the Speyside Heather Centre. It's a very pleasant place to potter about.

The gift shop has a nice range of quality goods and in particular I liked the beautiful handbags, jewellery, perfume and soaps. They've got some nice gift ideas. Plus the kids enjoyed buying a raffle in support of their chosen local charity, which is really nice.

We all pottered about in the Antique area which has a fasinating selection of old toys, books, crockery, pictures, clothing, typewriters, garden implements etc.

The Art Gallery upstairs (which has a chairlift) displays some very lovely pieces of art and photographs.

There is a wildlife area where you can sit and watch the birds and squirrels feeding and also a small play area for the kids.

I can't comment on the restaurant as we did not use it, having had a picnic at beautiful Loch Morlich.

The toilets facilities have amusing little posters on the doors/walls. A little quirky.

I think it is a lovely place to walk round and admire the garden displays.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Speyside Heather Centre also viewed

Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
Dulnain Bridge, Grantown-on-Spey
 
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
Grantown-on-Spey, Badenoch and Strathspey
 

Been to Speyside Heather Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing