We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel & whiskey on arrival !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Excellent country house hotel, good value when booked last minute. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brownrj25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
There are newer reviews for Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2011

We had been massively looking forward to a 5 night stay here on a birdwatching holiday arranged through a specialist company. We read lots of reviews and thought Tigh Na Sgiath sounded a perfect base in Speyside.

Unfortunately, what we didn't know is that the rooms that get the glowing reviews are generally in the 'superior' category. The room Ballinadoch gets mentioned again and again, with every justification - it has glorious views with lovely furnishings, bags of south-facing light and its own turret.

We, however, were allocated a side room with a view over a washing line and a dilapidated and rusting corrugated iron shed. The room itself, called Speanoch, was pure Fawlty Towers: anaglypta wallpaper, cheap furniture and a small, chilly shower room. No bath. I negotiated use of the tour operator's very nice bathroom, but my husband said the Speanoch shower was hopeless - so tiny the shower curtain stuck to him. Yuck. No phone in the room either, and no mobile signal - massively inconvenient if like some of us you need to stay in touch with an elderly parent. The bed was firm and the temperature chilly as the room was north-facing and got no sun. We had to use an auxiliary electric heater. This was basic and spartan accommodation, not at all what we'd been expecting.

Our grievance was not so much with the charming and hardworking hotelier, but with the specialist company we booked through, who charged us the same rate as the fortunate couples allocated lovely rooms with beautiful furnishings. However, we found it incredible that such a room even existed in an otherwise well appointed and comfortable hotel. Accommodation like this has no place in a small country house hotel.

The location is good for exploring Speyside. Food was fine and as long as you ensure you have a superior room with a great view, you will no doubt have a very enjoyable stay. Sadly we didn't.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Catherine15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Great service, friendly staff who will ensure your stay is as comfortable and welcoming as true Scottish hospitality can be. Breakfast is phenomenal, with enough food on offer to keep you going right up until evening time. Very comfortable room, with amazing views.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCabrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Given an overnight stay for a Christmas gift, this has to be the best present we ever had. Iain and Elaine were so welcoming, they made us feel at home from the minute we stepped in the door. The hotel is tastefully decorated, in keeping with the character of the house. The lounge is very spacious and warm, the perfect place for pre-dinner drinks, whilst the seats around the fire made after-dinner drinks last all night. Dinner in the restaurant was a treat served by Adam, the young waiter who looked after us very well. The menu was a difficult choice with so many tempting dishes, wishing we were staying for more than one night. Our bedroom was magnificent, spacious to say the least ,with a view to die for. Our bathroom was luxury with a bath big enough for 2..oops !!
Being the nosey bees that we are, we asked to be shown round the hotel, and in her busy schedule, Elaine kindly gave us a tour of the hotel. We are certainly not disappointed and would be more than happy to stay at Tigh na Sgaith again in any room.
Here's hoping we get the same Christmas present next year!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carabryson-russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

For a short break away from city this life this was fantastic. A very high level of personal service and outstanding food. Charming country house, lovely ambience sitting in main lounge with roaring fire. Excellent breakfast and 5 course dinner was excellent. Rooms were very good, we would recommend the Ballindalloch, very spacious, nice views and really good sized bathroom. Will return here for sure. Also the dog loved the place, being dog friendly is real bonus. Not a sign that any dogs had stayed here before which is important. It really is a real gem.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank workmanos10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Firstly, due to circumstances beyond our control we had to put our date back by 1 day, the hotel were extremely accommodating, the change was no trouble.

Upon arrival we were greeted by Iain & Elaine, served a complimentary arrival beverage and shown to our room.

Excellent room, spotless, and an amazingly comfortable bed.

We went for dinner at 7.30, pre dinner drinks were taken following which we had our meal. I am quite fortunate to have eaten in many places all over the world, and I have to say, the food at this hotel ranks amongst the best of them, from presentation, flavour infusion and imagination, the food was simply stunning, all prepared by Elaine, she could win masterchef.

Overall Iain and Elaine made our stay quite memorable, a hard working couple who pay every attention to detail, without doubt we will be back to what we felt was a true Highland Gem

5 STAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave8955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

This was the third and final stop of our honeymoon! This was my husband's personal choice as he had been here before a few years back and wanted to re-live his fantastic experience with me! Everything was amazing! Our previous two stops (Venice & Oxford) set the bar very high but this definitely matched them!! Great service from arrival to departure, (especially the manager who really went out of his way to assist us on two different occasions) beautiful location, nice and spacious room!!! All in all a great experience out in the country which helped us unwind and re-fill our batteries before heading back to our busy lives back home!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMBEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulnain Bridge
0.2 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
550 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
750 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
676 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
567 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel

Address: Skye of Curr Road | Near Grantown on Spey, Dulnain Bridge, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey > Dulnain Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Price Range: £80 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former home of the Lipton Tea Family, built in 1902, this elegant mansion is set in its own fabulous grounds in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park, ideally located for the Speyside Malt Whisky Trail. It has retained many original features and offers the highest standards of Scottish hospitality. Each bedroom is individually appointed to the highest standards. Open log fires and original wood paneling. Exquisite Afternoon Cream Teas, large selection of Malt Whiskies, Local Gins and Beers. Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh Na Sgiath Country Hotel
Tigh Na Sgiath Country House Hotel Dulnain Bridge, UK - Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing