We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A WONDERFUL BREAK!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
West Layton
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“WHAT A WONDERFUL BREAK!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My husband, daughter and I have recently returned from this amazing hotel and feel as though our batteries have been completely recharged. We have stayed at Tigh na Sgiath before and it remains our firm favourite. It is a wonderful Country House Hotel, full of character and immaculately clean. We enjoyed our pre-dinner drinks by the log fire in the evenings and, as ever, the food was exquisite - thank you Elaine for the superb 5-course dinners! We also enjoyed our leisurely breakfasts - I am afraid I strongly disagree with one of the previous reviews where they recommend background breakfast music. One reason we love this hotel is that it is blissfully tranquil, and the service is exceptional.
Things we recommend to do: (1) Visit Findhorn beach, it is glorious. It is worth stopping off at Logie Steading on the way, where there are a great nursery, an excellent second-hand bookshop, gift shops and a nice café. (2) A trip up the side of Cairngorm on the Funicular. (3) Ballindalloch Castle is charming, and worth buying a pot of their own brand honey! (4) Inshriach nursery and potting shed, where you can enjoy an amazing cake whilst watching squirrels and birds. (5) A walk around Loch an Eilein - an easy walk, suitable for all age groups.
We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindsayarussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    40
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
47
280
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights during our trip around Scotland and although I agree with other reviews about the beautiful building and efficient staff I do have to be honest and say that we both felt our stay would have been so much better if we had felt more comfortable in the public area's. Let me explain! Both mornings breakfast was lovely, so much choice and excellent service but the breakfast room atmosphere made us feel as though we were in a Doctor's surgery! There needs to be some background music to aleviate the silence! The guests on every table were whispering and it was really not a relaxing feeling everyone could hear you eating! The same happened at dinner, the food was good but although there was lots of empty tables in the restaurant (it was a quiet night) we were sat right next to another couple and could not experience the romantic meal we hoped and it was obvious they felt the same way!

We stayed in the Speanoch room which has the best bathroom I have ever experienced! TV on the wall, walk in shower, beautiful bath and underfloor heating! Divine! The room it's self was spotless with lovely decor, my only suggestion would be to remove the four poster part of the bed. My reason for saying this is that it made the room feel smaller than it was and also if you wanted to relax in bed it was impossible to watch the TV as there was a huge post in the way!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Boswells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed one night in the Ballindalloch room. Immaculately clean. The Tigh Na Sgiath is a traditional country house with a welcoming host, owner Ian. His wife Elaine does a wonderful job producing delicious 5 course gourmet dinners. The hotel is pet friendly but you would never know that pets were allowed as there is not a muddy paw or pet hair in sight. Lots of coffee table books , light oak panelled walls and also a dvd library list should you prefer to stay in your room. The views are of a true Spey highland landscape. This was our first visit, however all the other guests were on their 3rd and 10th return visits. This says it all. Thank you Ian and Elaine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela_at_Whitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

A beautiful building in a tranquil setting not too far off the beaten track. Both rooms were very spacious tho one of the bathrooms needs updating. Food was very good and service was delightful. Being served all your drinks from pure crystal glasses reminds you of their merit. Menu catered for a variety of needs ESP gluten free. V dog friendly for such an upmarket establishment.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stromness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyable autumn break at this lovely country house hotel. From our warm welcome through our comfortable and well appointed room to the delicious food and varied wine list it all added up to an extremely pleasant stay that we hope we will be able to repeat. The atmosphere was very relaxed, the service efficient and attentive and the establishment very well managed. We could not have been happier. As a final treat, where else can one watch red squirrels from ones hotel bedroom window? :-)

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony_Barthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Fabulous hotel, warm welcoming great selection of whiskey choice at breakfast. Offered drink on arrival, fabulous room with great view. We stayed two nights, a local restaurant recommended which was booked for us again very welcoming. Fantastic house, very comfortable room., lovely lounge area by a big log fire burning. Would definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinnor,Oxfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have just returned from a two week holiday in a beautiful highland retreat. This typically Scottish Hotel is set in the lovely countryside in the shadows of the Cairngorm Mountains in the Cairngorm National Park.
It is owned and run by an amazing couple Iain and Elaine who offer the perfect mix of friendly concern and interest with courtesy and professionalism . Iain manages "front of house" and is always there to ask how your day was or offer advice or local information,whilst Elaine manages the Kitchen and housekeeping. She does all of the wonderful cooking herself and they offer a five course dinner that really is second to none. The ingredients are fresh and local and the cooking is an art form. The presentation is exquisite and this combined with the beautiful surroundings make Tigh Na Sgiath a foodies paradise. The breakfasts are equally outstanding ranging from full Scottish (including Haggis),Porridge,Cereals etc to French Toast with Bacon and Maple Syrup, waffles and full continental including meats and fresh fruit,pastries and yogurts.
The rooms are impeccably decorated and are kept immaculately with fresh towels everyday and regular linen changes.
We stayed in Ballindalloch, a front facing room with a small sitting room in the turret area ,queen sized bed and huge bathroom complete with shower, jacuzzi and under floor heating .
If you can tear yourselves away from this lovely hotel there are beautiful hillside and country walks with Loch An Eilean ,Loch Morlich and Lochindorb within easy reach. Aviemore with its winter sports and Rothermurcus Estate (providing a range of adventure activities from walking to quad biking to salmon fishing etc etc is around 10 miles away and has every amenity that you could ever need including the local Cairngorm Brewery,serving some mean local beers and you can even do a Brewery Tour. In addition it is within easy reach of the Whisky Trail with Distillery tours galore and just a short drive away the quaint towns of Nairn (Coastal) Elgin and Huntley where you can shop and see how Dean's delicious shortbread is made.
To the south west you can find Loch Laggan and a number of beautiful locations that were used to create Glen Bogel in The BBC series Monarch of the Glen.
In summary this stunning hotel is a shining jewel in the crown that is the Cairngorm National Park and Iain and Elaine are the most welcoming and professional hosts we have ever known.
Can't wait to go back xxxx

Room Tip: All rooms are immaculate , just depends on the size and facilities you require.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stratfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulnain Bridge
0.2 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
530 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
251 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
670 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,284 reviews
21.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel

Property: Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Address: Skye of Curr Road | Near Grantown on Spey, Dulnain Bridge, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey > Dulnain Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former home of the Lipton Tea Family, built in 1902, this elegant mansion is set in its own fabulous grounds in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park, ideally located for the Speyside Malt Whisky Trail. It has retained many original features and offers the highest standards of Scottish hospitality. Each bedroom is individually appointed to the highest standards. Open log fires and original wood paneling. Exquisite Afternoon Cream Teas, large selection of Malt Whiskies, Local Gins and Beers. Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh Na Sgiath Country Hotel
Tigh Na Sgiath Country House Hotel Dulnain Bridge, UK - Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing