We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Was treated to a night away at Tigh na Sgiath as a birthday surprise. The whole experience turned out to be one of the best hotel stays for some time. Firstly, you have a very friendly personal welcome when you arrive and an absolutely fantastic bedroom, this had been recently refurbished with the most wonderful deep bath and large walk in shower. Dinner at night was beautifully presented and well cooked with excellent flavours. So much effort had been put into every detail from the canapés right through to the petit fours with coffee.
The whole experience was so relaxing and enjoyable we could not fault any aspect of our stay, and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wandering-Gardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    36
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
248
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Recently visited the Tigh na Sgiath for the first time on occasion of my wife's birthday, although I've lived fairly local to it for several years. A bit pricier than most restaurant in the area but we were not disappointed. Lovely surroundings, excellent menu, beautifully cooked and proper (but not stuffy) service. They seem to have got everything right. Good value for money and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed here for one night because we were doing the 10k Run at Glenlivet and we decided on it after looking at reviews on TA. This hotel is brilliant. Upon arriving we were seated in a comfy room and offered a dram of whisky or sherry while we filled out our paperwork. There was a cancellation that night, so we were upgraded to the Ballindalloch room which was absolutely beautiful. There was a lovely seating area, water, biscuits, tea and fruit, a giant spa bath tub and it was all very clean. We also ate at the restaurant that night and the meal was superb. Anything from a blue cheese soufflé to black pudding. It was one of the best meals we've had anywhere in a long time. The breakfast the next morning was equally as excellent. Hats off to the chef! The staff working were incredibly kind and friendly as well. We can't wait to return to the Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel and bring some friends along with us. What a great stop when exploring the whiskey trail!

Room Tip: The Ballindalloch is beautiful! It faces the front of the hotel onto big open land. You can even see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostinHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Just back from a lovely 2 nights at this lovely hotel. Can't praise it highly enough. Lovely accommodation, food and service. Thank you Ian for a lovely time. Beautiful house with an interesting history. Definitely felt more like staying in a country home rather than a hotel. Well done to all.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneyule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westport nz
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Having stayed for a weekend with my son & his wife a few years ago I was delighted to see Ian & Elaine were still running this superb retreat. I love art deco so that bathroom is so high on my wish list & we will never forget the superb smoked venison. We have had glowing reports from friends who we suggested it as a place to relax & unwind with 5 star service. We are now planning another trip to Scotland which will include a longer stay & more sampling of Ians whisky cellar collection

Room Tip: There are a range of styles...I loved the traditional & all views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherida23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Layton
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My husband, daughter and I have recently returned from this amazing hotel and feel as though our batteries have been completely recharged. We have stayed at Tigh na Sgiath before and it remains our firm favourite. It is a wonderful Country House Hotel, full of character and immaculately clean. We enjoyed our pre-dinner drinks by the log fire in the evenings and, as ever, the food was exquisite - thank you Elaine for the superb 5-course dinners! We also enjoyed our leisurely breakfasts - I am afraid I strongly disagree with one of the previous reviews where they recommend background breakfast music. One reason we love this hotel is that it is blissfully tranquil, and the service is exceptional.
Things we recommend to do: (1) Visit Findhorn beach, it is glorious. It is worth stopping off at Logie Steading on the way, where there are a great nursery, an excellent second-hand bookshop, gift shops and a nice café. (2) A trip up the side of Cairngorm on the Funicular. (3) Ballindalloch Castle is charming, and worth buying a pot of their own brand honey! (4) Inshriach nursery and potting shed, where you can enjoy an amazing cake whilst watching squirrels and birds. (5) A walk around Loch an Eilein - an easy walk, suitable for all age groups.
We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindsayarussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights during our trip around Scotland and although I agree with other reviews about the beautiful building and efficient staff I do have to be honest and say that we both felt our stay would have been so much better if we had felt more comfortable in the public area's. Let me explain! Both mornings breakfast was lovely, so much choice and excellent service but the breakfast room atmosphere made us feel as though we were in a Doctor's surgery! There needs to be some background music to aleviate the silence! The guests on every table were whispering and it was really not a relaxing feeling everyone could hear you eating! The same happened at dinner, the food was good but although there was lots of empty tables in the restaurant (it was a quiet night) we were sat right next to another couple and could not experience the romantic meal we hoped and it was obvious they felt the same way!

We stayed in the Speanoch room which has the best bathroom I have ever experienced! TV on the wall, walk in shower, beautiful bath and underfloor heating! Divine! The room it's self was spotless with lovely decor, my only suggestion would be to remove the four poster part of the bed. My reason for saying this is that it made the room feel smaller than it was and also if you wanted to relax in bed it was impossible to watch the TV as there was a huge post in the way!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulnain Bridge
0.2 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
478 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
220 reviews
21.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
709 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
627 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel

Property: Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Address: Skye of Curr Road | Near Grantown on Spey, Dulnain Bridge, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey > Dulnain Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former home of the Lipton Tea Family, built in 1902, this elegant mansion is set in its own fabulous grounds in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park, ideally located for the Speyside Malt Whisky Trail. It has retained many original features and offers the highest standards of Scottish hospitality. Each bedroom is individually appointed to the highest standards. Open log fires and original wood paneling. Exquisite Afternoon Cream Teas, large selection of Malt Whiskies, Local Gins and Beers. Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh Na Sgiath Country Hotel
Tigh Na Sgiath Country House Hotel Dulnain Bridge, UK - Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing