We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
thurso
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a hidden gem”
Reviewed 25 August 2006

stayed here for a night on way home to thurso and was delighted with accom, food and service. Room was large, airy with fresh flowers, fruit and big bathroom with all original victorian fittings. Lovely view of countryside and although dinner was set price for 4 courses it included canapes and petit fours and was delicious.Polish girl, Anna was very courteous and efficient and with lateroom rate it wasn't much more than we had paid night before for dinner bed & breakfast in much lesser setting. Dulnain Bridge is a little way off A9 on road to carrbridge but well worth the journey. Would recommend to anyone

  • Liked — spaciousness
  • Disliked — check in desk
  • Tips/Secrets — dont arrive in the dark- not the easiest place to find
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra-thurso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    38
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
257
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2006

My partner and I enjoyed a wonderful three nights break ( May 2006 ) at the Tigh Na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Although grand in appearance, Tigh Na Sgiath is not stuffy or pretentious, but is extremely welcoming and homely.
The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean, as is the entire hotel, and the food is second to none.
Excellent value for money!!!
The owner Iain, is most hospitable, conversing with the residents in a very professional but unobtrusive way. Nothing seemed too much bother for him when attending to the needs of the residents.
We would recommend this beautiful country house to anyone wishing to see a bit of the Scottish Highlands, whilst enjoying a peaceful and relaxing retreat in the evening.
We enjoyed it so much in fact, that we intend to return later this year with our parents.



  • Liked — The welcoming homely ambience, not to forget the great food.
  • Disliked — The small shower cubicle.
  • Tips/Secrets — Be prepared to switch off your mobile phone and relax.
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2006

My wife, daughter and I stayed for two nights at the Tigh Na Sgiath hotel on the 4th and 5th May.

We were not sure what to expect prior to our arrival but Iain (the owner) set the scene for a good two days rest by greeting us at the door with a scotch whiskey and knowing our names before we could say anything (an advantage of being a small establishment).

We were overawed by the feel of the hotel straight away through its black leather lounges and the tapestry carpet that just seem to also say welcome to our world.

The hotel is an late 19th century three storey mansion built originally as a country lodge. We stayed on the 3rd floor which was a bit of a challenge getting up the narrow stairs with suitcases but hey you only have take them up once and they do come down a lot quicker. Naturally Iain helped lug our massive number of bags up the stairs.

As we had been on the road all day, we settled in and waited for dinner which we decided to have at the hotel. Was this a mistake? In a way, for thinking about going somewhere else to eat! We had been on the road for some 4 weeks staying in numerous hotels in a number of countries. This was by far the best food we have had on the trip and a big thankyou to Iain's wife who has to be a five star chef.

We received basically a five course meal for our money and there was not one thing to complain about. The service was defintley 5 star with crystal glasses, silverware and an adequate quality wine list to choose from. Iain has a certain way of gauging whether to stay and chat or retiring to let you enjoy the peace and quiet of the surroundings before your meal. Your timing and discretion was perfect Iain!

My 11 year old daughter is naturally hard to please and at this age they find it difficult to appreciate the subtle niceties of life. She was enthralled and felt as special as we did. Her only complaint was that there was no cable but who would want to spend their time in a hotel room when you can relax and enjoy the peacefulnees with a good book in front of an open fire.

Once again Iain many thanks for such wonderful memories and we will definetly be back.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ZRacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2005

Visited Tigh Na Sgiath in late October 2005, with my husband and in-laws. We both had fantastic, although very different rooms. Ours had the largest, most comfortable bed imaginable, whilst my in-laws had the turret room, with a lovely seperate sitting area. Both were enhanced with the small touches that set this hotel apart from others - fresh flowers in the room, cotton wool balls provided etc. The location was beautiful, the atmosphere very relaxed and homely, whilst the food was delicious. Iain and Elaine are doing a wonderful job. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Amanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulnain Bridge
0.2 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel

Property: Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Address: Skye of Curr Road | Near Grantown on Spey, Dulnain Bridge, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey > Dulnain Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former home of the Lipton Tea Family, built in 1902, this elegant mansion is set in its own fabulous grounds in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park, ideally located for the Speyside Malt Whisky Trail. It has retained many original features and offers the highest standards of Scottish hospitality. Each bedroom is individually appointed to the highest standards. Open log fires and original wood paneling. Exquisite Afternoon Cream Teas, large selection of Malt Whiskies, Local Gins and Beers. Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh Na Sgiath Country Hotel
Tigh Na Sgiath Country House Hotel Dulnain Bridge, UK - Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing