We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Thomas H

Restful stay in the Highlands

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Oct 2023
We only stayed for a night, but had a fantastic stay. Iain welcomed us on arrival and made us feel at home immediately. The hotel is beautiful and feels very genuine. He gave us some recommendations for dinner in Grantown-on-Spey. Some whisky and wine by the fire topped off the day.

The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was a great start. Would recommend a stay here to anyone travelling through the Cairngorms.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IainElaine MacDonald-Coulter, Owner at Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 8 Oct 2023
Thank you for sharing your recent experience of Tigh na Sgiath - we appreciate you taking the time do submit a review - it's definitely reached this time of year for whisky and wine by the fire! Hope to welcome you both back before too long!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Vio.com
  • Booking.com
0.3 miles from Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Booking.com
£68
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £67
  • Agoda.com
    £65
  • Hotels.com
    £68
2.7 miles from Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
£127
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £127
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
2.9 miles from Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Free parking
Booking.com
£133
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £122
  • Expedia.com
    £133
  • Priceline
2.6 miles from Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Free parking
Breakfast included
Booking.com
£105
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £97
  • Agoda.com
    £91
  • Expedia.com
    £105
3.0 miles from Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£121
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £121
  • Vio.com
3.1 miles from Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£105
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £105
  • Expedia.com
    £105
  • Tripadvisor
    £105
3.2 miles from Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£138
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
3.3 miles from Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£132
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £122
  • Agoda.com
    £94
  • Vio.com
4.8 miles from Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£90
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £90
  • Vio.com
4.9 miles from Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Reviews (727)
Filter reviews
728 results
Traveller rating
668
53
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
668
53
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tigh na sgiath red squirrels drawing room jacuzzi bath logie steading would highly recommend this hotel peaceful location attention to detail other guests our honeymoon small hotel first class four poster country house this lovely hotel room was large fantastic stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 728 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2023

Wonderful Country house. Ian and Elaine were warm and welcoming . We felt like we were visiting family which is crazy since we had never been there before. Our room was really nice. It was big and roomy the bathroom was amazing. The downstairs gathering rooms were comfy and welcoming. The breakfast? Amazing . Best French Toast I have every had! Well done Elaine. Hope to go back someday. Highly recommend

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jenniferpG8057QE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IainElaine MacDonald-Coulter, Owner at Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2023

Thank you for your lovely review - so pleased that you enjoyed the French Toast - it is a popular choice each morning! Hope to see you both back at some point in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2023

We stayed at the beautiful Tigh na Sgiath Country House for four nights. The rooms are wonderfully cosy, as you can see from the pictures. Still, the best part is the warm hosts, the cosy atmosphere by the fireplace, and the excellent knowledge about whisky, which was shared in a wonderfully entertaining way. The outdoor area is beautiful, even if it was a bit too cold to be outside now towards the end of September. The breakfast is typically Scottish, the Afternoon Tea is highly complimented, and the praise goes to the lady of the house. The hotel is definitely worth a trip and a perfect location for many tours through the Highlands. We will certainly return on our next journey through the Highlands. Thanks a lot to Iain and Elaine for their warm and kind hospitality; we felt so welcomed.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Betina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IainElaine MacDonald-Coulter, Owner at Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2023

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at Tigh na Sgiath - it was a pleasure to meet your family and we hope to be able to welcome you all back before too long! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2023

It was just as we hoped from the website and reviews. Very comfortable, excellent hosts, fantastic breakfasts. The rooms were beautifully deorated and furnished and the house exuded character dating back to its original owners Red squirrels on the front lawn when we were there, and a roe deer in the field over the road.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dave310551
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IainElaine MacDonald-Coulter, Owner at Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2023

Thank you for sharing your experience of Tigh na Sgiath - both inside and outside! The Red Squirrels and the Roe Deer are lovely to see in the garden, hopefully we may have the opportunity of welcoming you both back to Tigh na Sgiath at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2023 via mobile

Absolutely lovely hotel. A quiet comfortable charm that was so relaxing and full of character with the wood panelling.
I loved the cosy corners with comfortable chairs to read quietly or have a cup of tea and one of their delicious cakes.
The bedroom was beautifully furnished in cottage style and was spacious.
Iain the host was very attentive and saw to our every need.
We will defiantly remember this country house hotel and come again.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IainElaine MacDonald-Coulter, Owner at Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2023

Many thanks for posting your review on Tripadvisor - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The traditional style hopefully does create a relaxing atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you both (and peggy) back at some point in the future. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2023 via mobile

One of the best places I've stayed in a long time. Very quiet, lots of wildlife, perfect to relax over a honeymoon or special trip. Not a far drive from Inverness or to Grantown on Spey for dinner and daytime activities. The owners, Iain and Elaine were a wealth of information for things to see and do in the area and some things to see on our next trip. Can't wait to stay again.

Room tip: Property accepts cash as payment.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GrandTour23491206899
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IainElaine MacDonald-Coulter, Owner at Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review - there is so much to see and do in the Cairngorm National Park - you will definitely need to return! We will look forward to welcoming you both back to Tigh na Sgiath! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews