We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Christofer E
Stockholm, Sweden

Authentic retreat next to the Cairngorms

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Oct 2023
We had a wonderful stay at Tigh Na Sgiath for two nights during our honeymoon in September. The house was lovely and cozy, with a lot of character. Iain was very kind and helpful, giving us excellent recommendations for restaurants in the area. He and his wife have a beautiful place that we highly recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing and romantic getaway.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IainElaine MacDonald-Coulter, Owner at Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 4 Nov 2023
Thank you both for choosing Tigh na Sgiath as your location for your honeymoon! It was lovely to host you both and thank you for sharing your experience - we hope to be able to welcome you both back in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Vio.com
£110
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
2.8 miles from Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£127
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £127
  • Vio.com
    £127
  • ZenHotels.com
2.9 miles from Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Free parking
Booking.com
£129
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £129
  • Vio.com
    £118
  • Hotels.com
    £120
2.6 miles from Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Free parking
Breakfast included
Booking.com
£145
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £145
  • Agoda.com
    £124
  • Hotels.com
    £145
2.9 miles from Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£127
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £127
  • Agoda.com
    £127
  • Vio.com
    £127
3.1 miles from Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£105
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    £105
  • Expedia.com
    £105
  • Priceline
    £105
3.2 miles from Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£134
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Vio.com
3.3 miles from Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£83
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £83
  • Skyscanner.com
    £83
  • Agoda.com
    £83
8.6 miles from Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Free parking
Booking.com
£661
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    £661
  • Skyscanner.com
    £661
  • Agoda.com
    £661
9.3 miles from Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Dulnain Bridge
Reviews (727)
Filter reviews
727 results
Traveller rating
667
53
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
667
53
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tigh na sgiath red squirrels drawing room jacuzzi bath logie steading would highly recommend this hotel peaceful location attention to detail other guests our honeymoon small hotel first class four poster country house this lovely hotel room was large fantastic stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 727 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2023

The innkeeper and his wife pushed this review into the 5 star category! The house, which is in and of itself beautifully constructed and appointed, was only the beginning of our fabulous 3 day stay. We were late in arriving but were graciously offered the option of a beautifully prepared charcuterie platter and cocktails. The breakfasts, which include many options, were all outstanding and the kitchen cheerfully accommodated a gluten free diet of one of our friends. Lively conversation with the owner capped what will remain as one of of the highlights of the Highlands.

Room tip: Like much of Scotland, a bit of a drive to area restaurants
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lucapanevino
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IainElaine MacDonald-Coulter, Owner at Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review - it was a pleasure to welcome you all and to cater for your friend's gluten free diet -we really hope that you will be able to return one day! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2023

The Ballindalloch Room was very spacious and had everything we needed. I would note the mattress was pretty thin - you could feel the springs - and probably needs to be replaced, but we still slept alright. Breakfast was tasty and the location was a great base for exploring the area.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank emilyjjohnson2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IainElaine MacDonald-Coulter, Owner at Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2023

Thank you Emily for your review - it is a great location for exploring the surrounding area - in particular thank you for making us aware of the comfort of the mattress - we do replace mattresses etc each year when we close - feedback is key to guest comfort and greatly assists when replacing furniture and fittings. Hopefully you can get the opportunity to visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2023

We only stayed for a night, but had a fantastic stay. Iain welcomed us on arrival and made us feel at home immediately. The hotel is beautiful and feels very genuine. He gave us some recommendations for dinner in Grantown-on-Spey. Some whisky and wine by the fire topped off the day.

The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was a great start. Would recommend a stay here to anyone travelling through the Cairngorms.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IainElaine MacDonald-Coulter, Owner at Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2023

Thank you for sharing your recent experience of Tigh na Sgiath - we appreciate you taking the time do submit a review - it's definitely reached this time of year for whisky and wine by the fire! Hope to welcome you both back before too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2023

Wonderful Country house. Ian and Elaine were warm and welcoming . We felt like we were visiting family which is crazy since we had never been there before. Our room was really nice. It was big and roomy the bathroom was amazing. The downstairs gathering rooms were comfy and welcoming. The breakfast? Amazing . Best French Toast I have every had! Well done Elaine. Hope to go back someday. Highly recommend

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jenniferpG8057QE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IainElaine MacDonald-Coulter, Owner at Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2023

Thank you for your lovely review - so pleased that you enjoyed the French Toast - it is a popular choice each morning! Hope to see you both back at some point in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2023

We stayed at the beautiful Tigh na Sgiath Country House for four nights. The rooms are wonderfully cosy, as you can see from the pictures. Still, the best part is the warm hosts, the cosy atmosphere by the fireplace, and the excellent knowledge about whisky, which was shared in a wonderfully entertaining way. The outdoor area is beautiful, even if it was a bit too cold to be outside now towards the end of September. The breakfast is typically Scottish, the Afternoon Tea is highly complimented, and the praise goes to the lady of the house. The hotel is definitely worth a trip and a perfect location for many tours through the Highlands. We will certainly return on our next journey through the Highlands. Thanks a lot to Iain and Elaine for their warm and kind hospitality; we felt so welcomed.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Betina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
IainElaine MacDonald-Coulter, Owner at Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2023

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at Tigh na Sgiath - it was a pleasure to meet your family and we hope to be able to welcome you all back before too long! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews