We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cornish Tipi Holidays
Reviewed 10 August 2013

a great place in a great location. what can i say - a fab holiday. it is camping. in a tent. in england... good equipment but think what would you can take to make sure you are as comfortable as you want to be. we take a couple of chairs... probably less fun in grim weather but we had blissful weather - swimming and boating and diving and fishing in the lake. loads to do all around and staff always willing to help and recommend. children can do their own thing safely.
a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

Magical fairy land, beautiful refreshing lake, friendly staff and great location. Only 5 min drive away from Port Isaac, but feels like a world away when you let yourself enjoy and float away into the whimsical woodland. Would def recommend if you enjoy camping and the outdoors! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky_mermaid_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We picked a fantastic weekend to go down to Cornwall - the kids were back at school and the weather was lovely. The Cornish Tipi Holiday exceeded all expectations - the tipi was brilliant for us - four adults staying in a large tipi.

With the selling point of the site being that it's off the National Grid we stocked up with plenty of torches. I see some people have complained about there not being lights in the toilets, but we were fine with our headlights and torches.

Having fully read all the information that was supplied we were armed and ready for a great weekend of camping - in a posh tent and knowing that we didn't have to put it together or dismantle and pack it away again at the end of the break.

As there's no electricity, there's no light, which meant we saw millions and millions of stars - it was amazing! The lake was fantastic - the blokes went fishing to catch tea, while the girlies took a 15 minute trip down the road to Polzeath for cream tea :)

It was a brilliant weekend, a proper let-your-hair-down-and-dont-give-a-damn-what-I-look-like kind of break - fantastic!!

We'll be booking for next year - but maybe with a futon next time!!

Room Tip: We noticed some tipi's had futons in them - I'd go with one of those next time, or take an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiG06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

myself and my husband was bought a 2 night stay as a wedding present and what a present it was we had a fantastic time. the settings were beautiful the tipi was great. The staff were so helpful and would like to say a BIG thank you to OGGY who is the warden there what a lovely man so help full. the weather was perfect we had a little rain but we do live in Cornwall and It Does rain!!!! if your thinking of going here i would definitely recommended it. we are so going back and cannot wait..

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We have just arrived home from an absolutely fantastic holiday!! My husband & I took our 11 year old daughter to North Cornwall & stayed in a tipi in the top village & couldn't have had a better time!! The tipi was lovely & clean, with all the equipment (as stated) there. The toilets & shower block were always clean & tidy & Oggy & Will (the very helpful wardens) were always available if needed.
When booking our holiday, we were fully aware that the site was NOT on the national grid, so we made sure we packed lots of torches!
This holiday would not suit the inexperienced camper & we WILL definately be going back again.
Thankyou so much for a wonderful 'chilled out' holiday!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishface78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I would start by saying the area the tipi's are set in is absolutely beautiful. There is a lake set in an old quarry with crystal clear waters which was fantastic. We did have a fantastic time hanging out and cooking outside but unfortunately I couldn't put that down to to the tipi owners at all. They were incredibly unhelpful and when there was absolutely no running water on either morning we were there we couldn't find anyone to talk to until around 11am. Considering the price you pay I was also very disappointed with the tipi's themselves. They are considerably smaller than the images on the website would suggest, they leaked when rainy and were very cold as the "door" wouldn't stay closed. If the weather was better perhaps you wouldn't have noticed these problems but you really can't rely on English weather to comply when you need it to. Also, as another revier commented there also were no lights in the toilet block which would have made a real difference. If I returned to the area I would probably camp or stay in a b&b which wouldn't cost much more.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kjms_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had a leaking Tipi which we were told they had never had before only to find speaking to other visitors was a common problem. The warden was very helpful and moved us and loaned sleeping bags as ours were wet and promised the owners would come to see our party the next day. This never happend despite being promised twice he would talk to us, the owner even drove past our Tipi but avoided talking to us.
This is an expensive holiday using back to nature as an excuse to offer nothing for an expensive few nights in a smelly damp Tipi. The door is small and only suitable for the fittest limbo dancers.
They state they provide gas lamps and wood for fires, which they do at a cost £10 for a few logs and £5 for kindling.
There are no lights in toilets which is a problem at night and are not kept very clean.
We were given no information about an alternative exit, avoiding the very steep hill down to Tipi's and never enough room in car park as you cannot leave cars near your Tipi.
The area is beautiful and the lake is amazing and very warm when we visited. The one clear night we had was lovely.
My advice is go somewhere else the sky and the trees are everywhere and save your money, the owner does not deserve your custom Devon Yerts are much better value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank darrencoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElizabethTom, Owner at Cornish Tipi Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

We're so sorry you didn't enjoy all your time with us & that you had problems with a damp tipi. We're delighted that you were happy with our Warden's response when he moved you to a fresh tipi & lent you our own family sleeping bags.

We did try to visit you on 3 separate occasions as promised - it just so happened that each time you were out. On a rambling 20 acre site, especially on the Private Sites, it can be hard to catch people at the right time in their tipi. If you'd given us a call in the office we could have set up a time to chat.

You may have seen our truck, but unfortunately we didn't see you! We never avoid people, its absolutely not in our or your interests to do so.

As all our tipis are hand made some doors are bigger & some smaller than others, but bending down as with most tents is all that's usually required.

Unlike most other businesses in the UK, we've actually put our prices down this year - this is because we've stopped including consumables like firewood (one of the beauties of our site is that we are happy for you to have a real campfire, not just a BBQ or fire wok), gas etc in our prices. The idea now is that you either bring or buy what you want to actually use, rather than us including a standard cost which was too much for some & too little for others. Our prices by the way are approx half what you suggest, ie £5 per bag for firewood & £3 for kindling.

We also think that you bought your weekend break through a third party, which we understand was a silent auction for charity - these often work out really quite expensive, but all in a good cause. If however you'd bought it direct from us, it would have been at a far more competitive price & with all our up to date information at hand.

We pride ourselves on asking guests to park in the main car park & only use certain exits (which doesn't include the steep hill) as we like adults & children alike to enjoy our woods, stream & birdsong with a minimum of traffic. The staff also take their loo cleaning duties very seriously (3-4 times a day) but given the abnormal weather conditions keeping the floors dry & clear of wet footprints isn't always possible.

We're really pleased you liked our lovely lake so much & also that during your 3 night stay you managed one clear night with starry skies - quite an achievement during the wettest summer in 100 years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cornish Tipi Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornish Tipi Holidays

Address: B3267,St Kew | Pendoggett, Pendoggett PL30 3HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Pendoggett
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Pendoggett
Price Range: £31 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to the sound of birdsong, go swimming in the clear water of a secluded lake. Cook your bacon and eggs over an open fire while you plan your day, or just laze it away in the peace and quiet of your own personal tipi. You can always go fishing tomorrow, and walk along the the cliffs the day after that... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Cornish Tipi Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornish Tipi Holidays Hotel Pendoggett
Cornish Tipi Holidays Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing