We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value despite noisy karaoke”
Review of Arunras Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kampong Thom
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arunras Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kampong Thom
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great value despite noisy karaoke”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We spent a night here to split the route between PP and Siem Reap and were agreably surprised by the hotel and the city.

Location is perfect (right where the bus dropped us, and right next to the market and the river). Our budget room cost 5 usd and had no window. Very small but adequate furniture and very clean sheets and bathroom. Bug servings at reasonable prices in the popular restaurant downstairs.

Only problem was that we could hear the music from the karaoke in the evening. Do prepare earplugs! Still great value for money and this is the place we'll stay at next time we are in town.

Not related, but for those breaking the route like us you might want to know that the cheapest way to reach Kampong Thom from PP by bus is with a ticket to Preah Vihear from GST company (psar thmei area just behind phnom penh sorya). It costs $5/person. Kompong Thom to Siem Reap costs $4 (right in front of Arunras hotel) by bus. Alternatively just walk away from the ticket vendors and stop any local minibus heading East. You should be able to negotiate $3/person directly with the driver.

Room Tip: Room 310 (windowless $5 budget rooms) is located right by the modem and had wifi when we stayed. App...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eutectique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    21
    41
    14
    3
See reviews for
9
25
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed two nights during January 2014. The room was $5 a night without windows, A/C nor hot water. The room was small but clean (and it was cleaned everyday). However, only a thin bed cover was provided (no real linen)

The main issue was the noise. On one hand, the exhaust fan in the bathroom could not be switched off and was running continuously. On the other hand, the karaoke on the fifth floor could be heard until very late two floors below, where my room was. The result was a very bad sleep both nights.

Aside from that, there was wifi only in the lobby. In spite of having wifi on every floor, they only give the password for the one at reception, and say that the other ones are not for customers' use. (I know it does not make sense, but it was their answer). Of course, in late afternoon and evening, not only the clients, but also the reception staff, their friends and what I guess were people going to the karaoke are connected to internet, so it is useless.

Finally, the restaurant belonging to the hotel is expensive and have a tendency to overcharge, although I agree that their coffee is good.

Summing up, a place to stay one night if you are on a budget and do not mind the noise and cold water. The hot water+AC rooms at $15 are way to expensive for the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert0Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kampong Thom hotels

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night last Saturday, 11th of Jan. the A/C room for USD 15.00 was good value for money everything worked, except that there was no water in the morning for a shower (apparently the Municipality was doing widely advertised repairs). There are two hotels next to each other, Arunras Guest House (much cheaper at USD 5.00 for a room, but many complaints) and Arunras Hotel which was ok! Except for the water problem, which was a once off for which I don't think I would give them a bad rating! The Arunras hotel restaurant served really good food but was a little pricey! The Arunras Guest House restaurant seemed much more popular for breakfast though!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank petersmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campi Bisenzio, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We arrived in Kampong thom late at night and the bus dropped us right in front of this guesthouse so we walked in and asked for a room.
We Just spent one night at the Arunras guesthouse, not at the hotel which has the same name, paying 13 dollars for a room that smelled of cat's urine...it was so strong that the guy came back immediately with an sir freshener! The room had a window we could't open because it was broken and that was facing on what you can see from the picture. People at the reception were unfriendly and when I asked if it was possible to leave our backpacks there for a few hours to visit the temple I was answered a NO, without any suggestion on how to do with the luggage.
A place I would never reccomend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gattafedora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
371 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This place is your basic basic. Decor and ambiance is little soviet-like, but overall it is clean and does the job. Rooms are cheap, $15/night. Wifi does not work in the rooms, but you can perch on the bench next to the check in desk and use it for free. Same wifi works in the restaurant next door.

The only other place in town that is nicer is the boutique-y Sambor Village for $50-80.

Would I stay here again? Yes, if I have to work in the area. No, if I en route to somewhere else. It's a bit depressing.

Room Tip: I wish I knew a good secret, but don't have one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pyegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

A good option on the road from Siem Reap to Phnom Penh. Reasonably clean. Good value for money.

The plus:
. Central situation which allows to easily find transportation (bus, minibus, shared taxis and moto-dops).
. The rooms are medium-sized, reasonably clean and comfortable with a big balcony and a private bathroom.
. The bathroom have hot water.
. The bed is comfortable.
. There is an attached restaurant on the ground floor and also numerous food stalls on the street around.
. The staff is friendly and helpful.
. Handy to visit the nearby temples of Sambor Prei Kuk.

The minus:
. Noisy road.
. Small and basic bathroom (though clean).

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the side to minimise the noise of the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christophe p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Pen, Phnum Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We have stayed here a few nights as my wife's family is in the nearby village. The hotel is okay. I think I have had trouble getting hot water sometimes. Beds are fairly firm, rooms are reasonably clean. The location is good. Directly above a couple of restaurants, which i believe is part of the hotel. I find it difficult to find food on their menu that i can eat. Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampong Thom
0.0 mi away
Sambor Village
Sambor Village
#1 of 6 in Kampong Thom
311 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dara Reang Sey Hotel Phnom Penh
Dara Reang Sey Hotel Phnom Penh
#170 of 267 in Phnom Penh
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
VY CHHE Hotel
VY CHHE Hotel
#13 of 26 in Battambang
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glorious Hotel & Spa
Glorious Hotel & Spa
#2 of 6 in Kampong Thom
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marvel Holiday Boutique Hotel
Marvel Holiday Boutique Hotel
#163 of 343 in Siem Reap
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vimean Sovann Guest House
Vimean Sovann Guest House
#1 of 9 in Kampong Thom
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arunras Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arunras Hotel

Property: Arunras Hotel
Address: 39Eo, Street Sereypheap | Steung Sen District, Kampong Thom, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Kampong Thom Province > Kampong Thom
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Kampong Thom
Number of rooms: 58

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing