We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arunras Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Glorious Hotel & Spa(Kampong Thom)
US$38
US$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$17
US$16
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Sambor Village(Kampong Thom)
US$42
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
PAMA Hotel(Kampong Chhnang)
US$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$9
Booking.com
View Deal
Santepheap Guesthouse(Kampong Thom)
US$8
US$7
Booking.com
View Deal
Golden Chenla Hotel(Kampong Thom)
US$65
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Soban Teuk(Tuol Vihea)
US$28
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
8
24
43
14
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
24
43
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssiem reapsambor prei kukrestaurant downstairslocal foodrestaurant staffclean bathroomusdtvmarketbugs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

And you don't really have the choice in Kompong Thom... This town is so small. Room is clean, Hot Water and AC. Fans are also available for a cheaper room.
The staff doesn't speak very well English. If you're asking for something they do not sell such as motorbike rental because they have tuktuk drivers, they won't help you.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed one night at the Arunas Hotel in Kampong Thom, last April. I think I paid $20 for a double room.

It is located on the main road that leads from Phnom Penh to Siem Reap. A bit noisy but you can request a room away from the main road. The entrance and lobby is tiny. They have a Visa sign at the front desk but told me that they do not accept it. Elevator is also very small and slow but I heard that it was the only one within a 100 mile radius.

The room was spacious and clean with reliable hot water And wifi during my stay. The balcony had a good view of the local microwave tower and consequently had the best cell phone signal strength during my entire stay in Cambodia. The attached restaurant is large and serves a wide range of local and Western dishes. I thought the price was a little high by local standards but very delicious.

I would certainly stay there again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank E150A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We spent a night here to split the route between PP and Siem Reap and were agreably surprised by the hotel and the city.

Location is perfect (right where the bus dropped us, and right next to the market and the river). Our budget room cost 5 usd and had no window. Very small but adequate furniture and very clean sheets and bathroom. Bug servings at reasonable prices in the popular restaurant downstairs.

Only problem was that we could hear the music from the karaoke in the evening. Do prepare earplugs! Still great value for money and this is the place we'll stay at next time we are in town.

Not related, but for those breaking the route like us you might want to know that the cheapest way to reach Kampong Thom from PP by bus is with a ticket to Preah Vihear from GST company (psar thmei area just behind phnom penh sorya). It costs $5/person. Kompong Thom to Siem Reap costs $4 (right in front of Arunras hotel) by bus. Alternatively just walk away from the ticket vendors and stop any local minibus heading East. You should be able to negotiate $3/person directly with the driver.

Room Tip: Room 310 (windowless $5 budget rooms) is located right by the modem and had wifi when we stayed. Apparently not a privileged enjoyed in all rooms/floors.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eutectique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed two nights during January 2014. The room was $5 a night without windows, A/C nor hot water. The room was small but clean (and it was cleaned everyday). However, only a thin bed cover was provided (no real linen)

The main issue was the noise. On one hand, the exhaust fan in the bathroom could not be switched off and was running continuously. On the other hand, the karaoke on the fifth floor could be heard until very late two floors below, where my room was. The result was a very bad sleep both nights.

Aside from that, there was wifi only in the lobby. In spite of having wifi on every floor, they only give the password for the one at reception, and say that the other ones are not for customers' use. (I know it does not make sense, but it was their answer). Of course, in late afternoon and evening, not only the clients, but also the reception staff, their friends and what I guess were people going to the karaoke are connected to internet, so it is useless.

Finally, the restaurant belonging to the hotel is expensive and have a tendency to overcharge, although I agree that their coffee is good.

Summing up, a place to stay one night if you are on a budget and do not mind the noise and cold water. The hot water+AC rooms at $15 are way to expensive for the place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert0Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed for one night last Saturday, 11th of Jan. the A/C room for USD 15.00 was good value for money everything worked, except that there was no water in the morning for a shower (apparently the Municipality was doing widely advertised repairs). There are two hotels next to each other, Arunras Guest House (much cheaper at USD 5.00 for a room, but many complaints) and Arunras Hotel which was ok! Except for the water problem, which was a once off for which I don't think I would give them a bad rating! The Arunras hotel restaurant served really good food but was a little pricey! The Arunras Guest House restaurant seemed much more popular for breakfast though!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank petersmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews