We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hosts and place to stay - would stay again”
Review of The Robin Hood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Robin Hood Inn
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent hosts and place to stay - would stay again”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Nice rooms, good hosts pretty setting.
Nice touch of suggesting you can borrow picnic blankets to sit on the village green in summer.
Yummy breakfast.

Wifi is free and included.

Only criticisms are wifi was a bit patchy, and 10am is very early check-out time.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front are next to well-lit signs so if you are very sensitive to light, ask for dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    37
    21
    10
    15
See reviews for
23
38
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

As it said on the packet! What we saw, was what we got. Professional staff and service, would definitely revisit.
Breakfast huge, evening meal value for money, rooms very clean and nothing too much trouble.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbles ab B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

A very well kept and manicured pub. We stayed there with friends while visiting Goodwood races.

The rooms were very well decorated and were spotlessly clean. The Sunday morning cooked breakfast was 10/10 and the all-in bill
was great value for money. Would 100% recommend staying even with a 20-25min cab ride to the track.

The service was perhaps a bit “curt”, but nothing to be concerned about, all very business like.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My sister was getting married in the village and several rooms booked for this, including 3 which I booked. From entering the hotel to leaving we were subjected to the worst management practices I have experienced in 40 years of travel. The manageress achieved instant success by going straight to the top of the worst hotel have stayed in from a choice of over 120 countries I have visited, by her ungracious, unfriendly, unwelcoming sheer rudeness. Breakfast for babies were charged at the full rate for adults, a coffee served at 0950 was accompanied by the abrupt message "Dont forget check-out is 1000" I have a group coming in. Our group was 8 people......! Never again!

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Owner at The Robin Hood Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
This guest having stated that he was charged full rate for breakfasts for babies has failed to state that he was charged full rate at the time of booking and when on arrival at breakfast it was obvious they were babies then a full refund was given. This guest also failed to state that after booking a room for 2 adults he failed to mention the 7 or 8 year old child with them that would also be sleeping in the same room as well as expecting breakfast !. I have no problem with genuine complaints which if are brought to our attention at the time and which can be dealt with as we never set out to annoy customers, but I do have a problem with people who do not tell the full story. Trip advisor is there for people searching for places to stay or eat to give constructive information to help them make a choice not to rant off without all the facts. Perhaps this visitor could have helped many more travellers with reviews to the 120 countries he has visited rather than the 2 so far.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rowlands Castle hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We popped into this pub for a quick drink whilst visiting the area and after receiving such a warm welcome decided to stay for dinner, and we were really glad we did.

We shared a starter and followed that by a steak and the fish and chips. My friend's steak was cooked to perfection and my fish and chips were excellent. The wine list was reasonably priced but we didn't drink as we were driving. We sat in the bar and the atmosphere was wonderful.

The pub is immaculate and the staff were really friendly.

We will definitely return next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRD1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We planned to eat here and pre-booked a table in advance. We arrived early (around 5:30 ish) and enjoy a lot of drinks before our meal (bar staff were nice and friendly)

We had a lovely table in the bar area but, as we had booked a table in the restaurant area, vacated this table to to and get our reserved one. Only to find, when we got to the restaurant section, there was no table reservation and it was a help yourself (in any area of the pub).

We had lost the 'nice table in the bar' by then and the only one available (which was obviously not reserved) was cramped and not really suitable for eating a meal from - there were 4 of us.

All this this, to a certain extent is okay if it were not for the manageress who, quite frankly, could not have cared less - she was borderline arrogant in her responses to our complaints about the table, to the extent that we decided that they obviously did not care about us as a Customer.

There was no humbleness over this, or apology or attempt to make things right - the approach was 'tough - like it or lump it'

Won't be wasting my money there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debs_Portsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Having booked a table for dinner in the restaurant at least a week in advance we arrived at the restaurant, presented ourselves to one of the servers, explained we had a reservation and were told we could sit at any of the available tables, which we did.

Five minutes later the manageress walked over, snapped 'do you have a reservation' to which we responded yes, we were then told that we couldn't sit where we were as this was a table of 6 and we were only a table of 4 (there were no tables of 4 available in the restaurant side at the point we sat down, and the point the manageress came over).

We pointed out that we had asked where we should sit and had been told we could pick any table. She reiterated we couldn't sit there and we were then 'escorted' to a very cramped table in the bar area, so cramped in fact that we would not have even been able to sit down had she not then forced the people on the table next to us to stand up and move their table.

We explained we were very dissatisfied with this arrangement as the bar area was busier and noisier as they were playing music plus, given that we had booked the table well in advance we would have anticipated that they would have reserved a table in the restaurant. The manageress was unapologetic to the point of being arrogant.

We decided at this point that we were not going to hand over any of our hard earned cash to this establishment so decided to leave and eat elsewhere.

Avoid this place, they do not seem to value their customers.

We can thoroughly recommend the 'Taste of India' restaurant next to 'The Fountain' though, lovely meal, nice atmosphere, friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshin31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowlands Castle
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
2.9 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
497 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
32 the Green
32 the Green
#1 of 4 in Rowlands Castle
17 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Hampshire Hog
The Hampshire Hog
#1 of 2 in Clanfield
608 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Bishop's Waltham
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robin Hood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robin Hood Inn

Property: The Robin Hood Inn
Address: 26 The Green, Rowlands Castle PO9 6AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Rowlands Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rowlands Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Robin Hood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Robin Hood Inn is situated overlooking the green in the village of Rowlands Castle. Close to Staunton House & Country Park and the fabulous cathedral city of Chichester as well as the historical city of Portsmouth with its naval dockyard & shopping at Gun Wharf Quays. The A3M and M27 are only three miles away and we are 2 minutes walk from the railway station which is on the mainline to London Waterloo and Portsmouth Harbour. The Robin Hood is renowned for offering good food in a contemporary setting. With six stylish boutique bedrooms, complete with flat screen TV, free WiFi and all en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Robin Hood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Robin Hood Hotel Rowlands Castle
The Robin Hood Inn Rowlands Castle, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing