We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling roast dinner”
Review of The Robin Hood Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Robin Hood Inn
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Took my elderly mother there for lunch on Sunday 25 August 2013. We both decided to have the roast beef (although prices for the roast not printed on the menu) Beef was appalling and inedible - waitress offered us some more beef but by that time we were put off our meal. They still charged us the full price of £26.00 for the two meals. I will not be returning

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank langdod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

The Robin Hood is situated in the quaint village of Rowland's Castle in South East Hampshire, on the border with West Sussex. Great food, great people running the show, and a charming, quiet location. The Inn feature six bedrooms, each one as tastefully decorated as the others, and they are named rather than numbered. We stayed in the Saint Amoure room, and enjoyed a comfy double bed and a very large, modern en-suite bathroom. The room featured a sitting area by the door, but there was one drawback here, the TV screen was mounted on the wall next to a stand-up wardrobe by the bottom of the bed which blocked the screen from view. Pity!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stanley Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Owner at The Robin Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Thank you for taking the trouble to write your review which we do appreciate. I take on board your comments regarding the TV which we only recently upgraded to a larger one. However because of the size of the TV a bracket needed to allow all round vision was deemed unsafe, but we are aware of this and are rethinking positioning of the wardrobe. We hope this did not spoil your stay too much and would like to think you would revisit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Nice rooms, good hosts pretty setting.
Nice touch of suggesting you can borrow picnic blankets to sit on the village green in summer.
Yummy breakfast.

Wifi is free and included.

Only criticisms are wifi was a bit patchy, and 10am is very early check-out time.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front are next to well-lit signs so if you are very sensitive to light, ask for dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikhole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

As it said on the packet! What we saw, was what we got. Professional staff and service, would definitely revisit.
Breakfast huge, evening meal value for money, rooms very clean and nothing too much trouble.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubbles ab B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

A very well kept and manicured pub. We stayed there with friends while visiting Goodwood races.

The rooms were very well decorated and were spotlessly clean. The Sunday morning cooked breakfast was 10/10 and the all-in bill
was great value for money. Would 100% recommend staying even with a 20-25min cab ride to the track.

The service was perhaps a bit “curt”, but nothing to be concerned about, all very business like.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My sister was getting married in the village and several rooms booked for this, including 3 which I booked. From entering the hotel to leaving we were subjected to the worst management practices I have experienced in 40 years of travel. The manageress achieved instant success by going straight to the top of the worst hotel have stayed in from a choice of over 120 countries I have visited, by her ungracious, unfriendly, unwelcoming sheer rudeness. Breakfast for babies were charged at the full rate for adults, a coffee served at 0950 was accompanied by the abrupt message "Dont forget check-out is 1000" I have a group coming in. Our group was 8 people......! Never again!

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J, Owner at The Robin Hood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

This guest having stated that he was charged full rate for breakfasts for babies has failed to state that he was charged full rate at the time of booking and when on arrival at breakfast it was obvious they were babies then a full refund was given. This guest also failed to state that after booking a room for 2 adults he failed to mention the 7 or 8 year old child with them that would also be sleeping in the same room as well as expecting breakfast !. I have no problem with genuine complaints which if are brought to our attention at the time and which can be dealt with as we never set out to annoy customers, but I do have a problem with people who do not tell the full story. Trip advisor is there for people searching for places to stay or eat to give constructive information to help them make a choice not to rant off without all the facts. Perhaps this visitor could have helped many more travellers with reviews to the 120 countries he has visited rather than the 2 so far.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We popped into this pub for a quick drink whilst visiting the area and after receiving such a warm welcome decided to stay for dinner, and we were really glad we did.

We shared a starter and followed that by a steak and the fish and chips. My friend's steak was cooked to perfection and my fish and chips were excellent. The wine list was reasonably priced but we didn't drink as we were driving. We sat in the bar and the atmosphere was wonderful.

The pub is immaculate and the staff were really friendly.

We will definitely return next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRD1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowlands Castle
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
0 mi away
32 the Green
32 the Green
#1 of 4 in Rowlands Castle
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cripple Creek Guest House
Cripple Creek Guest House
#3 of 4 in Rowlands Castle
22 reviews
0 mi away
Taste of India on the Green
Taste of India on the Green
#4 of 4 in Rowlands Castle
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Robin Hood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robin Hood Inn

Address: 26 The Green, Rowlands Castle PO9 6AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Rowlands Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rowlands Castle
Price Range: £52 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Robin Hood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Robin Hood Inn is situated overlooking the green in the village of Rowlands Castle. Close to Staunton House & Country Park and the fabulous cathedral city of Chichester as well as the historical city of Portsmouth with its naval dockyard & shopping at Gun Wharf Quays. The A3M and M27 are only three miles away and we are 2 minutes walk from the railway station which is on the mainline to London Waterloo and Portsmouth Harbour. The Robin Hood is renowned for offering good food in a contemporary setting. With six stylish boutique bedrooms, complete with flat screen TV, free WiFi and all en-suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Robin Hood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Robin Hood Hotel Rowlands Castle
The Robin Hood Inn Rowlands Castle, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing