We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of The Robin Hood Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Robin Hood Inn
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This pub/restaurant is situated in a lovely country village, on the green. The food is excellent and cannot be faulted. Everything is home made including the bread. Presentation is very nice and the combination of foods and flavours across all three courses is brilliant. The sea bass on Chinese vegetables with a mango sauce was very tasty. Vegetables and chips too. Everything is piping hot and we really appreciate that. The pannacota with brandy snap was divine.Very nice service from a busy waitress on a Saturday night. The only thing that is a slight bother is the noise level. There are no soft furnishings to muffle sound and it is a lively venue at weekends. Have been during the week which is more suitable for myself and friends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OrianaB108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    11
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Small but Comfortable B&B ”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed the night in this inn. Comfortable and clean. Excellent breakfast. WiFi a bit hit and miss. The bar very much a place for the locals. Recommended for an overnight stay.

Helpful?
Thank Olliff-Thor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
489 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Please read………..”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We ate with here with a friend who had called to book. I was very disappointed that we were not informed at the time of booking that we would not be eating in the restaurant due to a function, therefore we were sat in the busy bar. Not at all were we expecting.
The menu was quite limited, there was not a huge choice for starters so my friends opted for garlic bread, only to be told they had sold out! The pigeon starter and the prawns were nice though.
My wife wanted the steak and chips but was told by the waiter that they could only cook it well done and at the price they were charging I was very surprised at that. My friend had the steak and specifically asked for it to be cremated, but when it came it was bloody!!!! The chips were underdone and we had to send them back.
We spent most of the meal getting up to find a waiter to rectify faults, no side plates, no balsamic and oil with the bread basket, even though we had asked for it, no one around to ask for a repeat drink order. The osso bucco was very dry and the sticky toffee pudding was dry and was only served with a tiny amount of ice cream.
Such a shame as the location is lovely, but the service and food was not up to scratch. Very disappointing!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ButlerInService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea
Level Contributor
208 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Most disappointing”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We should have read the reviews before choosing this place for lunch. "Robbing Hood" instead of "Robinhood" was the name given by one Tripadvisor member, I can only agree with him/her. Although very well situated, facing the Green, the dining room itself looks rather shabby. Saying this, the photos on the Website are beautiful, I must say. We were a party of 4, had only one Baked Brie to share as a starter, one main course each, one small glass of wine and a large one, a bottle of mineral water - not a liter - 4 coffees, the bill came to £90; rather steep as one main course was a tasteless burger with boiled carrots, without even the smallest knob of butter, salt or pepper. No potatoes with the main course, except chips; unbelievable but true, which led us to think that the chips were frozen! The starters are from £5.50 for the soup. The Baked Brie was supposed to be served with garlic and thyme, we did not taste either. Altogether, a most disappointing and expensive experience which we will not renew.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Albatros747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic hidden gem”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Absolutely beautiful place to stay excellent location, good food very well decorated, roaring log fire in the winter, stopped here a few times now and also with my wife who adores staying when in the area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kevi657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Robin Hood Inn also viewed

Rowlands Castle, Hampshire
 
Waterlooville, Hampshire
 
Waterlooville, Hampshire
Rowlands Castle, Hampshire
 

Been to The Robin Hood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing