We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel Anaterve

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vallehermoso
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Anaterve
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vallehermoso
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stayed here with my daughter for six nights in early March. We saw it advertised in "The Vegetarian" magazine and the tripadvisor reviews were good. We both needed some winter sunshine, good walking, peace and quiet, vegetarian food and a beautiful location. Hotel Anaterve ticked all of these boxes - apart from not much sunshine for a couple of days but that seems to be par for the course in this part of La Gomera as Vallehermoso is in a deep valley surrounded by mountains so is obviously going to be less sunny and damper than, say, San Sebastian. However, the location is wonderful with lots of palm trees, cacti etc and everything is green and lush. Lots of good walks nearby. You don't really need a car. There are cafes/bars, a Spar supermarket, pharmacy and other small shops in the centre of Vallehermoso. The walk down to the sea is nice (about 4kms each way) where there is a small cafe, public loos etc. We missed the Botanic Gardens on our first walk there as there didn't seem to be a sign outside. We found them on our second walk though and, although they are a bit neglected, they were worth a visit. Lots of interesting trees and plants from South America, Australia etc. Whoever is responsible for the upkeep/advertising seem to have lost interest in them which is a shame as they could be a real asset to the area.

Anyway, back to Hotel Anaterve. It is owned and run by a very nice couple, Herman from Belgium and Amala from The Netherlands. We had the twin-bedded room with en suite shower room. Amazing views from the windows and balcony on two sides. Very clean and comfortable. The TV is only for DVDs but we didn't use it. Amala kindly lent us a kettle, mugs, teabags as we English like our teamaking facilities in hotel rooms! The building itself is perched high on a hill overlooking the main square of Vallehermosa. It is old and full of character. Breakfast seemed to be the same each day, ie eggs, cheese, fruit, toast, jam, honey, tea, coffee, juice. They provide very imaginative and good value vegetarian evening meals for 11 euros for the main course and there is wine/beer available. A glass of local wine is 2 euros and a Spanish white was 3 euros. Herman and Amala went to a lot of extra trouble to provide me with gluten-free food and wheat-free for my daughter which must have made more work for them. We really appreciated it.

The taxi from San Sebastian to Vallehermoso took about an hour and cost just over 60 euros but took us right to the door of the hotel by reversing down a steep and narrow lane. You will appreciate the skill involved if you ever stay there! Our bus back to San Sebastian on our last day cost 4.5 euros each. Amazing journey winding up the mountain sides and down into the valleys. Maybe those who get vertigo should avoid the sides overlooking the steep drops! At one point we were so high up we were looking down over the top of a rainbow.

In summary (and apologies for a longwinded review), we would definitely recommend Hotel Anaterve. Nice owners, great food and accommodation, wonderful scenery.

Room Tip: All rooms looked nice.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vegetariantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Anaterve
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

We booked Hotel Anaterve as a quiet and unique place for a significant birthday, and the start of our 6 island two-month trip. A birthday dinner for two on-site was the plan, and vegetarian as presented (not selected). And it all worked out so well. Herman and Amala were pleasant and helpful hosts. Rebuilt from a historic ruin, and previously used as a wine production facility, it had a certain quaint charm. We chose the suite, a spacious and comfortable unit. Arriving in the dark from Tenerife by ferry, Amala guided us by mobile phone the final kilometre to the hotel. Breakfasts were generous, and for an extra small cost, the omellettes were worth it. There were no cooking nor refrigeration facilities in our suite. Good library and wi-fi. Hotel Anaterve is well located to see La Gomera, one of our favourite islands in the archipelago.
Bonny and Dave.............. Canada

Room Tip: We like the spaciousness and amenities of the suite.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We recently came back from a 5 night stay at this hotel. We were very warmly welcomed by Herman and Amala. The suite we occupied was very clean and spacious. There were marvellous views from the balcony over the valley. There was plenty to eat a breakfast albeit that it was the same every morning. We chose to have evening meal 3 times and although we are not vegetarians they were very tasty and appetising and plentiful. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will certainly go back again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LoobyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Just returning from a trip to Canaries and La Gomera, one cannot really find right words to express the gratitude towards Hermann and Amala being part of the holiday and making it such a perfect experience. There really is nothing negative to mention regarding them nor their lovely place Añaterve, but their presence and kindness offering their help, dvd collection for late night watching, cozy room for two with a large balcony and a view towards the sea, and a steady swing in their garden are all worthy to be mentioned as wonderful surprises to us. Well worth the price of accommodation, which seems qutie rare these days. Definitely recommendable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Risto H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Hotel Anaterve for me was magical and romantic. My partner and I stayed here for 7 nights in a double room without balcony but with magnificent views from our 2 large windows looking down on to the town square . We watched it waking up in the morning and the pretty lights of the town by night. We walked everyday from the Hotel only catching the bus back once from Agulo. Anaterve was very relaxed and quiet, exceptionally clean and cared for. We were made to feel special by our hosts, Herman and Amala who always had time to chat and were genuinely interested in what their guests had to say. Amala’s Vegetarian cooking was superb and worthy of 5 star excellence. We often took her packed lunches with us on our walks as didn’t come across many cafes open. Would love to return to this magical place one day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girlonbike186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed here in November 2013. We booked for 3 nights and were so delighted returned for another 3 nights later on our walking trip. Anala and Herman were wonderful hosts, gave much helpful and useful information as well as being friendly and enthusiastic about the area.

The food was magnificent. Excellent breakfast with fresh fruit and fresh bread and perfectly boiled eggs! The evening meals were superb, fresh and imaginative; fabulous mains and salads with wonderful dressings - thank you Amala.

Rooms were spotless, very comfortable and great views.

Herman gives good tips for walks - take his advice for the route to Epina with the diversion to the "magic" rocks.

Vallehermoso is a perfect base for walking, a great variety from the village and also within a bus or short taxi ride.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Hermann & Alama couldn't be more helpful, all food is sourced locally, the view over the town is almost sureal-in the early morning you can witness the town walking-up from the terrace. The rooms are very spacious. We eat as a group (15people by prior arrangement) in the restaurant to an exceptional simple set meal and everyone loved the experience. Vallehermoso is a good base for both local walks and other walks on the west of the island. Some of the local restaurants will surprise and the local Spar shop just off the square is good for bites for your rucksack before heading off walking. The walk to Santa Clara from Vallehermoso is well worth it for the views alone.

Room Tip: There are just 4 rooms in this beautiful hotel, two suites and two twin rooms, while all are very ni...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vallehermoso
11.3 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tecina
Hotel Jardin Tecina
#1 of 2 in Playa de Santiago
1,586 reviews
11.4 mi away
Parador de la Gomera
Parador de la Gomera
#1 of 9 in San Sebastian de la Gomera
601 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
#2 of 7 in Hermigua
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Rey
Hotel Gran Rey
#2 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
204 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa los Herrera
7.4 mi away
Playa Calera
Playa Calera
#1 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anaterve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anaterve

Address: Calle la Rodadera s/n, 38840 Vallehermoso, La Gomera, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > La Gomera > Vallehermoso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vallehermoso
Price Range: £41 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Anaterve Hotel Vallehermoso
Hotel Anaterve La Gomera/Vallehermoso

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing