We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Anaterve
Nearby Hotels
Jardin Las Hayas(Valle Gran Rey)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Apartments Los Telares(Hermigua)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamahuche Rural Hotel(Vallehermoso)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
89
11
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main squaretown squarela gomerathe hotel sitswonderful hotellovely villagehelpful hostsgreat location for walkingcouple of nightsrestaurants and barsfantastic viewscanary islandsother guestsold housevegetarian breakfasthermansuite
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Our three-night stay in this was really the highlight of a brilliant holiday. All the positive comments made are well founded. The owners are so charming and helpful, it was more like staying in someone's home, and the vegetarian breakfasts and dinners were excellent. Our room had a comfortable double bed, spacious shower room, and splendid views down over the valley. A little library offers novels and local guide books in several languages.There are wonderful mountain walks that can be done from the door, and even a small garden where you can sit outside if you wish. It was very peaceful at nights, except for the croaking of a thousand frogs in the valley below, but who could object to that?

The only possible problem for some guests could be the access - after unloading, we had to park down in the town and take a short but steep walk back up to the hotel. But we always found space to park, and the walk back is no problem for the reasonably fit.

This is a really special little hotel, and if we're ever back in that area, we won't hesitate to book in again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magpiestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

What a lovely place and what lovely hosts in Amala and Herman! We stayed in the ground floor apartment which was perfect for us and had an amazing view of the sleepy village below. If you're a vegetarian you are in luck as they produce fantatsic hearty veggie meals in a beautiful and cosy dining room. They sorted out car hire for us and had the perfect mix of being available to chat but not intrusive. We left them with a few DVDs (there is a player and small TV n the apartment), including 'Burn After Reading' - don't bother with that tho', it's rubbish! Highly recommended, we would love to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cobweb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We stayed in this beautiful and very interestingly laid out building and garden with fantastic views in January 2009. We enjoyed it so much that we are going to stay there again next week (Feb 2010). We are very much looking forward to it.

As it says in the previous reviews, the owners could not be more helpful, friendly and accomodating if they tried . . . A very pleasant couple indeed. Herman even drove and parked my hire car for me when I was getting a bit nervous about the narrow road and steep slopes just outside the hotel. (I never was a very good driver !)

One point that has not been stressed enough by other reviewers is that all the food served at Hotel Anaterve is 100% top quality and totally vegetarian. They really are excellent cooks ! For veggies like us, this would always be fantastic but it is an exceptionally welcome treat if you are staying on La Gomera for a couple of weeks. There a very few other restaurants on the island where (as non-Spanish speakers) you can easily order a decent vegetarian meal.

Here is a tip that might help you if you are staying at Hotel Anaterve for the first time and arriving in Vallehermoso by car . . . Unless you have a far better satnav than us, you probably will get navigated only as far as the town centre. There is one big free car park in centre of town. The hotel is perched high on the slopes above it.

I suggest that rather than try and find the hotel yourself (which is a bit tricky), give them a call from the car park. They will come out onto their balcolny and get you to flash and switch on your lights. Once they know which car you are in. They will then stay on the phone while they navigate you to the hotel which is about a 8-10 minute slow winding drive away. It worked a treat for us anyway.

Keep up the good work guys !

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikestarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

My friend and I stayed at this hotel and we have to say it is one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in in every aspect. The building was beautiful and the owners were two of the most friendly and accommodating people. The breakfast was vegetarian and very DELICIOUS, fresh, and healthy. The ambiance was very relaxing and so was the garden. And the rooms, they were modern and immaculate. Amala and Herman are so sweet and made every attempt to help us with any questions we had about the island and how to get around. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to La Gomera and I would even suggest adding La Gomera to their itinerary. Don't miss out on this gem!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Biking_in_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

We (couple + 12 year old son) went to La Gomera for a hiking holiday. We had booked a one week stay directly with Herman.
During our stay we were impressed with the warm and at the same time professional way Amala and Herman run this cosy little hotel.
The appartment we rented was all we needed (and more!), the vegetarian food was excellent, and both Herman and Amanda were extremely helpfull.

La Gomera is a beautiful island, and this hotel added to the pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews