We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Romanica
Ranked #5 of 5 Ainsa B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“What a place!”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We rented a car and essentially did a trip from San Sebastian (Spain) via the pyrenees mountains to the Costa Brava (the other coast of Spain) down to Barcelona (eventually).
We stayed in Ainsa for 3 evenings and we could not have made a better choice of town. This is a medieval town and the hotel is in the middle of it.
We had a room with a view of the river and mountains and a small balcony on the second floor (others look over the town itself). The rooms on the first floor have bigger balconies.
You step outside and into the winding, cobbled street with loads of restaurants and bars around.
For purposes of dropping your bags and picking it up again, you gain entrance to the town and then you have to park a little way away (not too far and an easy walk). Breakfast was a bit disappointing - some toast, a croissant or some other pastry (for 3 of us) with jam and coffee.

Overall - fantastic location and great accomodation for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcrause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    7
    9
    7
    5
See reviews for
9
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Amazing 3* hotel just a few steps from the main square of the old town. Exceptional value and to die for views. A fairytale hotel in an ideal location.

Room Tip: Insist on a view of the valley below, spectular
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelcOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

traditional aragonesque hotel is situated on a small cobbled street of ancient houses in the old town, up on the hill above the river. Room had small balcony (2nd floor) the larger verandas are on the 1st floor. There is a larger shared balcony on the 3rd floor you can use if you like. Views of the river and mountains beyond are stunning. Good restaurants and bars very close by in old town. Rooms charmingly furnished with traditional furniture - homely but not luxurious. Simple breakfast of coffee, juice, toast and pain au chocolat offered in lovely dining room with panoramic mountain views.

Bad points - parking is well away in ols square - you have to get a pass from the owner to come down cobbled street to drop bags off, then return on foot. Also, insulation between rooms poor - we had noisy family next door! Owner speaks a little English but her son doesn't - small amount of French helps id you have no Spanish

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2008

My husband and I arrived late one evening to Ainsa without any idea where to stay. We explored the medieval town (on top of the hill) and decided we preferred to stay in the medieval town, rather the the modern town below.

The room was very large, and had a large balcony with a beautiful mountain view. The bed was very comfortable, and clean. The shower was also great. We had a lovely evening at this quiet hotel.

My only negative comment is that the breakfast consisted only of coffee and toast.

The owners told me that in August the hotel is much busier. The end of September was a nice time to travel throughout Spain.

  • Liked — The Balcony
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingchocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ainsa hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel & SPA Pena Montanesa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sanchez
Hotel Sanchez
#3 of 9 in Ainsa
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Meson L'Ainsa
Hotel Meson L'Ainsa
#8 of 9 in Ainsa
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Real
Hotel Posada Real
#7 of 9 in Ainsa
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Siete Reyes
Los Siete Reyes
#2 of 9 in Ainsa
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Apolo
Hotel Apolo
#5 of 9 in Ainsa
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Romanica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Romanica

Property: Hotel Villa Romanica
Address: Calle Santa Cruz 21-23, 22330 Ainsa, Spain
Region: Spain > Aragon > Province of Huesca > Ainsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ainsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Romanica 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Romanica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing