We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breggers Schwanen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Breggers Schwanen
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Have just returned from a wonderful walking holiday in the Black Forest staying at the Breggers Schwanan Hotel in Bernau. The warm welcome, friendly efficient service, lovely accommodation (land house) great food and fantastic spa made this a memorable holiday for all of our group (12). The personal attention from the owner Mr. Franz Bregger was much appreciated as was local knowledge, his help with maps, bus timetables and transport for one of the group to the local doctor. We all agreed that all of the above contributed to a great holiday and hope we will return again to Bernau.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MS1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    54
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
138
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed in one of the new rooms at the new extension of the hotel. I liked our room a lot, it was spacious, very light, very clean, had great beds and a nice bathroom. They used a lot of light wood, which gives them a nice feel without being to rustic. We upgrade to have a view towards the beautiful meadow and hill side of Bernau. It's worth it. Also the bar area has this amazing view and we met there every evening, enjoyed a drink and just enjoyed the view.

The sauna area is nicely done as well. Even in summer the weather can be changing quickly so we really enjoyed the sauna / wellness area, which has a lot of light and views out towards the meadow and hills.

The food was delicious and we never got bored. We ate the best dessert there ever. Tiny molted chocolate cakes with ice cream. We had them several time before at other places but they were the best because of its one-bite size. They were just enough without filling you up.

The hotel rents out e-bikes, which we rented twice because we had so much fun with them.

Room Tip: Choose a room that views the meadow and hills. Our friends paid extra for a suite and found it very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFOMUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Breggers Schwanen is a wonderful Black Forest hotel with spacious and clean rooms, a large and quiet wellness area, a bar with a lovely view and amazing food. Breakfast is good, the (free!) lunch between 2 p.m. and 4 p.m. is simply better than you get in an all-in hotel and dinner -five courses- is just wonderful (I think it's worth four stars plus) -- you can choose from two kinds of soup and three main courses. The staff in the restaurant, especially the headwaiter, are very professional, helpful and friendly. The service in the rest of the hotel is great as well. The location in Bernau is very good for hiking trips in the Black Forest. A few minor points of criticism: there are only a few tables for people who want to have a drink outside and the hotel could be a bit more dog-friendly (since dogs are allowed in the older building and you do pay 10 euros a night to bring your dog). But, overall, I don't think you could do better in the Black Forest than Breggers Schwanen, it really is an excellent hotel. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: In the main building (which is older, but had been renovated), rooms 19 & 20 are quiet, have sep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D-2000_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Our stay in Hotel Breggers Schwanen was even better than we had expected. We stayed in the "Landhauszimmer" (in the part of the hotel that hasn't been renovated). The room is tidy and rather large. There's a huge double bed, a desk, a table, two chairs, a cupboard and a flat-screen television. Our room had the best view and a lovely seperate balcony. During the day the sun heated up our room, however, which caused some problems during the night.

The food is great. Every evening the hotel offers its guests a choice menu: one meat dish, one fish dish and one vegetarian dish. The dinner consists of four courses: an appetizer from the kitchen, soup, a starter, the main course and a dessert. The food is renewing and of an exceptionally high standard. The service in the dining room is great: the entire staff is friendly and follows the rules of the etiquette.

Breakfast is good: the hotel offers everything (bacon, eggs, bread, cereal, fruit). The types of cheese they served weren't entirely to my taste, but that's of course different for everyone. One point of criticism: the hot chocolate is not prepared with real chocolate and the fruit juices aren't home-made. I do think this has more to do with the country's culture than with the hotel's lack of effort.

Between 2 and 4 there's a free lunch. We expected this would consist of leftovers and some bread, but we were surprised! Every day the kitchen prepares soup especially for lunch and two cakes (speciality of the region, so good!) were baked.

It's a quiet hotel with few children. People go there to rest and read. The wellness-area is very clean and not crowded when you choose the right moment.

We travelled with a dog: the room was cleaned thoroughly and therefore the price for the stay of the dog is rather high. Most of the hotel guests weren't that fond of dogs (this was different in Austria, I must say), but that has nothing to do with Breggers Schwanen itself obviously.

The surroundings are very green and quiet: the location is just great. In Bernau you can walk a great deal, but the signposts are terrible. There is a walking map available, but it's not very well-made and we got lost several times. Several signposts start by announcing a certain walking tour, but in the middle of your trip, the signposts stop and you're completely lost. People who are used to Austria will be surprised at the lack of walking culture in the Schwarzwald.

Hotel Schwanen does everything to make you comfortable. They even offer to pick you up if your feet get tired on a walking trip. Great hotel, great people and great food!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bernau im Schwarzwald
1.1 mi away
Hotel Roessle
Hotel Roessle
#2 of 5 in Bernau im Schwarzwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Adler Haeusern
Hotel Adler Haeusern
#1 of 4 in Hausern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
4.8 mi away
Wellnesshotel Auerhahn
Wellnesshotel Auerhahn
#2 of 12 in Schluchsee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Vier Jahreszeiten am Schluchsee
9.1 mi away
Hotel Baren
Hotel Baren
#1 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
8.2 mi away
Boutique-Hotel Alemannenhof
Boutique-Hotel Alemannenhof
#3 of 20 in Titisee-Neustadt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breggers Schwanen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breggers Schwanen

Property: Breggers Schwanen
Address: Todtmooser Str. 17, 79872 Bernau im Schwarzwald, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Bernau im Schwarzwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bernau im Schwarzwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Breggers Schwanen 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Breggers Schwanen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing