We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“feels like home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fadhila Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Togian Islands
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fadhila Cottages
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Togian Islands
Gresik, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“feels like home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

stayed at this cottage for 2 days, spending new year's eve here with lots good friend, music, and food.
I like lunch and dinner when we had fresh fish, mixing traditional and a bit international food.
My room is the cheapest among all rooms in this cottage. Only consist of a bed (enough for 2 persons), mosquito net, small cupboard, and two pillows. For me the price is still worth it.
No private bathroom for my room and only 1 public bathroom available outside.
Had a great boat trip to Hotel California (the best hotel I have ever visited), Mariona Lake, and Karina beach.
This cottage surrounded by stunning coral reef, I saw clown fishes here
The owner is very nice and friendly. We played cinq-mille in the evening
I think I'll be back to this place for my next visit to Togean.
Amazing place in Indonesia. This is heaven!

Room Tip: prepare more cash to get better room with private bathroom and better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helena599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    27
    12
    6
    8
See reviews for
10
43
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Lovely place to stay. The beach, the cottages & the food are very good. we extend our stay from one night to one week just after arrived to the cottage. The owner & staff are very friendly. Clean water available all day and electricity during the night.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank putroeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed in one of the new cottages, which was nice and clean. The bathroom also looks really nice! You have a nice porch with a hammock and chairs and on the beach in front of the cottage are beach chairs. Like on most places at the Togeans the food was included. Our first evening meal was spagetti with a bit of ketchup and a minimal amount of cheese. Some "kroepoek" was also available. Since we were used to some choice for the evening meal on the Togean islands and we had heard the food at Fadhila was really good we were quite suprised with this.. We did complain about the spagetti meal to the manager who didnt seem too happy about us complaining and didnt seem to understand our problem, but the lunch and the evening meal the day after were good! Choice on veggies, fish and rice and it was really tasty.
For me the service wasnt great overall.. When we arrived they had ran out of -dry- towels and for other things like an extra blanket you had to ask serveral times. Also our bill at the end of the stay wasnt calculated correctly.
Overall, i think the resort is quite okay, but it didnt have the nice charm and athmosphere like some of the other resorts on the islands..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneve
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

very good atmosphere in this resort. Food is very good, you have nice breakfast and a lot of fresh fish. We would have hopped for a better dive center (no O2 on the boat!), they took unexperienced divers down, we though it was dangerous.
Lovely people too, we extended our stay instead of going somewhere else !

Room Tip: pay a little more to get a nicer bungalow with your own bathroom instead of the basic one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audreyetjonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

After staying in Black Marlin (which I didn't like that much), I toke a chance and moved to this place. It was a very good decision!

1) great cottages.

2) great beach. You can lay in the sun, or in the shade of the lovely palm trees that also just look great. The resort is also on a corner, so you can basically choose from two small beachstrips

3) swimming. You can easily enter the water (sandy, not dead coral that you can cut your feet on). Once you start swimming / snorkeling, there is an area with great coral and fish!

4) friendly staff. they will climb in the palm trees for you and get you (for free of charge) a coconut to sip on and watch the sunset!

5) the food is ample and is served at your table (not a buffet that runs out like Black Marlin)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobob21nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

After staying at Kadidiri Paradires resort for a couple of days which wasnt a pleasent experience at all, we went to Fadilah.

Pro:
- some new bungalows (hightly recommended, not moldy yet, new moskitonets)
- extremely friendly staff
- excellent vibes; this place just feels wonderful

con:
- unfortunaly there is a swamp on this island, which means: loads of mosquitoes at night. You can escape them by sitting on the yetty in the evening with the wind blowing around you, but getting back to the bungalow is hard.

We therefore left after a few very nice days cause we couldnt stand the mosquitos any more.

Room Tip: get one of the new bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PashminaShawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed one night at Fadhila cottages on the way back from Malenge to Wakai. The stay in itself was pleasant enough - decent price, good food, reasonable snorkelling - but despite this we can't recommend the resort for the following reasons...

The manager of the resort agreed to take us by boat to Wakai to catch the twice-weekly ferry to Gorontalo for the sum of 200,000 Rupiah (rather a lot). However, on the way to Wakai, in high waves, the rudder of the boat we were in (wooden boat with outriggers) became detached and the 16 year-old captain panicked when he found he couldn't repair it. For several very scary minutes, as the captain tried to repair the rudder, we found ourselves heading out to open sea at full speed. We suggested the captain use the boat's paddle to steer with which he then proceeded to do. Unfortunately, in doing so, the boat's propeller suffered repeated knocks and in the end broke off, at which point our captain dropped the paddle in the sea! We were left with neither steering nor power, in a boat that should never have set out given the state of the sea. After repeated attempts I managed to repair the rudder and, with time, the waves pushed us towards the rocky shore. My wife took off her T-shirt and waved for help. Fortunately someone from Fadhila spotted us and they sent another boat to tow us back to the resort. After a botched rescue, in which the anchor and steps from our boat were also lost (the tow-rope used was way too short for the conditions), we made it back to Fadhila. Upon our arrival all the staff promptly disappeared - not so much as a drink was offered us.

It gets worse...

When we finally got to talk to the manager he refused to agree that by allowing us to put to sea in a vessel that was neither maintained properly nor fit for the conditions with a 16 year-old captain he had put our lives in danger; his only response was to say that things like this happen (!). When we pointed out that we would now have to wait four more days for the next ferry to Gorontalo he would not entertain the idea of letting us stay on at Fadhila for free. When we suggested that he might like to charter a boat to take us to Gorontalo he refused.

All the time we tried to play it cool and not raise our voices. When I raised the idea that perhaps the ministry of tourism might revoke his license were they to hear about what had happened the managed flipped. He started shouting at me, telling me that we were on his island and that he wanted us off it; he even threatened to drop us in the jungle somewhere. Hearing this didn't make the option of staying longer at Fadhila very attractive...

Fortunately for us, another, much more sea-worthy boat, arrived at Fadhila within the hour with a group of unsuspecting guests. The captain of this boat agreed to take us on to Kadidiri once the conditions died down. We hoped we might be able to find some other people on Kadidiri keen to charter a boat to Gorontalo/Marisa. To add insult to injury, the manager refused outright to refund us the 200,000 Rupiah we had paid for the transfer, arguing that he needed this money to pay the captain of the second boat to take us to Kadidiri.

We know that the European and Indonesian concepts of risk and responsibility are very different, but even so, we were very disappointed by the way in which the manager took no responsibility for what had happened. He refused to see that his actions (or lack thereof) had put our lives in real danger and he rejected the idea of any form of compensation for the missed ferry and subsequent disruption to our plans. The only person who had the face to offer us any kind of apology was the 16 year-old captain.

We ended up making it to Gorontalo 36 hours late - but only after having shelled out a lot of money for 2 nights stay on Kadidiri, a charter boat to Marisa and then road transport for the rest of the distance.

In finishing, I should add that this same manager is also the dive master at Fadhila - not somebody I could recommend entrusting your life to!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Togian Islands
7.6 mi away
Black Marlin Dive Resort
Black Marlin Dive Resort
#2 of 2 in Kadidiri Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kadidiri Paradise Dive Resort
Kadidiri Paradise Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Kadidiri Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.0 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#1 of 44 in Manado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fadhila Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fadhila Cottages

Property: Fadhila Cottages
Address: Pulau Pamgempa - Desa Katupat, Central Sulawesi 94691, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > Central Sulawesi > Togian Islands
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Togian Islands
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing