We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enchanting place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Poya Lisa Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Togian Islands
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poya Lisa Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Enchanting place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

I stayed 4 nights in one of the huts on the hill. The island is tiny and so pretty! I could watch the sunrise from my front porch and the sunset from the balcony. Everything is basic but clean. The cakes for breakfast are fresh, and fish is served with rice and delicious veggies. They even bring snacks to your door in the afternoon! The family is lovely. I highly recommend staying there if you are looking for a nice quiet getaway. Things I should mention, there are a few rats on the island, do not keep any food in the room and cover your soap! I did and never had a problem but other travelers mentioned it. the huts are very basic, with Indonesian bathrooms, and get rocked pretty hard during storms. There is no running water. The family refills your containers when they get low. If you expect luxuries, this place, actually the Togians might not be for you! But I absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isa238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    24
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
1
61
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingborg, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Amazing place, beautiful tiny island with a lovely family :) The most amazing housereef! Make sure to say hello to Memphis, the pet-batfics just near the jetty! Would recommend this place to everyone, you find yourself all over again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the hill are more windy and cool, but more expensive. We stayed in the "middleclass&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ida K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We spent 12 days at Poya Lisa, and it was difficult to leave.... partly because of the boat schedules.
By the way, there IS a way to get to Bomba every day, the people in one hotel in Ampana will lie to you and try to push you into chartering a boat. Find Edy at Marina in Ampana and he will get you on a boat plus 20 mins motorcycle ride if there is no direct boat to Bomba on the given day - 21k + 30k for the motor.
At Poya Lisa, nobody warned us about the rats in advance. DON'T LEAVE ANY FOOD in your room, not even in your bag, the damn things will chew through it. They are absolutely everywhere. You can only keep food on a string. Bring fruit from Ampana, as they don't serve any, and nothing but bananas is available in Bomba.
The house reef is a bit disappointing, but they are very good at organising snorkelling trips to other places. Don't miss the whole day trip to Taupan, it's the best reef. The beach where you have lunch also has mobile signal if you climb up a bit. Mobile signal is not available at Poya Lisa but you can take a moto taxi from Bomba to the top of a hill if you have important calls. But nobody will tell you if you don't really really ask. The snorkelling trips are good value if a couple of people share. The snorkelling gear available for rent is almost totally useless, leaking pipes, broken mismatched fins, better off bringing your own or you may miss out on the whole thing (it is free though). Snorkelling trips are also free if you stay more than 10 days - they get wiped out of your account.
Renting a boat on to Wakai was a bit of a nightmare, first we got told 300k , then it went up to 400k when it was time to go and we felt like we were being pushed into a corner. They do try to accommodate both charters and snorkelling trips on the same day if there are many people around so you don't lose days of snorkelling because the boat is always out somewhere taking people to other places.
The bungalows on the "hill" were boiling hot during the day, and rattling and shaking all night in the storms. Better go for one of the quieter bungalows on the beach side, they are more protected from the elements, even if the view is not quite the same.
We loved the food and the snacks, but this is definitely not your place if you hate fish. You'll end up with an omelette for every meal.
Recommended but be prepared!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FireDragonLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

We spent 6 days at Poyalisa resort/cottage and for the price you pay (it is all included), we were more than happy. The place is on a small island by itself, with no gods, chicken and cats. You are surrounded by water so you can go snorkelling at any time by yourself, swim around the small island.
There is plenty of food although you are eating only fish and rice. You can buy lobster from the local fishermen for almost nothing.
Honestly, it is a great place to stay. you have mid afternoon snacks. you can borrow snorkelling gear for free. as well you don't pay for snorkelling trip as long the boat trip doesn't exceed one hour.

Room Tip: The standard room just at the front of the main beach is quite nice, also the new bungalows (not sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank popov66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Accommodation is very simple with "mandy" and no shower. Food is just average on togeans, but maybe a bit better.
If you'll be lucky, and you get new cotteges on the hill it would be much nicer.

Poyalisa location and nature is just the best!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mprokopov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

Poya Lisa is one of the little glimpses of paradise that we got during our travel through Sulawesi. You'll be staying on an isolated little island just off of bomba, in nice cottages and with great food. Staff were very friendly and helpful,
Best of all are the snorkelling trips (some free, longer ones cost).
The reef starts right below the boardwalk (or 10 meters in from the beach), and sprawls with wildlife.
The only reason we eventually left was that we had used up all our cash.

You'll find a bit more of information, and lots more photos, in my trip report: http://bit.ly/s8uh89

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank racingsnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We had a fantastic stay at PoyaLisa! We chose bungalow number 9 which is brand new and has fantastic sunset views, however all of the bungalows are lovely. The food was great - and so much of it! The staff were charming and extremely helpful. Not only were we taken on snorkelling trips but also a trip to the village of bomba to see a cave home to hundreds of bats! There's a ferry from ampana 3 x a week. At the moment I think it is Sunday, Wednesday and Friday and they're from a dock just outside of the town. People also arrived by chartered boats from other islands such as kadidiri. Couldn't recommend this place enough, fantastic value for money!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HatPat89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Togian Islands
283.6 mi away
Lembeh Resort
Lembeh Resort
#1 of 9 in Bitung
5.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
17.8 mi away
Kadidiri Paradise Dive Resort
Kadidiri Paradise Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Kadidiri Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
17.7 mi away
Black Marlin Dive Resort
Black Marlin Dive Resort
#2 of 2 in Kadidiri Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
80.8 mi away
Pulocinta Ecoresort
Pulocinta Ecoresort
#2 of 9 in Gorontalo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
261.3 mi away
Bunaken Island Resort
Bunaken Island Resort
#10 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
262.1 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#4 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poya Lisa Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poya Lisa Cottages

Property: Poya Lisa Cottages
Address: Poyalisa Island | Bomba, Togean Islands, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > Central Sulawesi > Togian Islands
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Togian Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing