We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the coldest night in marocco”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boumalne Dades
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel du Vieux Chateau du Dades
Ranked #23 of 42 Boumalne Dades B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 November 2012

It is a really nice hotel, surrounded by beautiful rocks... Meals were good, it was quite clean, but one this was bad - it was too cold! We had to sit in our jackets in the room. However there were 3 blankets per person, so at night it wasn't that bad :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zabo_o_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

We were taken here by our driver (which seems to be a common thing judging by other people's reviews). We had to haggle the price down as they charged us per person rather than per room, so sharing a room really doesn't pay off! However, we managed to barter to pay 250 dirhams per person including dinner and breakfast, and we were very happy with this. The rooms we had were lovely with hot showers and towels etc. The terraces are beautiful and the views stunning. The dinner was so-so as was the breakfast, however they gave us tea and drinks throughout our stay (at an extra price of course).

We were all pretty happy with our stay here and a walk through the gorge in the morning was the highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We booked on a tour (4 nights/5 days) and received no advance notice of where we would be staying. Yes, I know - a rookie mistake! The location for this hotel is good (on the very edge of the gorge), but it is tired, cold, and the staff are the unfriendliest bunch of people I have ever come across in a hotel. My husband and I were travelling on a private tour so it was just the two of us. We felt that the place was set up to cater for large groups and that the tour operators that were "buddies" with the hotel management were the only ones that got good service. It was cold when we arrived, and the power to the heat pump went off twice. Luckily my husband is an electrician so knew to go to the circuit board and turn the power back on! When we arrive we were asked what time we wanted dinner and said 7pm. We went down to the dining room at 7pm and just sat and waited. Still nothing at 7.30pm and there was no-one around to ask. It was cold so we sat my the small fire in the dining room. Only for a groumpy tour operator (camel guide I overhead him called) to come in and slam a "reserved" sign down on the table we were sitting at and stomp away. 5 Minutes later the wait staff came and moved us to a atable away from the fire despite me being shivering and coughing from the cold. This is a deadful hotel. the beds are hard, we didn't want to chance using the shower as it didn't look clean, and the service terrible. Avoid.

Room Tip: If you're booking with a tour company (we used Morocco Explored) make sure they don't fob yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Haydee-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

If you are on a longer planned tour with a company and this place is booked for you as a part of it, you will live one night. But you can tell that this place rely on these tours so they have that business without doing a bigger effort.
The rooms are old, empty and dirty. There is no light, one towel and no soap in the bathroom.- Not even a small one for your hands.
But the worst is the food! Wow it is awful, no taste, old bread and the breakfast consist of bread from the day before (if not a week before), honey that taste like dirt and butter. And that is it.
The staff is also very unfriendly. We were told to come for dinner at 7 o'clock. At 7.15 no one had arrived. At this time a person working at the hotel came in, saw us waiting there, then turned the lights off in the other end of the restaurant and left again without a word. We waited 10 mins longer until my boyfriend went and found someone.
The only thing that helps this place is the location, but there is plenty of other hotels in the same valley, we would suggest those instead!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobbine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This place is on the edge in more senses than one. Absolutely outstanding location hanging on the edge of the gorge but completely unprepared for guests in cold weather - it was on the edge of being wholly unaceptable. The night we stayed (we are mid 50s) it was full with a tour of teenagers so felt on the edge of being a hostel not a hotel. There are two signs outside - one says "Auberge" the other says "Hotel" I guess it is on the edge! On arrival we went to a freezing cold room - although the heating was on I suspect someone had switched it on as we came through the door. After the power blew - twice - we were taken to another freezing cold room. The first room had one damp towel, the second had none but there was a line of damp towels strung along the inside/outside balcony corridor access to our room. We arrived at dinner at the prescribed time - no menu or choice, but the standard Tajine was well prepared. The dining room was freezing again; everyone in coats and outdoor clothes. There was a large fireplace with just one log smouldering in it. With all the young people huddled around it, what little heat it gave out had no chance of reaching the rest of the room. We asked for towels twice - at 9pm two damp towels appeared. By the morning the room was warm. If this place had been warm it would have just merited a "good" but cold it barely made average - saved by the stunning location.

Room Tip: If you must go in winter phone first to insist heating is on well in advance and take thermals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkMMontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I loved it here--admittedly, we came in winter and it was FREEZING, but the food was great, showers were hot, and a constant fire was blazing in the dining room. It is worth the additional cost for a heater if you want to have a more comfortable stay. The staff was incredibly friendly as well and open to conversation. They get a lot of large groups on tours, so not the best place for smaller couples to relax.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This is one of the most disappointing hotels I have ever stayed in. In the guide book it sounds quite pleasant, don't be fooled!! The rooms are freezing and you have to pay for a tiny heater, the rooms have no character and smell musty, the hotel was dirty, the tap didn't turn off, the loo filled up continuously, the bed was damp from the cold, there were no curtains, the towels were thin and the pillows were like sleeping on bricks. It needs a lot of money spent on it. The food was ok but they only had one waiter serving 50 people so the service was slow and rushed. We stayed here with a tour so didn't have a choice where we stayed but if travelling independently avoid; especially in the winter!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boumalne Dades hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Gazelle du Dades
Hotel La Gazelle du Dades
#4 of 6 in Boumalne Dades
125 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chez Pierre
Chez Pierre
#1 of 6 in Boumalne Dades
989 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel Xaluca Dades
Hotel Xaluca Dades
#2 of 6 in Boumalne Dades
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Babylon Dades
Hotel Babylon Dades
#2 of 42 in Boumalne Dades
536 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auberge des Peupliers
Auberge des Peupliers
#4 of 42 in Boumalne Dades
173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Auberge La Fibule Du Dades
Auberge La Fibule Du Dades
#2 of 17 in Boumalne Dades
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vieux Chateau du Dades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vieux Chateau du Dades

Address: Gorges du Dades | 28 km from Boumalne Dades, Boumalne Dades, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Boumalne Dades
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Boumalne Dades
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Vieux Chateau du Dades 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vieux Chateau Du Dades Morocco/Boumalne Dades

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing