We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and magical place”
Review of Dar Jnan Tiouira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Jnan Tiouira
Ranked #3 of 42 Boumalne Dades B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Our Agency booked 1 night in this Auberg. It is located in front to a wonderfull oasis, so you can take a beautiful walk trough the fields of some friendly farmers. You hear many animal noises and it is a special, relaxing athmosphere.
The Staff is also very helpfull und welcoming. On the roof, we had a nice talk with the owner, which made the place even more magical. From this rooftop you can enjoy a beautiful starnight with shooting stars. The Food is very different to everything we ate in Marroko. The Cooks are dedicated to serve you something delicious and special. We loved this place and were sad, that we could not stay longer.
Definitely recommended!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Superb hotel hidden in the Bourmalne Dades valley. The interior design was very authentic and its service is exceptional. I had a great stay at this hotel and I highly recommend it. My room was very charming and the dinner service was very good. The only drawback was no wifi, so I can't share my pictures with friends fast enough, then again, I wasn't expecting easy access in the mountain area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ting S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We (family of 2 adults and 3 children) stayed for 1 night on 18 April and with all there is to do in the area we should have stayed for at least 3.

We had a very spacious, clean bedroom which accommodated the whole family of two adults and three children. There are no plumbing issues. Just outside your bedroom door there is a lovely terrace with loungers. It's a lovely place to sip a mint tea whilst enjoying the views across the valley.

There is evidence of a few pieces of minor building work yet to be completed.

Dinner was served at 20.30 and I can say with all sincerity that I'd give the main course chicken dish a 10 out of 10 for taste and for presentation it was a superb 10/10.

Service and attention to detail is close to what you'd expect at a 5 star hotel but Dar Jnan Tiouira is more than that. Its small and personal without being over powering.

We chatted with the pleasant owner and he told us of his plans to appeal more to longer stays of 3 to 5 nights. He envisions appealing to travellers who wish to participate in cookery courses, photography courses and cultural tours using Dar Jnan Tiouira as their base.

If he keeps up the high standards he displayed on our short stay the world's his oyster and I wish him the luck he deserves.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

On a 10 day tour through Morocco, we were lucky enough to stay at this jem for 1 night. Our host Mostapha was warm and welcoming upon our arrival. When showing us to our room I had an unfortunate accident. Through my own in attention, I managed to hit my head and cause a cut about an inch long. Mostapha's genuine care and concern was heartwarming. He attented to the wound and then took my husband and myself on a tour through the grounds. His sense of pride in his place and his country was evident through the tour. A little later, he served a dinner that was bar none the best meal we had in Morocco. During your travels this is the type of person One hopes to meet, someone to make that human connection! His accommodations were lovely. The rooms were very clean and spacious, and shower space was great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherrycht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This unique modern kasbah/riad was one of our trip's highlights. The room was spacious and beautifully designed. The food was a real gourmet, both dinner and breakfast, that was prepared just for us (being the only guests at that day...). The staff, who are the also owners of the place, were very friendly, especially Mustapha who shared with us a lot of his knowledge.
We also liked the stork that was trying to nest on one of the towers...
Our main regret was that we couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: Nicer view from rooms facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr. Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

After a few hours of relaxed driving from Merzouga, the hotel was easy to find: after Boumalne de Dades take a right on the R704 into the gorge and after 22 kilometer you 'll find a clear sign of the Dar Jnan. You make a u-turn and descend on a pretty steep track for 100 meters and you can park in front of the Dar Jnan. It is beautifully built in kasbah style.

Check in went smooth with one minor point that during our two days stay we had to move from one room to another. The rooms were large and clean with nice big beds although both were a little bit too dark for our taste. We didn't mind that there was no television but we did miss WiFi.

Breakfast and dinner are included in the rate. Dinner was absolutely the best and most refined we had on our entire trip. Beautiful food, nice presentation and excellent taste. Service was also very good and personal. Breakfast in comparison was a lot simpler especially compared to the high standards set by dinner.

We did a four hour hike with a guide (brother of owner Mostapha) which was great: we got a good view of the beautiful mountain area and during the hike there were little surprises like dates and fresh figs. Take good shoes. It was well worth the Dirham 300.

In the afternoon we continued with our rental car through the gorge which was gave a good impression of the beauty of the area.

We can really recommend the Dar Jnan Tiouora, especially for its truly amazing dinner and great service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripleDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Very friendly and welcoming staff. The family business is run by a whole generation of 11 siblings.

We spent 4 nights here and there was time and room for both relaxing and hiking. Some of the brothers are available as guides and you can get the most delightful sandwiches for your day trips. Dinner was excellent as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorrit W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boumalne Dades hotels
2.5 mi away
Chez Pierre
Chez Pierre
#1 of 6 in Boumalne Dades
995 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel Xaluca Dades
Hotel Xaluca Dades
#2 of 6 in Boumalne Dades
952 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Gazelle du Dades
Hotel La Gazelle du Dades
#4 of 6 in Boumalne Dades
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Babylon Dades
Hotel Babylon Dades
#2 of 42 in Boumalne Dades
547 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dar Blues
Dar Blues
#1 of 17 in Boumalne Dades
46 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maison D'hotes Restaurant Chez L'Habitant Amazigh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Jnan Tiouira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Jnan Tiouira

Address: Gorges du Dades | 22 km de Boulmane Dades, Boumalne Dades, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > Boumalne Dades
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Boumalne Dades
Price Range: £112 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Jnan Tiouira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Jnan Tiouira Morocco/Boumalne Dades

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing