We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rosendal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Baroniet Rosendal Avlsgard & Fruehus
Ranked #2 of 2 Rosendal B&B and Inns
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Quirky”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

There is good quirky and bad quirky and this hotel, as the other reviews indicate, has both.

I am personally glad we stayed here for two nights even though it was youth hostel-like in that the bathroom was shared by everybody and the hours were rigid (breakfast from 9-10 only). The wifi password seemed to be a secret passed down from guest to guest - suggest the hotel write it down and put it up somewhere since the place is seldom staffed.

The physical location is absolutely stunning. The converted farm building the hotel rooms are in is adjacent to a huge granite face of the size and beauty of Half Dome in Yosemite. Right next to that is another mountain with two huge waterfalls that you can hike to. You are waking up in a national park, surrounded by flocks and fields.

Stay here if you want an authentic 19th century B and B experience. The room was basic, but the bed was great and the place was immaculate. If that does not interest you, then come for the day trip and visit the barony house, then go home.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BombayLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda L, Informasjonssjef at Baroniet Rosendal Avlsgard & Fruehus, responded to this review, 14 September 2016
Thank you for your review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are continuously trying to improve, and breakfast is now served from 8-10 during weekdays, 8-10.30 in the week-end. The wifi password is made public in the reception. The free wifi capacity is also thoroughly tested by a couple of teenager guests who thought it was fabulous! :-) If our Home Farm isn't what you are looking for, we can recommend the Rosendal Tourist hotel by the harbor or the Rosendal Fjordhotel by the Hardangerfjord.

Kind regards,
Linda Løvfall
Baroniet Rosendal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    11
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vossevangen, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Staying at the Barony in Rosendal is a special experience. It lies in beautiful surroundings between the Hardangerfjord and the Folgefonna glacier. The manor house from 1665 is worth a visit and has a very interesting history to tell. The rose garden is just beautiful. You can walk around for hours, go to the lovers` bench or enjoy homemade ecological food in the cafe. The old farm Avlsgård & Fruehus has been transformed to a B&B offering rooms, breakfast and dinner. The rooms are basic, with beds, sink, table and chairs. Toilet and showers are shared in the hall but modern and clean. The building is not very soundproof and you can hear other guests talking, laughing, walking up and down the staircase and it might be annoying late in the evening. Breakfast was not properly organised: no staff present, no food at some points, cold room (the one next to the main one with fireplace as this was full). A good concept but there is missing the little extra.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToyotaLandCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda L, Informasjonssjef at Baroniet Rosendal Avlsgard & Fruehus, responded to this review, 14 September 2016
Thank you for your review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit at the Manor House and the Gardens! Also the old farm Avlsgård & Fruehus offers a special atmosphere with its original buildings, but we wouldn't mind if the buildings from the 1850s were more soundproof... Luckily many guests are showing consideration for each other and avoid too much noise late in the evening. It sounds like we unfortunately didn't completely succeed in giving you a good experience of our homemade breakfast when you visited us. Please accept our sincere apologies for this.

Kind regards,
Linda Løvfall
Baroniet Rosendal Manor House & Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We went there with friends and expected a reasonable place, after all it is called a Baroniet. I think the sleeping quarters, 1/4 mile down a muddy track, should be called Baron-not-iet. The bedrooms are extremely basic, ours was not made up at 4 p.m., the staff had to walk through it to get to the store room / office. Not a good start!! To get to the shared bathrooms, we had to go up a stairway at an angle of about 50 degrees - not a good idea after a few drinks - or outside and go to an entrance on the other side of the building. We went for a tour around the Barioniet mansion house - it was impressive. The restaurant was also organised like a youth hostel - we had to wait 1/2 hour until the last people arrived - why? - I felt like giving them a slow hand-clap. Drink in Norway is expensive, here it was extortion. Oh yes, and the bed mattresses had nice springs to poke your ribs. Go there again - NO CHANCE!!

Room Tip: Don't go there!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeorgeSinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baroniet, Public Relations Manager at Baroniet Rosendal Avlsgard & Fruehus, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
This review came as a complete surprise to us. We have contacted this guest directly to to appologize for his bad experience and to ensure correct and detailed information to learn from. We're sorry that we didn't get the chance to help this guest right away, and that his experience was based on an expectation of a classical hotel.

We try to inform all our guests, both on the web and via email, that we have original buildings from 1850 with shared bathrooms in the hall. The buildings are however beautifully restored, and there are many clean and delicate bathrooms in the hall. All the rooms are unique and restored with the same romantical touch. If you are looking for a traditional hotel with TV-sets and en-suite bathrooms we would recommend Rosendal Fjordhotel instead. If you are looking for a unique experience in beautiful surroundings we are looking forward to welcoming you to Baroniet Rosendal Avlsgård & Fruehus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette IN
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This is not a review of the hotel at the Baroniet Rosendal, but a review of the main manor house from 1665 and its gardens. This is an easy day trip from Bergen that can be booked at either the Tourist Information in Bergen or on the Norway In a Nutshell web site.

The trip here is on an express boat from Bergen that takes you through the fjords with about 3 stops. This is not a tour boat so very little English is spoken, but safety information is presented in both Norwegian and English.The bathrooms on the boat were clean and there was food and drink available.

The Baroniet is in a very pretty setting of mountains and waterfalls. It is a 1 km (.6 mile) easy walk from the pier. The tour guide gave an interesting and informative bilingual tour (I was the only English speaker) of the manor house. There was a nice little cafe to enjoy a cup of coffee or tea before or after the tour and modern clean bathrooms in nearby building. All of the people who worked there were pleasant, helpful, and hard working.

Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank azogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda L, Informasjonssjef at Baroniet Rosendal Avlsgard & Fruehus, responded to this review, 14 September 2016
Thank you for your nice review! We are delighted to hear that you had a nice fjordcruise from Bergen.

Kind regards
Linda Løvfall
Baroniet Rosendal Manor House & Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

The Baroniet Rosendal offers accomodation a few hundred metres from the main attraction; the Baroniet building with its gardens. The rooms are both in the "Avlsgård" and in the "Fruehuset" just down the road. The Avlsgård is actually a farm, with sheep, where the main building has been made into quite charming guest rooms.

The rooms are basic and the bathroom are in the hall (so you'll share with some other guests). They are kept in an original and very good state, like the rest of the Baroniet Rosendal. The staff was very nice and helpful with wichever enquiry we had. It is a very special experience to wake up to the fresh air and quietness of Rosendal, and it is truly a place for relaxation or a good starting point for a visit to the rest of Baroniet and Rosendal.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda L, Informasjonssjef at Baroniet Rosendal Avlsgard & Fruehus, responded to this review, 14 September 2016
Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you had a nice stay with us in Rosendal.

Kind regards,
Linda Løvfall
Baroniet Rosendal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosendal
0.8 mi away
Rosendal Fjordhotel
Rosendal Fjordhotel
#1 of 2 in Rosendal
88 reviews
23.2 mi away
Solstrand Hotel & Bad
20.6 mi away
Trolltunga Guesthouse
Trolltunga Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Tyssedal
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Bjornefjorden Gjestetun
0.7 mi away
Rosendal Turisthotell
Rosendal Turisthotell
#1 of 2 in Rosendal
56 reviews
6.8 mi away
Donhaug Gjestegard
Donhaug Gjestegard
#1 of 2 in Uskedal
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baroniet Rosendal Avlsgard & Fruehus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baroniet Rosendal Avlsgard & Fruehus

Property: Baroniet Rosendal Avlsgard & Fruehus
Address: Baronivegen, Rosendal 5486, Norway (Formerly Baroniet Rosendal)
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Kvinnherad Municipality > Rosendal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rosendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic B&B in Rosendal ca. 300 Metres from the Manor and Garden of Barony Rosendal. Authentic Home Farm featuring original buildings from ca. 1850. Breakfast is served in the old kitchen next to the fireplace. Modern and delicate shared bathrooms in the corridor. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing