We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 18:00
Review Highlights
Nice for a stroll

Very nice garden, our visit was out-of season so the building was closed. During the summer thay... read more

Reviewed 8 November 2018
OlavRoeyset
,
Stavanger, Norway
Exiting tour in history

We went on a guided tour and it was all fine. Nice people and nice weather. It was summer and the... read more

Reviewed 3 August 2018
Torballerini
,
Haugesund, Norway
Read all 149 reviews
  
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
74
53
15
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
53
15
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour rose garden day trip manor house cake art exhibition small town nice weather great value for money nice garden boat ride beautiful place danish king castle cruise grounds roses
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2017

This is a charming little house with lots of history. The scenery of the mountains and park beside it is simply breathtaking. There is also a great restaurant nearby as well.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank keithlky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda L, Informasjonssjef at Baroniet Rosendal, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review! Good to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Rosendal! :-)

Kind regards,
Baroniet Rosendal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

A long way to see very little. A three hour ferry trip to see a small 'castle' and a garden, then a three hour trip back. Can see more on the train from Bergen to Oslo.

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank Q8480VVkevinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Don't want to be rude but this barony house is like any other manor houses in the UK. We've visited Rosendal in end May and there were no flowers in bloom in the garden so it was nothing to see really (I didn't even bother to take pictures of it). Instead we had a nice walk in the valley up on the road behind the Baroniet. If you live in the UK there are plenty of beautiful manor houses in the country like Ightham Mote or Markenfield Hall so if you plan to visit Rosendal just to visit this place I would skip it.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank FN49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda L, Informasjonssjef at Baroniet Rosendal, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Dear F N,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We´re happy to hear that you had a nice walk up the valley behind the Manor House. We do hope you got to see the Hatteberg waterfall just behind the garden on your trip.

In end May there are mainly rhododendrons and azaleas, in addition to the fruit trees in the Kitchen & Herb garden and further down into the victorian landscape park. You were probably a bit early to experience the big 18th century Wisteria Sinensis outside the Tea Room due to late blooming this year.

You are absolutely right that there are many amazing manor houses in the UK - the UK was an extremely rich country, ruling the world. Norway, however, was under Danish rule for 400 years, then under Swedish rule for almost another 100 years. This makes the history behind the fact that we actually have a Barony in Norway quite interesting. Combined with the experience of the historic Gardens and the garden café where our wonderful chefs are doing magic with our local produce, we hope you still had a nice time in Rosendal. We are sorry that the Manor House did not meet your expectations, and that you did´t get to experience the rose garden in bloom this time.

Kind regards,
Baroniet Rosendal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

I arrived on a Monday so the house was closed. The gardens are so lovely, even in early spring. Just stop and smell the flowers.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank TLV4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda L, Salgssjef at Baroniet Rosendal, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you for your review, we´re delighted to hear that we have provided you with a nice experience even if the Manor House and the garden café was closed. Hoping to welcome you back some time when we are open!

Kind regards,
Linda Løvfall
Baroniet Rosendal Manor House & Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We expected to be taken by the Baroniet Rosendal but were disappointed. Maybe we missed something. The garden was not at its best due to the timing of our visit however we did expect more.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda L, Salgssjef at Baroniet Rosendal, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry the visit somehow disappointed you. Maybe you missed the view to the waterfall above the garden? Or the lovely rhubarb cake made by our french chefs in the Garden Café? Or one of the many events in the Red Room or the Court Yard? Or maybe the guided tour of the Manor House? Normally Baroniet Rosendal Manor House & Gardens is a lot more than you can expect from a museum in rural Norway. Hope to welcome you back for a better experience some day :-)

Kind regards,
Linda Løvfall
Baroniet Rosendal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews