We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surroundings.”

The Bridgehouse Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bridgehouse Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Penkridge B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant surroundings.”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Went 4 sunday lunch we were greeted by 4 student looking girls miserable faces grunted at eventually shown to a table. the chef hacking the meat 4 us looked hungover.dried up meat cheap tasteless sides overpriced cheap wine.so called home made sherry trifle bowl of slop. Very poor quality avoid.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank potterpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    12
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
22
13
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penkridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

just tried the food and it was fab. its was my moms birthday we booked a table family of 11 we had a lovely meal and puddings also drinks. lovely to chat to family nice and quite (at the far end) even though we did not stay we all loved the family meal

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penkridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Second visit to the Bridgehouse, we live in the village so only an easy stroll.
Admitedly choice is slightly limited but all major favourites are available
Lovely meal and good service, prices above pub average but so is quality of food.
Definately on our rotation of eateries!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I visited the Bridgehouse Hotel at lunchtime at it was quiet but pleasant. The menu is limited but reasonably priced and the food was very good. The service was excellent with attentive and informative staff. There is a pleasant seating area away from the restaurant for after meal drinks.

The downside was that I felt the drinks with and after the meal were very expensive and my bill including two meals, two desserts, two wines, two pepsi, one lime/soda and one coffee came to £35 . . . expensive for a lunchtime. The Bridgehouse doubles as a hotel and there were workman constantly walking in and out of the restaurant and bar areas which I found took the edge off a pleasant afternoon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewA4401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

just had our first sunday carvery at the Bridgehouse Hotel, today 22nd sept, we were surprised to see how busy the restaurant was, as we had not made a booking, the manageress asked us to wait for 5 minutes while she sorted a table for us, we were 4 adults. within 5 minutes we were called through to our table, the food was excellent the service was great and the best was the desserts, the meal was really worth the money, already made our booking for next meal..... a real good find.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I went here with my mum, sister, and my 2 nephews, the staff were very rude, the tables and glasses were dirty, everybody in there were moaning about the babies making a bit of noise and starring at us the whole time. When we went to pay at the bar, the woman behinde the bar talked down to us asking us why we were there, we then told her we were waiting to pay and that we wanted to pay seperatly, she then ignored us and then told us rudely that she had to put all the sale through together. Not helpful at all, its meant to be a child friendly restuarant and it was nowhere near friendly. I would not recommend and would never go back there even if someone paid me. Worst place ive eaten out. We were paying customers like everyone else and shouldnt of been treated that way.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackie586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penkridge hotels

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We went to the Bridge house on a Thursday afternoon just for a meal 10 in total 4 adults 6 children and enjoyed a very good meal .Home made chips (not frozen ) and very reasonably
priced .The staff were polite and attentive .
A very clean and modern restaurant .
A good car park ,some outside tables.
And on the other side of the road to the hotel Penkridge market is held every Wednesday and Saturday plus a car boot sale on bank holidays

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank eric d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penkridge
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
2.2 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Oak Farm Hotel
Oak Farm Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatherton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
4.2 mi away
Roman Way Hotel
Roman Way Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hatherton
2.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cannock (Orbital) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bridgehouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridgehouse Hotel

Property: The Bridgehouse Hotel
Address: Stone Cross, Penkridge ST19 5AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Penkridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Penkridge
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bridgehouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bridgehouse Hotel Penkridge, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing