We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff Focussed on Customer Care!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penkridge
Littlehampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Staff Focussed on Customer Care!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Myself and my partner recently spent a two night break at the hotel as part of an all inclusive break via Hotelshop. The Hotel has a great group of staff from reception through to the housekeeping and restaurant. They realy made us feel welcome. I don't really understand some of the negative reviews for a very welcoming environment especially in the restaurant where we found the food execellent. Thank you once again for a great stay!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyW554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to place this review and hope that your next visit is as pleasurable and memorable as this one was.

Kind Regards

Adam Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    203
    154
    95
    74
See reviews for
121
249
24
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

A real disappointment. Room was tired and old-fashioned but adequate for our purposes. Real problem was the service in the bar and restaurant, plus quality of the food. We ordered some sandwiches for lunch. They took 50 minutes to arrive and then the cold sandwiches were served on hot plates. At breakfast the following day, the cutlery was not clean, the quality of the food was awful and the staff looked like they would rather be anywhere else but serving.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigf186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your report as it is always helpful to receive feedback. I will pass your observations to the rest of the team and I will look into the comments concerning the issues you experienced. Please contact me directly to personally restore your faith in the Mercure Stafford South Hotel.

Kind Regards

Adam Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penkridge hotels

Heacham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed at Mercure Hatherton House Hotel last weekend. A friendly welcome awaited us and couldn't really fault the room or the breakfast for what we paid, BUT...............the restaurant food for our evening meal was awful!!!!!. It started off well with lovely decor and smiley waitress but soon went down hill. Items on menu not individually priced, you pay a set price for one, two or three courses. We opted for the 3 courses priced at around £19 (paying extra £6 if you ordered steak and a few other items and extra for vegetables). Our starters - Fish cake with poached egg was almost cold, wet and sloppy, Mushrooms were tastless. The main course of sirloin steak was average but the braised beef was a tastless plate of what only can be described as 'slop'!. The potatoes had that 'reheated, cooked several times' taste and the beef was stringgy, tastless and inedible. luckily I'd paid extra for a side order of vegetables! Puddings of cheese and a chocolate brownie were very average. Would stay at the hotel again if passing but would opt to eat evening meal elswhere in future.

Room Tip: We paid £42 for a double room including breakfast - room on ground floor near reception which was fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWilsonheacham5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments as it is always helpful to receive feedback. I will pass your comments to the rest of the team and I will personally look into the wait for food comment. I will hopefully see you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Adam Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in April 2011 on an all inclusive package and overall the deal was good value.
The rooms do need a good clean, all carpets would benefit from being shampooed & the pool area needs some attention.
We found the breakfast & dinner to be fine. We had an issue with lunch on one occasion, the bread was really mouldy which put me off. As soon as I mentioned this to the staff, they prepared a new platter and were very apologetic.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roomfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We know that our all-inclusive packages are great value for money, but it is a pleasure to receive such constructive comments and I will personally look into the comments concerning the issues you experienced.


Kind Regards

Adam Thompson

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

we stayed at this hotel in April.2012. the staff were very friendly but the resturant staff appeared to be very inexperienced. Our room was shabby and substandard the bathroom was awful. There was mouldy selant around the bathpanel, the sink was stained but worst was to come! On the second night we were woken with the heating on full, I got the night porter who had to go and find a value to switch the radiator off> In the morning there was no cold water at all. The sink & bathtaps were hot the shower was hot even the toilet cystern was hot. We have never experienced a hotel like this it was not a good stay.

Room Tip: dont stay in room 116
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martcully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your report as it is always helpful to receive feedback. I will pass your observations to the rest of the team and I will look into the comments concerning the issues you experienced. Please contact me directly to personally restore your faith in the Mercure Stafford South Hotel.

Kind Regards

Adam Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penkridge
3.2 mi away
Oak Farm Hotel
Oak Farm Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatherton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
10.3 mi away
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel

Property: Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel
Address: Pinfold Lane, Penkridge ST19 5QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Penkridge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penkridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel is ideally located for both the leisure and business traveller, close to Junctions 12 and 13 of the M6 motorway. You can really relax at the Hotel, a wonderful setting surrounded by rural countryside in the peaceful market town of Penkridge. The hotel has a leisure centre and Free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford Quality Hotel
Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel Penkridge, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing