We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penkridge
Stafford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Clean, tidy and very friendly. Food is beautifully cooked and well presented and very nicely presented. I would highly recommend it as a place to stay.We didn't use the spa so can't comment. We had a ground floor twin bedded room which was lovely. The heating was adjustable and although it was below freezing outside we weren't cold. If you need anything just ask the staff and they will help if they can. We were booked in through a gift voucher and they couldn't have treated us any better if we'd paid for the room, obviously food and drinks are extra. Enjoy your stay, we did.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments I am delighted with them and will pass them on to the team.
I hope we can welcome you back in the future
Kind Regards

Jeff Brimble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    200
    150
    94
    70
See reviews for
116
243
24
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

I was running a training course here and although the staff were friendly enbough the venue is pretty hopeless. The room was big, but scruffy. The temperature was either roasting or freezing. You had to exit the building to get to the reception and it 20 mins to locate any marker pens. The food was the worst hotel buffet I have ever experienced and seemed to be cobbled together from leftovers-Avoid!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank will b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penkridge hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

A group of 4 stayed for the new year, this was our third visit in the last 12 months. New Year's Ev dinner was excellent. The staff were attentive, you could sense that they wanted you to have a good time. The entertainment was awful - and would need to be improved for this year. We had a great New Year's Day brunch. The majority of staff are young, polite and a credit to mecure, Stafford and the team. The hotel is dated but the rooms are all to a good standard. The food is excellent value for money, especially all inclusive deal.
The seems to be a couple of managers on site and all ave a good relationship with staff.
The surrounding countryside is lovely, lots of walks. There is lovely old fashioned pubs in the surrounding village and a great market very Saturday.
We have booked to go back this weekend 22nd February and have booked three rooms. Please put the wine on ice and chill the beers. Can't wait for Friday a great find and a little gem. A must visit. From the Byrne family Liverpool

Room Tip: All very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back and the wine is chilling.

Kind regards

Jeff Brimble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

I felt the hotel was dated. Warm water quite often came out of the cold water tap and the toilet would not flush properly easily.
Dinner on the first night was good value for money and the quality acceptable. The same could not be said of the second night when there was a different menu. My wife complained about her starter and the staff, very courteous at all times, dealt with this to our satisfaction. I felt the choice of wine limited in the restaurant - no French wines which is strange for a French chain. We noted they were available from the bar though.
There was a wedding on the Saturday and I think it was for this reason that breakfast on Sunday was in a windowless room - pretty bland and soulless. Again the Monday this was moved to where we had dinner which was far nicer and also giving us a better choice of cooked food.
The pool was disappointing and smaller than we expected although quiet. It was mainly for this reason that we booked.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thank you for your feedback, please accept my apologies for the toilet flush I will have maintenance review all cisterns, thank you also for your kind words about the staff, apologies for breakfast being in a conference room for one morning, we did have a lot of residents and needed every one to have a table at a time suitable to them rather than waiting for a table to be relayed I appreciate it is not as nice as our restaurant.

Kind regards


Jeff Brimble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

The staff and service were the highlight of our visit when we took a 3 night all inclusive break priced at £84 pn as part of a far flung family get together in mid Feb.
Rooms were usual reasonable chain standard, although verging towards dated now and the shower in room 120 seemed to have a mind of it's own (cold or scalding). Other TA reviews have mentioned potential noise from the rail line at the front; our party had front rooms and there's no problem at all. Our room was at the back and there was a function at the next door venue which was noisy till about 2am. The lounge area is cosy but pleasant and our group of 14 stress tested it to it's limits!
The restaurant menu was a little limited but quality and delivery was excellent. The house wine was far from paint stripper and quite acceptable.
For my last comment I return to the staff. The hotel was busy but the staff gave personal attention and were always cheerful and helpful. Apart from one misplaced assumption regarding the menu (which was quickly rectified) their service was faultless; a credit to the hotel and no doubt the management (and recruitment process).
We have had a similar break at the Mercure Chester and would definitely recommend both hotels and indeed the group. Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: Check out if there's a 'do' next door. If there is, go for a front room unless you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OcassionalTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind words regarding the team, we did have an exceptionally busy weekend and they all worked incredibly hard, my apologies for next door we did make the relevant authorities aware.

Many thanks once again

Jeff Brimble
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

Has a really good meal served in good time nice and hot. Food was well presented and very tasty. Staff were lovely and very attentive though not intrusive. It was quiet on the night we went - so lots of people are missing out!! Would definitely go again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Karenanne17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerStafford, Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments, I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards
Mark Friend
(Deputy General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penkridge
3.2 mi away
Oak Farm Hotel
Oak Farm Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatherton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
10.3 mi away
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel

Property: Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel
Address: Pinfold Lane, Penkridge ST19 5QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Penkridge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penkridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel is ideally located for both the leisure and business traveller, close to Junctions 12 and 13 of the M6 motorway. You can really relax at the Hotel, a wonderful setting surrounded by rural countryside in the peaceful market town of Penkridge. The hotel has a leisure centre and Free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford Quality Hotel
Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel Penkridge, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing