We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (735)
Filter reviews
735 results
Traveller rating
137
212
176
111
99
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
212
176
111
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsall inclusive dealnight breakboth morningsgreat weekendstayed here for two nightsfood was lovelywedding receptiontea coffeeyogurtalton towerssaunapubsstaffordshirevenue
Filter
Updating list...
506 - 511 of 735 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2013

my wife and i stayed at this hotel for four nights with a sunrise coach tour,we found the hotel very clean with lovely bedrooms, we had a very large bathroom with a very good shower with towels changed every day. The food was excellent with a good choice,The staff went out of their way to be very helpful and polite.Out of the whole coach we only heard one elderly couple complain about the food.every one else agreed we had a lovely stay.For what we paid for this stay i would say we got excellent value and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: we were in room 117, which was on the ground floor.although close to the car park we experienced no noise whatsoever.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ggriffin2945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you very much for your kind feedback it was a pleasure to meet you all, I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Jeff Brimble
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

the room say smoke and after we did get one fine of 50 pounds and they don't have any info about that in any place . They didn't know nothing about accor business card and we did spend 2 hours waiting in front desk to get the ok for the room with 5 children wanting. The hotel is next cemetery , the staff is kind but they dont have any ideia what they are doing and wifi is very very slow , brekfast is ok and dinner ok too

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank anaegidio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Good value and clean if you are happy with the basics, Gym is good and food very good for the price.

If you want a basic hotel for this price you cant go wrong. Its not flashy or modern but the staff are very good and the rooms and bathrooms are clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Bob590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerStafford, Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Thank-you very much for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Peter Miller
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I've stayed here several times over the last 6 months. Rooms are very comfortable, food is really tasty (although it would be better if the menu was changed more regularly) and staff are very friendly and accommodating. Handy for the motorway if you are on a journey north/south on the M6, as it's only about 5 minutes travelling. I am hoping the reception staff have sorted out my loyalty card because the next review may be compromised if this is not the case. lack of attention to such detail is the only snag so far.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prestongirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you for your feedback I am delighted you enjoy staying with us, we do make changes on our menu every 2 / 3 days and always offer daily specials if there is ever anything that you would like in particular please do ask and if possible we'll do it.
I shall ensure your points are addressed, see you again soon.

Kind regards

Jeff Brimble
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Due to original hotel closing Mecure was the alternative for a Naval Reunion. The serving staff and the entertainment were excellent. Reception was lackadaisical and recorded requests and messages on a scrap of paper and then failed to action it. A request for newspapers was lost not once but all weekend. Housekeeping left a lot to be desired, facilities, tea, coffee etc., had to be asked for. On the Saturday all the rooms in our area were untouched until 1600 and then only after being told to do them. Bedding was just thrown over the bed and wet towels were hung on the door, not replaced. A hotel of two halves, improve reception and housekeeping and it will be a very pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose rooms at the front.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback and kind words about the food and entertainment, we have now put in place an improved process for message taking at reception and will look into your housekeeping comment as this is highly unusual

Many thanks

Jeff Brimble
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews