We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs a little tlc”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penkridge
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“needs a little tlc”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

we stayed last weekend,the staff were very pleasant,food very good a good choice for breakfast,i must agree with the last review some of our room could have done with a bit of a clean but the bed linen was fresh and clean and very comfortable.we did visit the pool , again this does need some attention as the outside grounds do,100% for the staff 100% breakfast .room&bathroom 50% pool &outside 30%

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy-hammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your comments, we take customer feed-back very seriously and we will use your comments in our future staff training.
As we speak the grounds are being tidied up, so if you return I hope you will notice the difference
Emily Rogers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    209
    167
    100
    81
See reviews for
130
262
24
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed while on business. Dinner good but 4* prices for food and drink. Staff were friendly but stay ruined by very dirty room. Complained to management (after cleaning filthy phone) that light switches dirty, wall smeared with marks, kettle sticky and unclean and bathroom not cleaned properly. Was assured this would be rectified but nothing was done. Very superficial cleaning done next day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPE215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your comments.
I am pleased to see that you enjoyed the food and beverage.
I am very sorry that your room was not cleaned thoroughly after you took the time to tell the duty manager about the problems, I will certainly be following this up. The housekeeping is an area we have been working hard to improve, so I am very dissapointed with your comments and hope that you will return to the hotel in the future.
Emily Rogers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penkridge hotels

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Mew arrived on a two night all inclusive deal and we're pleasantly surprised at the hotel grounds,quite a big area. Only a small area to sit outside and this the smokers mainly used so bit disappointed a non smoking area wasn't available especially as weather very warm.
Great location to railway station which us literally a two minute walk. Village a five minute walk was pretty but on a busy main road. Meals and breakfast very good and tea and coffed included good as well. Room wasn't initially very nice with no view available but staff moved us and we were pleased with our next room.
Drinks good but wish spirits were included even if available for a small premium on the deal!
Overall we would come again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simondo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerStafford, Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your contribution to Tripadvisor
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in general and I will look into the possibility of making one of the outside benches non-smoking
Emily Rogers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Someone tried to get into our room early hours Sun/Mon morn,then talking to another couple a man entered there room at 1.30 am Mon morn when challenged ran off.
The spa and pool are in need of major upgrade there was a hosepipe in pool when we arrived
hallways and bathrooms need upgrading
staff very nice though

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penni56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.
As I have said in my previous letter directly to your e-mail, I am very sorry for the problems you experienced and overheard during your stay. We do have an excellent locking system in place and re-training has now been given. As I have said previously I hope that we will welcome you back to the hotel soon
Yours sincerely
Emily Rogers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed on an all inclusive break through Little Breaks,com
What a little gem in a lovely setting, the staff could not do enough for you, the food was divine much better than you would expect for a 3 star hotel. Will recommend to all and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VernonRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Mr Robinson

Thank you very much for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Emily Rogers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdare
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed recently in the Mercure for two nights with a buy a gift vouchers, staff were friendly and happy to help and the room was clean and comfortable.
Used the pool and steam which was nice to relax in.

Unfortunately on the second night there was a problem with no cold water working in a few rooms, in fairness the staff offered to change our room to a room where the water was working and as an apology gave me and the better half free vouchers for drinks at the bar, so no complaints here.

A good breakfast on both mornings.

Room Tip: Room 217 was good - comfortable beds and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerStafford, General Manager at Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. David has passed over the cold water problems to both myself and our Maintenance Manager and we will keep an eye on the problem. I am pleased to see that David did all he could to resolve the problem. I hope that we will welcome you back to the Mercure Safford South in the future

Emily Rogers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penkridge
2.5 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
885 reviews
11.4 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Stone
502 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Best Western Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
3.2 mi away
Oak Farm Hotel
Oak Farm Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatherton
202 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#6 of 11 in Stafford
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel

Property: Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel
Address: Pinfold Lane, Penkridge ST19 5QP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Penkridge
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penkridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel is ideally located for both the leisure and business traveller, close to Junctions 12 and 13 of the M6 motorway. You can really relax at the Hotel, a wonderful setting surrounded by rural countryside in the peaceful market town of Penkridge. The hotel has a leisure centre and Free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stafford Quality Hotel
Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel Penkridge, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing