We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We specificcally liked the situation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Borgo San Francesco
Ranked #4 of 14 Gioiosa Marea B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This little residence borgo consists of very comfortable appartments. All have a nice view on the surronding hills. The athosphere is like on a farm in the hills, with animals and beautiful garden and home grown herbs, fruits and vegetables. We also like the situation as you can drive to Gioiosa Marea in less the 10 minutes where you find supermarkets, beaches. The autostrada is also close, so you can go to Cefalu, Capo d'Orlando or even Taormina. We had dinner in the restaurant once, it was ok. The owners are very helpful and the borgo is very clean. Very good value for money.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Borgo San Francesco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

My husband and I wanted to get away for a few days to just relax and enjoy some family time together with our 11 month old son and Borgo San Francesco was great for this. We booked a one-bedroom apartment and following our request to have no stairs inside so our son could crawl around safely we were given a wheelchair friendly place. It was also closest to the reception, restaurant and car park which was great when you need to carry all the stuff you need with a baby! If need be we could also have left our son sleeping in his room and gone down to the restaurant with our baby monitor in hand as we checked the distance - but instead we opted for ordering the food and eating it in our room (which the owners where happy to accommodate).

The apartment was very nice and clean with a comfortable bed and a nice terrace and balcony (although not that much of a view in my opinion other than trees/mountains from our apartment...for some reason I was expecting to see the sea!). Unfortunately it was cold and raining when we went so we didn't get to enjoy them - neither the lovely pool. We ordered a cot for our son and found a travel cot - it was missing the foam over the locks which were just covered with pieces of cloth - I wasn't too happy about this but thankfully there were no accidents and our son slept very well in it.

There was a very small tv with sky satellite in the living room - which to watch you would need to sit on the dining chairs as there is no sofa. Ours didn't seem to have sound but we didn't hassle about it as we never watched it anyway.

Hot water was readily available but limited - we had to have short quick showers so as to make sure both of us could shower after each other.

The owner was very warm and welcoming and always ready to help us with anything we needed, including directions, booking of tours, etc. The place was very well kept all over and there were also 2 swings below the play area, table tennis, steam room and a pony you could go and pet. The pool was a good size and very well kept with a nice sunbathing area with deck chairs.

Food at the restaurant was limited but good and it opens every day for dinner and on Sunday for lunch (if I remember correctly!). Breakfast was simple with a serving a warm bread and croissants, some ham/salami and cheese, cereal, yoghurts, some fruit (kiwi or apples), jams, nutella, water, juices, coffee and nesquik. It was enough to keep us going for the day. (Highchair was also available for our son).

The kitchennette in the apartment was also adequate and on the first night we went to buy some pasta from a supermarket close by and cooked a quick meal since we were tired from our journey getting there and didn't feel like eating out. There is a small fridge but no freezer.

Overall it was a pleasant stay although I would recommend going at a time when it is warm enough to swim so you can enjoy both the pool as well as the beaches close by.

The views of the coast of Gioiosa Marea are amazing but there isn't that much to do in town. It's not a place I would recommend taking teenagers to for sure as they will probably get bored!

Room Tip: We stayed in Arancia - it's the closest to reception, car park and restaurant - so has the least...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oRi_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

It was just perfect, wish we would have stayed here longer. Gioiosa Marea is a hidden gem far away from mass tourism, the beautiful seaview from the train station felt like a red carpet. You get a free pick-up (and drop-off) up in the hills where it is situated. I think it's a family company, everyone is so warm and welcoming, especially the 'lady of the house'.

Our studio was incredibly cute and cosy and we had a private patio with stunning view. There's a swimming pool which is just like in the movies: in the middle of the mountains with a view on the Italian "campagna". We even had our own pet for a day, an adorable baby kitten.

Nothing could improve, it was all how we wanted it to be.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dutch_delight013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

This wonderful little B&B is tucked away on a one-lane road on the hillside in a steep valley a few miles from the coast. I stayed here in early October, 2012. My gps got me very close, but I had to stop and ask someone for directions. It was then that I saw the sign. It is in a nicely wooded and very quiet area with fine views. I was surprised to find that the owner is an American, and she was so incredibly helpful and friendly. She brought out the map and pointed out all of the points of interest in the region. The room was small but very well appointed (with a kitchenette) and comfortable, with a nice sitting area outside. I must say that I thoroughly enjoyed the one night I stayed here and would recommend it to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Lovely hideaway in the hills away from the noise and crowded tourist areas. Lovely apartment with kitchen, fridge etc. Very tranquil, very clean, lovely swimming pool. Internet wifi. We will definitely be back for at least a week. Meals in the restaurant were very good and again nice and quiet. Great place to unwind. Entrance road is a bit narrow.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank susan198708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

A lovely setting in the hills with excellent accommodation in beautifully appointed apartments. Swimming pool lovely and everything so clean and well maintained. Staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurant excellent. Lovely little private terrace outside each apartment to sit in the evenings. Near to Gioiosa Marea town by car, but far to walk and all uphill on the way back!! We would recommend this place to anyone looking for a peaceful and romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdmc_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We visited Borgo San Francesco with my brother's family (in all 4 adults, 5 kids). We rented two apartments which were modern, well-equipped (sky TV, useful during the Olympics!, and own terrace) and spotless. The pool was fantastic and the kids absolutely loved it. Tonino, one of the owners was always there if you needed something and all the staff were very polite and helpful. Tonino even drove us down to a supermarket he recommended. We didn't use the restaurant as we were self catering. The Residence was a 5 minute drive down the hill to Goiosa Marea, a small, pretty seaside town, which has a train line and station overlooking the beach. The town also has amazing views of the Aeolian Islands. All in all a lovely short break during our 2 week holiday in Sicily.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinob68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gioiosa Marea hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Capo Skino
Hotel Capo Skino
#4 of 9 in Gioiosa Marea
332 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Avalon Sikani
Hotel Avalon Sikani
#2 of 9 in Gioiosa Marea
443 reviews
2.9 mi away
Residence Calava Villa Rosa
Residence Calava Villa Rosa
#7 of 9 in Gioiosa Marea
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Capo Calava Village - TH Resorts
3.1 mi away
Villaggio Club Capo Alaua
Villaggio Club Capo Alaua
#6 of 9 in Gioiosa Marea
55 reviews
2.4 mi away
Agriturismo Santa Margherita
Agriturismo Santa Margherita
#1 of 15 in Gioiosa Marea
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo San Francesco

Address: Via Francesco Crispi 102, 98063, Gioiosa Marea, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Gioiosa Marea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Gioiosa Marea
Price Range: £34 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo San Francesco 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Borgo San Francesco is a newly restored charming residence with a cluster of little villas (once farm houses) and private patios and gardens that have an exclusive feel to them. There is also a pool conveniently situated where the sun always shines and a charming restaurant with floor to ceiling windows that greatly enhance the eating experience during the summer. Our restaurant is committed to making sure you experience the full plethora of Sicilian foods and wine, serving above all, country- style local dishes. We specialize in the essence of traditional, local cuisine using only the freshest products sometimes grown only a few km from the Borgo. While being immersed in this enveloping atmosphere, one is also in close proximity to the charming seaside town of Gioiosa Marea (only 4 km away, of mostly straight roads) and can conveniently visit other areas of Sicily while using our Borgo as a base for planning trips, as well as a calm, serene place to return to. There is also a common room with a fireplace, a reading area with many books and maps on the area and the island on whole and internet point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Borgo San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo San Francesco Sicily/Gioiosa Marea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing