We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Avalon Sikani
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Capo Skino(Gioiosa Marea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villaggio Baia Calava(Gioiosa Marea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Cani Cani(Gioiosa Marea)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Scogliera(Piraino)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
221
141
54
18
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
141
54
18
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool bargreat viewbeautiful hotelpastacatania airportevery nightthe hotel offerssea foodthe main roadlive musiccontinental breakfasthotel roombars restaurantssmall choicefresh vegetablesplenty of sunbedssicilian town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

It's a good location when you want to discover sicily by car, stay in one place and move on to the next one... sea view rooms, good service, friendly staff, great pool. You can use your own navigation or in the car to find this hotel or simply ask them for directions :) Cheers

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Pro's: We really enjoyed our week there. The hotel was very nice, free wifi in the reception and pool areas, wonderful dinners, views are outstanding, pool was the nicest I've ever had. If you are looking to be busy all day, this is not for you. Little animation, but that's exactly what we wanted. Just to relax and enjoy the sea and the sun. The town of Gioiosa Marea is a small walk away, especially the heat makes it harder. But if you are semi-fit, it's not a problem. There really isn't much to do there at all. You can go to the local beach, walk around the few little shops, but that's about it.
We had all inclusive and I highly suggest getting it. The drinks (if we had to pay for them) were quite expensive so we definitely saved money by getting AI.
Con's: Breakfast was the same exact food every single morning. Small variety, terrible coffee (bring your own!). I'm not really hungry in the mornings, so I could live with it - plus dinner most definitely made up for the breakfast.
There was a hotel beneath this one, which had a very lively animation program going on every single night. The music was very loud and we heard it every night from our balcony. If you went inside and shut the balcony door though it was silent. The elevators were pretty slow and inside the lamps make it very hot. It's almost faster to take the steps, but that wasn't really an issue.
I had paid extra to get a "sea-view" room, but once we got there we realized that all rooms have sea view. So don't pay the extra money. You'll have the great view anyways.
Overall we had an outstanding week at this hotel and were not ready to go home yet. I do highly suggest getting a rental car unless you really are just looking to lay at the beach and the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Pro's:
The hotel is not well sign posted at all and quite hard to find. The rooms are average but nice, however as the hotel is set back into a hill and on different levels, there are lifts to get to them and if you were on the top floor it would take three lifts to get there but it is not a problem really.

The infinity pool is beautiful and looks out on to the sea with a bar there. During our stay, on the Friday, Saturday and Sunday there was live music there in the evenings which was quite nice.

Con's:
Town is quite, not much to do at all and not many restaurants; 'Bar Canapé' and 'The Rendezvous' are the only worthwhile ones.

The hotel restaurant food is absolutely disgusting, most likely the worst meal I have ever had out! It is buffet style and everything is over cooked, dry, and a strange combination of food! However, there is a lovely place called 'Bar Canapé' only a short distance from the hotel which does very tasty food.

While we were there, there was three Swallows nests on our balcony and more on the other balcony's and around the hotel. This was not a problem as we could still use it as we wanted and we quite enjoyed watching them. However, on our second last day, we came back to the room to find that the three swallows nests had been removed, along with many others. We had counted at least 10 chicks on our balcony alone, so there was probably close to 100 chicks in total that had been taken away. We personally found this very upsetting as the parents of the nests were flying in and out of all the balcony's looking for there chicks. There was also imprints on the glass from where the birds had flown into it trying to save the nests from being taken. Where we are from, disturbing bird's nests is highly illegal and for good reason too; I don't even want to think what they did with them. So this put a dampener on the whole holiday.

Overall, an average hotel and would definitely not go back due to the last point.

Room Tip: Ask for ones in the first tower as these are the closest
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Firstly the town of Gioiosa Marea was hard to find as it is not sign posted off the motorway - you need to turn off at Brollo and then follow the signs on the sea road - then finding the road up to the hotel was just as difficult - we could see the hotel but not the road up to it! Just follow the signs to Conad supermarket and you will eventually see signposts to the hotel itself - once there you will find it is well worth the effort of getting there - the views are breathtaking, all the rooms face the sea - the hotel is furnished in a modern retro style, very clean and comfortable. The reception staff, especially Rosy, are all very helpful and welcoming as are all the hotel personnel. The pool is absolutely wonderful with views to die for. The only downside was that twice a day there is extremely loud music around the pool for Zumba and water aerobics. There were plenty of sunbeds around the pool and also on the beach, which has a regular shuttle bus service to and from the hotel, and a really good restaurant and bar. Now for the negatives - the lack of wifi in the hotel rooms was a bit of an inconvenience especially as there was no English TV, not even CNN - also there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room and no facilities for omelettes or cooked eggs at the breakfast buffet. The machine coffee was fine as far as we were concerned, but one of the machines broke down on the third day of our stay, which resulted in long queues which was rather irritating. Also pool/beach towels are not provided but can be hired for 3 Euros a day - these few gripes do make the hotel more of a 3 star rather than 4 star - but the plus points - the views, the pool, and modern comfortable accommodation - more than make up for any negatives.

Room Tip: All the rooms have wonderful sea views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RJB1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We had a lovely week at the Avalon Sikani. The views from all rooms are to die for as you gaze out to the Lipari Islands!
The room was comfortable with comfortable bed, air con, nice en suite, fridge, TV and balcony. If you buy wine from the hotel it is OK to keep it in your fridge otherwise oddly, food and drink is prohibited. A quirk we accepted with good grace and ended up with Rosado in Ice bucket delivered to our room.
The clientele was predominantly Italian and German with a spattering of other nationalities.
I was told the hotel was fully booked through to the end of October and fully booked during August with Italian customers. They are obviously pretty good judges because from what I have read in the English language reviews this year all of the perceived problems or shortcomings, whilst welcome before we went were either easily remedied or not a problem for us.
We found the food at breakfast and at dinner was good. Contrary to some reviews we found the buffet was generally good to very good with plenty of variety. Occasionally it could have been hotter but generally the choice of meat, fish, pasta, antipasto and vegetables were good and varied and typical of the Mediterranean (which we love anyway!). We dined 5 of 7 nights in the hotel and were happy to pay for the buffet at €25 pp which we thought was good value. The wine list was good value and varied.
Our particular favourite meal was the Sicilian night on the Friday when the buffet was extra special particularly with more sea food options.
Breakfast was the same offer each day but again there were so many choices so you could vary your meal each day. One point a reviewer or two did raise was the poor coffee in the Nescafe machines at breakfast. I agree; it was awful. Easily remedied though as we enjoyed proper coffee delivered to our table after a quick chat with the lovely Rosy in Reception!
The infinity pool and the pool bar were both great features and sun beds were never an issue whilst we were there. Late evening music by the pool with cappuccino and Limoncello rounded things off nicely. Free Wi-Fi in the reception and pool bar kept us in touch.
The hotel is in a rural and non touristic location. It is equi-distant between Palermo and Catania Airports if you are driving, 2 ¼ hours. When you are driving around looking for local restaurants or things to do you may well struggle because it is not geared up to what we were looking for, a welcoming restaurant with good local fare, hence we dined in so much.
You would be well advised to have a car to get you there in the first place, although we met some intrepid guests who arrived by train but once there, being high up the hill you are reliant on the hotel van to get you to/from their beach or the town.
We were recommended three restaurants in town but two were shut on weekend evenings and during the week, which left us with Trattoria Canape where we ate twice. The food and service was excellent. The pizza was huge, good and cheap and the seafood antipasti and fish plate was superb. This was the only obvious welcoming restaurant in town. It can be located on the main road through town with a great sea view near to the railway station. If you find another one put it on TA!
Overall, an excellent week in a lovely new terraced hotel (in its fifth season) distinguished by the super efficient Rosy and most of her staff. There are some quirky ways which we got used to but bearing in mind it caters for mainly Italian guests then we rolled with the punches. We made the effort with faltering Italian, spent lots at the restaurant and the bar which was reciprocated with free drinks and decent coffee.
We recommend this hotel but do your homework about how to get there and if you are happy to use all the hotels facilities and not stray too far then this should tick the boxes.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the sea at 150-200 metres above sea level. All have balconies.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank skdcitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews