We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect 👌🏼”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
L'Oudon, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Timeolga
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect 👌🏼”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have a nice time in this house! We like it so much! Catherine is very helpful and very good host! The house has a large area and a amazing view of the sunset ! This house can be advised!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Spasivo Olga! I hope to greet you and your family again when you travel to Northwestern France Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annross08...
2 reviews
“Rural relaxation in Gites de la Hoguette”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The dairy provided us with a welcoming relaxing home for our stay in Normandy. It was comfortable and well equipped and Catherine was a kind and helpful host. The weather was glorious and we enjoyed meals outside in the sunshine until late in the evening. The location is wonderful with long views across the countryside.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
Thank you Ann, I hope you and your family come again soon; cannot guarantee such hot dry weather though ... Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile665...
1 review
“Marvellous peace & quiet”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is the second time we have stopped with Catherine, the first time was in the smaller Gite in 2013. This time 8 of us stopped in the Laiterie (the larger of the two). With great views over the rolling hills and the cooling breeze it was a perfect setting. Our granddaughter loved the large, safe grassed area to run around in. Would we visit again? Already booked for 2017.
In 2013 we came to Normandy mainly for the D-Day history, this is a great base for days out or lazy days under the apple tree

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and setting
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Merci, really looking forward to your fortnight next August! Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctate2014
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Blissful setting, if you want to take time out of the hustle and bustle, this is a the place!”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

After an easy drive from Calais, we were greeted by our host Catherine, who showed us around, but more importantly, introduced us to her three lovely dogs, and also left us some carrots for the shetland ponies! Catherine is very happy to give you local knowledge of trips, or places to visit, and she was extremely thoughtful, bringing down some indoor games on a less than clement day, or looking things up for us to see what might be a good excursion for us to embark on.
The house itself is lovely - very well equipped in all ways, and beautifully decorated. We found it extremely comfortable. We made excursions to St Pierre, where we enjoyed the wonderful Monday market, and also the antique enclave opposite. We loved Falaise with it's wonderfully clever tour around the castle of William the conqueror, and it's poignant church of Holy Trinity, with bullet holes and blown out glass. Bayeux was a great day trip, and we also wandered over to Arromanche, which shortly before the D-Day anniversary, was especially moving. A trip to the National Stud at Le Pin, at Catherine's suggestion was excellent, go on a Thursday, and there is a show at 3pm - well worth the visit! If you don't want to go anywhere, you can just enjoy the wonderful vista, and the land around the Gites, which is glorious. The swing for the kids is great, and our children loved feeding the shetland ponies and playing with the dogs, who were all incredibly friendly and good with them (and us!). All in all, we have thoroughly enjoyed our first excursion to Normandy, and Gites de la Hoguette was the perfect base for us - with a great location, and a great host. We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Thank you for your kind words, I look forward to sharing happy times again with you at Gites de La Hoguette, Catherine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parisfile
Blythe, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This was the best "gite" type experience in a long life of travelling!”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Everything from the décor, the beds and linens, the view over the Normandy hills, the appointments in the house and kitchen, to the gardens, animals and sunsets was perfect. Best of all was our hostess, Catherine. She was so kind and accommodating with suggestions and information that we quickly felt like treasured friends and not just temporary clients. Her English is perfect, but she was very willing to converse with us in French so we could practice. (We ranged from fluent to beginner in capability). The property is charming and perfectly maintained with that French je ne sais quoi that makes art out of daily life.

Out-of-the-way so one needs a car, but easily found through excellent signage. . This is quiet, rural Normandy at its best with plenty of nearby villages and cities to explore. Do not hesitate to book this relaxing, very private, clean, beautiful apartment housed in the Dairy, a wonderful, historic, half-timbered building.

A wonderful week, and we can't wait to go back for a month!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything..
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacN66
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely lovely!”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week thanks to Catherine's beautifully and thoughtfully renovated old dairy, which manages to be charming yet modern with luxury finishes. The main shower was so luxurious our sons begged us to be able to have a wash!!

The views from the back of the property are beautiful and we enjoyed meals on the terrace looking out on complete peace. The property is surrounded by its own garden and beyond that, orchards and hills, with the hamlet of Le Billot on the hill behind. It was magical to see. If you want a complete rest and a chance to breathe again, this is the place to go.

Catherine is a mine of information and is always on hand to help- whether it's with where to have dinner that night (and she'll book the restaurant for you) or how best to ride one of her ponies or play 'throw the stick' with one of her lovely dogs!

Can't wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space and views
Liked least: Can't think!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent family Gite with friendly helpful owner”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Gite was extremely clean with all amenities for an extended family and pet to allow us to relax and enjoy our holiday. The contained large garden was big enough for an energetic Dalmatian and teenagers.
All in all we would have preferred to stay longer and would definitely book again if in this area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful surroundings & helpful owner with a wide knowledge and good tips about the area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing