We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place that matches the great wines from the region....”
Review of La Saura

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lusigny-sur-Ouche
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Saura
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A place that matches the great wines from the region....”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I stayed at La Saura with two friends (coming from Amsterdam), for a long weekend of wine tasting. La Saura was the perfect location for this occassion; spend a day looking for the best bottle, and open it up at the poolside in the nice and relaxing enclosed garden.

Perfect and very friendly service by both Jocelyn and her husband (who's also a wine lover), we even opened up some bottles together.

Rooms were very nice, quiet and spacious. Wrt location, the village itself is very small and tranquil, but it's is abt. 15 min's drive from Beaune, (a nice scenic route), and in Beaune you'll find all restaurants and bars you'll need.

W'll definitely come back with our wifes..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PierreCerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
67
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at La Saura for five nights in early June and it was one of the best B&Bs, if not the best, we stayed in during our four weeks across France. As others have said, the room was beautifully, as well as comfortably, furnished. The linens were exquisite, and the bath very modern and large with a wonderful shower. The grounds are nicely landscaped. Everything about La Saura is welcoming, especially the owners. I can't say enough about Jocelyn and Jean Marie. They are the best of hosts and made us feel right at home. Jocelyn is very knowledgeable about the area and guided us to several great restaurants in the area, as well as recommendations as to what towns and sites to visit. Her advice was "spot on." We thoroughly enjoyed our visit at La Saura and have recommended it to friends back home. We definitely plan to make a return visit. Don't miss this gem in Burgundy!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriceH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

* Service - excellent and attentive service.
* The room - a very good size, nicely appointed and decorated - with a beautiful Shower room & Toilet.
* Location & amenities - Swimming Pool is a good size & located in the large walled garden. Due to the weather during our stay we did not sample it - although fellow guests did and said that the temperature was just fine.
* We very much liked the owners, Jocelyne and Jean Marie's personal attentive style - a very warm and friendly manner. They have a note of recommended local restaurants and they would go out of their way to book these by phone on behalf of their clients should you wish it .


No hesitation in recommending and we hope to return in the future should our travels take us to Burgundy!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidj0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This small bed and breakfast hotel is superb, the proprietor is welcoming and friendly and the room is elegantly furnished. The bathroom is beautifully appointed and modern, and the rooms overlook the garden and a heated pool.

Our hostess gave us advice about local attractions with leaflets and a map so we can explore the local area, which is picturesque and beautiful. We were introduced to other guests at breakfast and this gave us the opportunity to chat. We found the local village charming and the locals friendly, we cannot recommend it highly enough, it is absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in Fourney, it was very quiet until we were awoken by the church bells for breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My husband and I just returned from 32 days around France. We loved La Saura! It is about 10 minutes outside Beaune and in a beautiful country setting. We loved getting away from the busy tourist atmosphere of Beaune, yet close enough to visit the restaurants and other sights. The rooms at La Saura are spacious and beautifully set up with fluffy towels and high quality bed linens. The shower was great. Jocelyne is warm and helpful; she met us with maps and welcoming champagne. She was happy to make dinner reservations; one being the best meal of our trip at the Abbaye de la Bussiere. Granted, it was expensive but worth the splurge. Our only surprise was that our bed and room was not freshened up in the morning; just fresh towels. But this was minor.
The pool was lovely, but the weather was cool so we did not get to sample the water. We will come back to do that and bike the Burgundy Canal path.
Thank you Jocelyne and Jean Marie for a memorable stay.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thisisusSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I've stayed at La Saura several times (4 or more) . Each time it gets better and better. Jocelyn goes out of her way to make you feel comfortable and at home. The Bedrooms are 5 star quality, comfortable, large and well appointed. The Bathrooms (especially the showers) are fantastic. Really I would expect to see such fixtures in a show-house or magazine. Jocelyn has been very helpful by making reservations for me at area restaurants, giving tips on sites to see, etc. She is available without being too ever-present. La Saura's location outside of Beaune is ideal. You can easily access Beaune but escape to a tranquil oasis very quickly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrewGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S'pore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Don't give La Saura a miss! We stayed when we were en route to the Alps for some skiing in Dec 2011. The rooms were very spacious, recently renovated, very clean, well-furnished and beautiful. We will remember the pretty timber beams as we lay on our king-sized beds and the large bathrooms which came with nice hot water to soothe the aches and cold of the wintry season. We were welcomed by Jocelyne who was everything you could wish for in a B&B hostess. She offered us wine and assisted us with everything from reservations for dinner (it was delicious and there was great service at the one she suggested for us as a simple dinner at a reasonable price - wished we had more time to have tried what she would have suggested as a gastronomic experience), route planning (as we pored over a map she had whipped out) and discussed things to do and places to see. She spoke fluent English and we spent evenings with her musing over travel experiences, history, politics, the arts, sports, and life in general (this, in my personal opinion, makes La Saura a SPECIAL stay). My daughter, who travelled with us, had the opportunity to experience what a true B&B experience should be. She also fell in love with Cara, a friendly and playful German Shepherd, who played catch with her! Great base from which to experience SLOW TRAVEL in the rich wine region of Burgundy.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lusigny-sur-Ouche
7.4 mi away
Chateau Sainte Sabine
Chateau Sainte Sabine
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Sabine
528 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Roches
Hotel Restaurant Les Roches
#1 of 1 in Saint-Romain
53 reviews
8.9 mi away
Abbaye de la Bussiere
Abbaye de la Bussiere
#1 of 1 in La Bussiere-sur-Ouche
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Ermitage de Corton
Ermitage de Corton
#1 of 1 in Chorey Les Beaune
311 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Adelie
Hotel Adelie
#2 of 4 in Montagny-les-Beaune
248 reviews
9.1 mi away
Chateau de Citeaux La Cueillette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Saura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Saura

Property: La Saura
Address: Route de beaune, 21360 Lusigny-sur-Ouche, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Lusigny-sur-Ouche
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lusigny-sur-Ouche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming B&B ( chambres d' hotes) next to Beaune, "LA SAURA is the perfect place for a relaxing weekend in the countryside or a wine tasting trip to discover Burgundy's top class wines. It is a beautiful 19th century property, where the old stables have been converted into elegant and comfortable bedrooms and whose peaceful grounds will provide relaxation and comfort... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing