We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fantastic”
Review of La Saura

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lusigny-sur-Ouche
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Saura
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My wife and I spent one night here en route home from Italy.
The room was beautiful with a very comfortable bed, a modern, large bathroom and was spotlessly clean. Wi fi was also included.
Jocelyne, the owner, could not have been more helpful and hospitable and even arranged transport to and from a working farm restaurant which she had recommended for dinner that evening.
Breakfast was lovely and it was a pleasure to also meet her husband Jean- Marie.
Highly recommended and we shall certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinsixsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
67
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This is a stunning spot with a magnificent stone main house, where you eat and bedrooms located separately in a beautiful converted stone barn. We booked a couple of rooms here (Vezelay and Citeaux) as a treat and loved it. Recently renovated, the rooms are beautifully appointed in imaginative and tasteful French style with luxurious and spacious bathrooms. This set up worked very well as a family option as they are next to each other and separate from the other rooms. Both have a great view of the village.

Jocelyne is an outstanding host, and prepares the most fabulous breakfast that you could wish for with huge croissants, local cheese and the like. She is also a font of knowledge on the local area and well worth talking to to plan your day.

There is an auberge restaurant near by although this was shut on a Wednesday. Beaune is only 15 mins away and is a beautiful town packed with cafes and wine "caves". Plentiful on street Parking is free after 1900 (as far as I could tell).

This is a great location for visiting the Chateaux of Burgundy, most of which open to the public in April.

Room Tip: Just email Jocelyne, she will offer the best advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlbUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at La Saura for three nights in mid October. The grounds were beautiful. The little town was great place to explore early or late in the day. The location just outside Beaune was ideal: central to Burgundy, close to restaurants, wine country and beautiful back roads. But the best was the beautiful and comfortable room ( we stayed in Cluny ), the peace and quiet and the owner, Jocelyne, who could NOT have been nicer or more helpful. She knows the area, having lived there on and off since childhood, and she took an interest in our well being. She rose quite early on the day we left so that we could have a breakfast before our long drive. We loved Burgundy and will go straight back to La Saura.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonLarry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Very good value for money B and B, 15 mins from Beaune. The hosts are charming and excellent company, speak English if you need it, and have spent a considerable sum on high quality rooms and fittings, and bathrooms. Beds especially comfortable, and wonderful showers. Traditional French breakfasts, with good choice of breads and conserves. Secure parking a bonus. Although property is on the road the rooms are quiet for light sleepers.

Room Tip: The rooms in the converted barn are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuffinDordogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Mills, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The property and the rooms are absolutely beautiful. We stayed in the Vezelay room, which is on the second floor, for three nights. The room is very large and beautifully furnished. Jocelyne has impeccable design taste and has done a wonderful job with all of the rooms at La Saura. The bathroom was also very large, clean, and had a great shower.

It is located about 15 minutes from Beaune and the area is very quiet and peaceful. You will need to drive to Beaune for dinner. It was a great location for exploring the area.

Breakfast was very good. Croissants, breads, jams, yogurt, coffee, and tea served in the dining area of the main house. We enjoyed the opportunity to talk to some of the other guests staying at the B&B.

Just be aware though that the check-in time doesn't start until 4:00 pm (16:00) and that is strictly enforced.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My husband and I checked into La Saura 10 days ago for a three night stay. Jocelyne is warm, welcoming, and interesting. She had great recommendations, from sights in Beaune to a nearby restaurant for dinner, which she booked for us. She even took the time to sit and visit and interpret several conversations with us and a very nice French-speaking guest. Jocelyne's husband, Jean-Marie, is also very friendly and welcoming, and recommended locations in Burgandy for tasting wine.

The rooms are decorated beautifully. We had a very comfortable bed and pillows, and the shower was fantastic, the best of five places we stayed on our trip. There is an enclosed garden room with a refrigerator, which they offer for relaxing and having picnic dinners. We did two picnics in the garden room. Breakfast was yummy with delicious bread, croissants, homemade jam, yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee and tea.

It was great, too, to have WiFi in our room, which consistently worked. And, Cara, the gorgeous dog who likes to watch TV, was well-behaved and charming. We had a great stay at La Saura!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This is a beautiful B&B with very comfortable spacious room. The room decor is top quality and the host and the hostess are very kind and gracious. Highly recommend this B&B. The location is great and it is only 10 mins to Beaune and other major sites.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ycheng8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lusigny-sur-Ouche
7.4 mi away
Chateau Sainte Sabine
Chateau Sainte Sabine
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Sabine
525 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Roches
Hotel Restaurant Les Roches
#1 of 1 in Saint-Romain
53 reviews
8.9 mi away
Abbaye de la Bussiere
Abbaye de la Bussiere
#1 of 1 in La Bussiere-sur-Ouche
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Ermitage de Corton
Ermitage de Corton
#1 of 1 in Chorey Les Beaune
310 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Adelie
Hotel Adelie
#1 of 4 in Montagny-les-Beaune
248 reviews
9.1 mi away
Chateau de Citeaux La Cueillette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Saura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Saura

Property: La Saura
Address: Route de beaune, 21360 Lusigny-sur-Ouche, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Lusigny-sur-Ouche
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lusigny-sur-Ouche
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming B&B ( chambres d' hotes) next to Beaune, "LA SAURA is the perfect place for a relaxing weekend in the countryside or a wine tasting trip to discover Burgundy's top class wines. It is a beautiful 19th century property, where the old stables have been converted into elegant and comfortable bedrooms and whose peaceful grounds will provide relaxation and comfort... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing