We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at La Saura”
Review of La Saura

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lusigny-sur-Ouche
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Saura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had the pleasure to return to La Saura and booked three nights stay, it is as beautiful as we remember it. Once the gates opened we were still amazed by this beautifully restored house and stables, We were shown to our room "Fontenay" which is just gorgeous, immaculately clean and beautifully decorated with such style! Simple perfection is really the only word that adequately describes this beautiful B&B in Burgundy. The property itself is beautiful in a serene village 15 minutes from Beaune, the rooms are very elegant and decorated in french style and the garden is a wondrful place to sit fo few hours reading a book or catching some sun around the pool.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lepinotfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for La Saura
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

A most friendly welcome and a gorgeous room, huge bed and fabulous wet-room. We were very comfortable in the Clunt suite in the converted stables.
Large garden with pool and breakfast at a large table with the other guests, makes this a sociable place to stay.
The only drwback was we came on a Sunday and there were no nearby restaurnats open for dinner, so had to go to Beaune, which was a 15 minute drive. The owners were extremely helpful in finding a palce for us.

Room Tip: Arrange dinner before you arrive,
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilana27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Sadly we could only stay one night en route home. We would have loved to stay longer. We can only add to what everyone else has said. Our room 'Fontenay' was gorgeous. Stunning attention to detail. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Jean-Marie recommended and booked a table in a local restaurant which again did not disappoint. The plentiful breakfast was just what we needed prior to the final long journey home. This couple of have got it just right.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JocelyneLEHALLE, Propriétaire at La Saura, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Many thanks to all of you for your nice comments about our B&B LA SAURA.

Be sure you will always be welcome when you come back and for those who want to come we look forward to meeting you.

Kind regards,

Jocelyne & Jean-Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My wife and I spent one night here en route home from Italy.
The room was beautiful with a very comfortable bed, a modern, large bathroom and was spotlessly clean. Wi fi was also included.
Jocelyne, the owner, could not have been more helpful and hospitable and even arranged transport to and from a working farm restaurant which she had recommended for dinner that evening.
Breakfast was lovely and it was a pleasure to also meet her husband Jean- Marie.
Highly recommended and we shall certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinsixsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This is a stunning spot with a magnificent stone main house, where you eat and bedrooms located separately in a beautiful converted stone barn. We booked a couple of rooms here (Vezelay and Citeaux) as a treat and loved it. Recently renovated, the rooms are beautifully appointed in imaginative and tasteful French style with luxurious and spacious bathrooms. This set up worked very well as a family option as they are next to each other and separate from the other rooms. Both have a great view of the village.

Jocelyne is an outstanding host, and prepares the most fabulous breakfast that you could wish for with huge croissants, local cheese and the like. She is also a font of knowledge on the local area and well worth talking to to plan your day.

There is an auberge restaurant near by although this was shut on a Wednesday. Beaune is only 15 mins away and is a beautiful town packed with cafes and wine "caves". Plentiful on street Parking is free after 1900 (as far as I could tell).

This is a great location for visiting the Chateaux of Burgundy, most of which open to the public in April.

Room Tip: Just email Jocelyne, she will offer the best advice.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlbUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at La Saura for three nights in mid October. The grounds were beautiful. The little town was great place to explore early or late in the day. The location just outside Beaune was ideal: central to Burgundy, close to restaurants, wine country and beautiful back roads. But the best was the beautiful and comfortable room ( we stayed in Cluny ), the peace and quiet and the owner, Jocelyne, who could NOT have been nicer or more helpful. She knows the area, having lived there on and off since childhood, and she took an interest in our well being. She rose quite early on the day we left so that we could have a breakfast before our long drive. We loved Burgundy and will go straight back to La Saura.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonLarry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Very good value for money B and B, 15 mins from Beaune. The hosts are charming and excellent company, speak English if you need it, and have spent a considerable sum on high quality rooms and fittings, and bathrooms. Beds especially comfortable, and wonderful showers. Traditional French breakfasts, with good choice of breads and conserves. Secure parking a bonus. Although property is on the road the rooms are quiet for light sleepers.

Room Tip: The rooms in the converted barn are the quietest
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuffinDordogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lusigny-sur-Ouche
8.9 mi away
Abbaye de la Bussiere
Abbaye de la Bussiere
#1 of 1 in La Bussiere-sur-Ouche
517 reviews
7.4 mi away
Chateau Sainte Sabine
Chateau Sainte Sabine
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Sabine
554 reviews
10.0 mi away
Novotel Beaune
Novotel Beaune
#11 of 62 in Beaune
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Hotel Chateau de la Berchere
Hotel Chateau de la Berchere
#2 of 10 in Nuits-Saint-Georges
80 reviews
10.8 mi away
Le Montrachet
Le Montrachet
#1 of 3 in Puligny-Montrachet
456 reviews
9.1 mi away
Chateau de Citeaux La Cueillette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Saura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Saura

Address: Route de beaune, 21360 Lusigny-sur-Ouche, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Lusigny-sur-Ouche
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lusigny-sur-Ouche
Price Range: £89 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming B&B ( chambres d' hotes) next to Beaune, "LA SAURA is the perfect place for a relaxing weekend in the countryside or a wine tasting trip to discover Burgundy's top class wines. It is a beautiful 19th century property, where the old stables have been converted into elegant and comfortable bedrooms and whose peaceful grounds will provide relaxation and comfort... ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing