We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Treat yourself = go and stay at the Lost Valley...”
other travellers have booked this property
the new pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the new pool
What a glorious setting. The Lost Valley of Ramila. Mill deck overlooking river
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
the new pool
What a glorious setting. The Lost Valley of Ramila.
Mill deck overlooking river
eco-friendly apartments with private terrace & great views
Apartment King size bed
apartment terrace
apartment interior
comfort and fresh coffee!
View to apartments from the new pool
the river beach
relax by the river
relax by the pool
a good book on the terrace
The Mill entrance.
enjoy a lovely dip
The Mill - bedroom
The Old Mill and Bread oven House
The Mill Kitchen
Inside the Mill
Mill main bedroom
Birdwatching - maybe the eagle?
The Mill Kitchen
Old Mill Chimney
Picnic area by the river
make your own pizza
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Santo Antonio Das Areias, Marvao, Portalegre District, Alentejo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
tillymint...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Treat yourself = go and stay at the Lost Valley - it’s a wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 1 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Lost Valley in the Mill.
What a fabulous time we have had. The perfect place to relax and regenerate amongst the tranquility and nature that exists there. It is our first visit to Portugal and we are so pleased that we chose this very special area which whilst being very remote, has so much to offer.
The care and attention to detail offered at the lost valley was first class! Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts.
My hope is to return again next year with family and friends so they can also experience the wonder that is the Lost Valley.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MvLe
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A paradise!”
Reviewed 3 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Staying at Lost Paradise, is absolutely staying in a small paradise! What a beautiful place and what a nice apartments, well equipped and comfortable. The water in the pool was cold but we did go for a swim with the beautiful weather we had in October. The whole estate is gorgeous, well kept and what a beautiful blooming cactuses. Some nice restaurants in the nearby village of Portagem, where you can also buy fresh bread.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2017
Thanks for staying with us Margot - it is always a pleasure when we hear that our guests fall in love with our lost valley paradise.
Your stay helps us keep this gorgeous place in great condition for others to enjoy. See you again, we hope - Ritsuko and Ron
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MisterKPa...
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enchanting”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Aren't you just longing for a very different tourist experience ? Something far away from stress, noise and congestion - back to nature but with lots of creature comforts ? I can absolutely recommend The Lost Valley of Ramila - have your need for peace and relaxation fulfilled in the very loveliest of natural surroundings combined with the quiet, unobtrusive, gentle care and attention of Ron and Ritsuko. And yet, if you wish, well, plentiful, active opportunities also abound - intriguing, small, fortified towns are close by, ancient churches in wonderful settings, physically challenging walks, the proximity to the Spanish border (and the Pilgrimage Trail in Nisa), Lost Valley birdlife, colourful , bountiful, farmers markets, and wine,cheese,chestnuts and pottery and numbers of fascinating exhibitions, concerts and festivals that will, if you need them, enhance your experience here. You may stay, as I did, in the old Mill and just prefer to relax (after weeks of intensive touring) a perfect red wine and good book at hand, feet up on the deck, listening to the friendly little river below and shaded by tall and beautiful trees - or maybe you might wander along rustic pathways to come across hidden grassy clearings amongst the trees where a hammock invites, or a swing bridge over a rocky pool which sends you scurrying back for your camera. There's also a charcoal barbecue all set up and ready to go with its dear little outdoor eating area - romantic red checked tablecoths on wooden tables and solar fairy lights twinkling overhead, and table tennis, a chess area and of course the gorgeous pool in its amazing setting - and so it goes on. Ron and Ritsuko have created (as we Kiwis would have it ) an absolute 'slice of heaven'. My description really does little justice to this property. Want something different, something very special ? You will love it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thank you for the lovely review. We're so happy that you enjoyed it here. It makes all our work to build it up well worth it - so nice to share this very special place with people who appreciate its splendours. Really hope to see you again. All good wishes, Ron & Ritsuko
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jet707054
1 review
“Tranquillity of authentic rural Portugal”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in August 2016

Our family of five had a lovely holiday at the mill house, enjoying the rustic charm, the lovely saltwater pool and terrace as well as breakfasts and barbecues outside, whist on the terrace overlooking the river and lunches/reading on the river beach. This part of Portugal was new to us and we loved how green it was, despite the heat, and unvisited including stunning Roman ruins and the hilltop village of Marvao. We ate well, including hare stew and pigs cheeks at local restaurants - also really enjoyed the river lido at the nearest town - great for people watching and for our teenagers to hang out! MOst of all though we enjoyed downtime at home, with lots of shady spots in the woods and by the rivers, watching dragonflies and birds. Thanks for a lovely and tranquil holiday, Ron and Matsuko.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flo P
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Unreal place”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We just had a fantastic time at the lost valley.

We stayed in the renovated mill and loved every minute in there. It's obvious every little detail has been carefully thought out, making this place very special. The river goes by the house and cools the place down. And for even more refreshing on a hot day, the swimming pool is a pure beauty and delight.

With Marvao just up the road, this is a must-do if you're spending days in the Alentejo, and want to enjoy quality time in a natural environment.

Well done, Ron and Ritsuko! Thanks for the welcoming, and thumbs up to Astrid for her help, kindness, and recommendations. We'll be back for sure!

Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nunoc284
Maia, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect place to rest from the city hustle.
Astrid and Nuno, our hosts, were exceptional, from sympathy to the preparation of our breakfast (divine).
I recommend to families with children/teenagers or for a small group of friends.
Location with fantastic landscape for photographic and observation of animals and fauna.
We love our stay and we will come back soon to visit this lost paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
345nunof
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“What a location!”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The Lost Valley of Ramila is at an absolutely amazing location! Their name really makes sense as you are immersed in a lush green environment within calm and quietness only punctuated by the singing and chirping of all kinds of beautiful birds. Perfect setting for resting with an array of activities if that is what you are looking for: the beautiful pool, the river beach, a series of walks available, proximity to the castle towns of Marvão and Castelo de Vide, a short drive away from Spain or local restaurants. The accommodation is very comfortable and very decor. We had an amazing time and strongly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing