We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Greyhound Coaching Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lutterworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My wife stayed here to have an issue during the night with a loud tv in an adjacent room (empty) turning on. When called reception and then went down, she found the place deserted with no one available / placed locked up/ no emergency numbers. I thought it was law to have someone on site for a licence building. Not a safe environment for a women to be staying on her own in.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank WF-Oxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
There are newer reviews for Greyhound Coaching Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

A family gathering, for Sunday lunch. Late January but you could see how attractive the courtyard would be during the warmer months.
The bar was cosy with a good selection of real ales. Sunday lunch is a carvery at The Greyhound ( a la carte at all other times). Sirloin of Beef, Loin of Pork, an Roast Turkey were on offer. The beef was perfectly cooked, moist, tender, and tasty - as was the pork. None of our group had turkey. The carvery chef was amiable and chatty. Good roasties and Yorkshire puddings and a tasty herby "stuffing" accompanied. Freshly cooked vegetables were brought to our table. A good choice of desserts followed. The cheesecake was particularly good, and the ice cream rated as excellent. Coffee or tea rounded the meal off. At £14 75 per head it's not the cheapest carvery around but that shows in the quality of the food. We declared it good value. NB: advance booking advisable

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kenjo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just returned from a Sunday Special at the Greyhound, Lutterworth. We were meeting some friends for a Sunday Lunch and then stay overnight. The lunch was excellent and as our friend has Coeliac Disease we were astounded at the choice of food available and the knowledge of the Chef. He was very professional and very helpful, even came over to the the table to check all was well. Hotel was very clean and comfortable, room was the same, and the staff very helpful. The only let down was the quality of the breakfast, not a Full English as we know it. The bacon seemed to have been standing and then warmed up and the sausage was the smallest we have ever seen. We told the receptionist on checking out and she was very apologetic. This did not spoil our stay but let the place down somewhat.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you want one and they will oblige.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

What can we say apart from Fantastic venue for our Wedding.
The place is full of charm, style and ambiance with staff that are simply brilliant.

The owner showed us around a few months before and took us to the lovely Town hall over the road and we were swept away by the place and on our wedding day it lived up to all that we had hoped.
Food amazing, rooms charming and wedding room (Christina Room) lovely with ample but cosy fit for 40 guests.
Add the fact that you have a lovely courtyard for plenty of stylish wedding pics it is the most perfect wedding location.
Prices were very good for the whole package and we had many guests tell us the inn was the perfect place to get wed and thought it would cost a lot more to hold our celebrations here than it did.
Lovely breakfast that hit the spot that wasn't too daunting to eat after a heavy night with staff on hand to make everyone feel welcome.
Great find by us and if you guys want a stylish wedding without hassle... choose here.
it took us under 3 months to book this and create with the help of all the staff who also liaised with Tim at the Town hall who have exclusive use with the Greyhound Inn.
Well done guys.

Room Tip: Room 1 doesn't have a 4 poster but has its own private landing that avoids any load and unwanted...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Despite our late arrival the staff welcomed us warmly and were happy to delay out meal. Three of us had the carvery and found the sirloin beef to be the best we have ever had in a pub. The starters and pudding were also delicious. Thank you. A lovely start to our Christmas celebrations!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank kathane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The greyhound is a venerable coaching inn in the centre of Lutterworth. It's quaint and cosy with friendly, welcoming staff. Food is simple but more than adequate and the bar offers a range of really interesting ales. The only reason I'm not giving it 4 stars is room size, which is tiny. We stayed in a double room with our 2 dogs and could barely move around for fear of stepping on them! Otherwise, a lovely place.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Let me start by being positive.The staff are very friendly and helpful.I`m afraid that it goes downhill now.
Firstly I had two different pints of beer. One was called The Dog`s Bollocks.Never was a beer so aptly named.This is probably not a Camra Pub. If so it had a bad day.The wine wasn`t a lot better.
Our room had an enormous Sledge ? Bed.Very large,very uncomfortable and leaving no room for much else.The huge chair(only one) covered the area where you were supposed to hang your clothes which was simply a rail with hangers on.One of the bedside? lights could only be turned off by kneeling on the bed and leaning over the back.Come back premier Inns all is forgiven.
Breakfast wasn`t bad but hardly world beating.Adequate.
I seem to be being a bit hard but two weeks ago I went to a genuine four star hotel in mid wales and had a delightful 6 course tasting menu with a glass of genuine champagne , a delightful large and very well furnished room together with a superb breakfast.This cost £99 for my wife and I.Our bill here was £97 for this room and breakfast together with two portion of Pate and a small bowl of probably frozen chips with a pint of dog`s bollocks beer and a large glass of very average merlot.Which establishment got it right and which one will we never return to? Guess.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harveyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutterworth
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ullesthorpe Court Hotel & Golf Club
3.6 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
961 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Three Swans Hotel
The Three Swans Hotel
#1 of 5 in Market Harborough
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
17.4 mi away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
651 reviews
8.6 mi away
Badgers Mount Hotel
Badgers Mount Hotel
#1 of 1 in Elmesthorpe
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greyhound Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyhound Coaching Inn

Address: Market Street, Lutterworth LE17 4BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Lutterworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lutterworth
Price Range: £66 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greyhound Coaching Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greyhound Coaching Inn and Hotel is a charming and traditional 18th Century coaching inn located in the south Leicestershire town of Lutterworth. A family-owned hotel, The Greyhound Hotel has been sympathetically restored by Robert Eggleston to provide an easy-going charm and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Greyhound Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greyhound Coaching Hotel Lutterworth
Greyhound Coaching Inn Lutterworth, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing