We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Greyhound Coaching Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lutterworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Plenty of character and period charm, we stayed for one night during August 2014. The hotel was busy and quite lively but retained a calm and relaxed feel. Book in advance to be sure of a table in the restaurant. The bar has local ales, try the Green Devil. Parking is available adjacent to the hotel, maximum cost was £3.20 but free after 18:00h and on Sundays.
I only had breakfast but this was fine, I would have liked the Sunday lunch but they were fully booked.
There is no lift and the stairs can be a bit noisy, there are newspapers in the small lounge. Sometimes it was hard to tell if anyone was in charge but overall I would confidently recommend and would love to return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
There are newer reviews for Greyhound Coaching Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is the third time we have been for a meal and we would highly recommend the restaurant for quality and value. A must try venue. The updated dining room is excellent. It is a half way meeting point for our family. The kings from nottingham and the dances from towcester.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter604605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed overnight in the Greyhound Coaching Inn, in late June this year. Before checking in, there is one thing that all travellers should know; there is no parking at this hotel. The directions we were provided with were good. It real is very easily accessed from the motorway and, when you’re close, there’s a brown sign indicating the last hundred yards or so. There’s a car park alright – which the hotel’s website accurately describes as a public car park – but it’s pay and display. Make sure you’ve got change!

The hotel itself creates an appealing first impression. The courtyard area has a decent seating area. It’s well planted, to make a pleasant leafy space amongst the outdoor stonework. As you enter, there’s a bar to your right and a spacious lounge area. Public areas were clean and well decorated.

Check in was straightforward enough and the staff were courteous and friendly. Our room was up several flights of stairs, above a first floor function room (mercifully unused during our stay) and featured a very impressive looking four-poster bed. The bed and the pillows were comfortable; good-quality linen makes a difference, too. The room was clean and reasonably well equipped. There was no mini-bar, but I rarely use them anyway and, in any event, there’s a proper one downstairs. You don’t always see a trouser press these days, either. Tea making facilities and TV were pretty standard. I’m afraid I couldn’t get the hotel wi-fi to work; the passwords I was given didn’t seem to work. For such a short stay, it wasn’t a big issue for me. Other guests might want to enquire a bit further at reception.

The en-suite bathroom was spacious, clean and well-maintained. It also featured a large bath, instead of just a shower cubicle.

The room was, however, rather stuffy. Secondary double-glazing was fitted in our room and it proved impossible to open any windows. Despite that, we slept well. This may have been due in part to our visit to the bar at the end of the evening, which we found to be cosy, welcoming and with some good beers on tap.

Breakfast was good and there were a variety of options on offer.

The Greyhound Coaching Inn is quaint and the interior has a slightly dated, slightly faded feel to it; but in this case, that’s not really a criticism. Part of its charm is a feeling of being just slightly behind the times. It does not have a polished, corporate feel to it, nor are the rooms uniform and homogeneous. It doesn’t feel like a place that has been artfully created by a committee of interior designers.

Instead, it has character. We enjoyed our stay and would come again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank quidproquo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

One night stay on business. What a delightful place , full of character and lovely atmosphere. Totally unexpected. Room was small and bathroom small but the rest of the place did make up for it and more. Great staff especially the girl in the bar who made our evening fun. Good cooked breakfast and choice. Lovely place

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Chairman1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My father (94) and I travelled to the Greyhound from Liverpool to meet his cousin (92) and my cousin who travelled from London.
We couldnt fault the Sunday roast---such good value---even the chef came out to see if the meals were up to scratch.
The staff were excellent and let us stay at our table to look at old photos as the light was better. There was no rush to get us to leave and 4 hours later we said our goodbyes.
A lovely Sunday was had by all.
Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here with a colleague last week. Always a very friendly welcome from the staff. Arron in the bar was exceptionally good making sure everyones needs were attended to.
Had room 10 this time. Bit smaller than the other rooms I have slept in. Unfortunately it was so hot had to have the windows open. Got noise from the people in the courtyard.

Dining room has been recently refurbished. Very nice job and breakfast served fast and well. Good value for money as breakfast and wifi included in the price. Will definitely uses it again when down at the office

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

i no it is a long time and i have been thinking of doing this for long time i will never go in this pub/hotel again my mum pass away on xmas eve we have booked a meal on xmas day it was £60 not the money but we did not get a refund even thoe my brother told the people that she had gone to heaven not good no more to be said

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank jbagg3876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lutterworth
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ullesthorpe Court Hotel & Golf Club
3.6 mi away
Kilworth House Hotel
Kilworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Kilworth
959 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Three Swans Hotel
The Three Swans Hotel
#1 of 5 in Market Harborough
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
17.4 mi away
Rothley Court
Rothley Court
#1 of 1 in Rothley
651 reviews
8.6 mi away
Badgers Mount Hotel
Badgers Mount Hotel
#1 of 1 in Elmesthorpe
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greyhound Coaching Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyhound Coaching Inn

Address: Market Street, Lutterworth LE17 4BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Lutterworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lutterworth
Price Range: £65 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greyhound Coaching Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greyhound Coaching Inn and Hotel is a charming and traditional 18th Century coaching inn located in the south Leicestershire town of Lutterworth. A family-owned hotel, The Greyhound Hotel has been sympathetically restored by Robert Eggleston to provide an easy-going charm and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Greyhound Coaching Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greyhound Coaching Hotel Lutterworth
Greyhound Coaching Inn Lutterworth, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing