We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful but expensive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mancotta Chang Bungalow

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dibrugarh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mancotta Chang Bungalow
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dibrugarh
new york
Level Contributor
110 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“wonderful but expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful stay, were very well looked after and the food was excellent. One day we went on the boat trip down (up?) the Bramaputra which we would highly recommend. But having travelled in India a lot we think everything is overpriced, the rooms, especially the food and the boat ride. We would certainly recommend a stay there but one must realize there are other places which offer just as good services and amenities at a lower price. Enjoy!

Room Tip: must have room on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank begley85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
19
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi,India
Level Contributor
173 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

This is the third time I ve stayed at this boutique Hotel . Fabulous. Every time I'm left wishing that I had planned a longer stay. Aesthetically tastefully done. Tea plantations as far as the eye can see . No sound of traffic . Very comfortable rooms, common areas and very good food. Breakfast from the verandah of the first floor on stilts is a lordly experience . A good place for recharging yourself especially before and after forays into Arunachal Pradesh

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeygatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I went to India on a business trip and took 2 nights in Assam to relax ,recharge energy and to visit tea plantations and tea factories considering I am Assam tea adicted since ever.
All arrangements made by Purvi Discovery the owners of Mancotta Chang Bungalow where perfect, the guide nice helpfull and gentle, vehicles, tours were magnific I visited 2 factories, had 2 tea tasting sessions, took pictures with women working in the fields. The Bungalow is wonderfully located I could rest and relax, food was excellent, and the staff absolutely warm and polite at all times.
Only small detail I would suggest to do something about is change the old pipes as water comes out very rusted and it is not pleasant to shower or wash teeth with that bad taste and smell.
Rooms are very clean and huge.Great wi fi internet connection also.
If you want to have a real tea experience contact Purvi Discovery they will fullfill your dreams and more.
Breakfast was served in teh terrace facing tea fields in that moment you know that God exists!! it cant be more perfect!

Room Tip: all rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank romyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purvi D, Manager at Mancotta Chang Bungalow, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Sir,

Apologies for the late revert but we do value your inputs. We do get the pipes cleaned regularly but the problem is with the ground water which has a very high iron content. After reading your feedback we are reviewing this problem more regularly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Mancotta Chang Bungalow, owned by Manjoy and Vineeta Jalan through their company Purvi Discovery. The rooms on the first floor are magnificent, spotlessly clean and very spacious. The impressive Sal wood flooring covers the common area of the lounge and veranda as well as the bedroom and changing room we stayed in. The Guest Book had many comments on the excellence of the food and indeed the next two days proved that to be absolutely true. The cuisine was refined and inventive. The staff comes from Assam, Arunachal and Nagaland and they are all warm, helpful and efficient. There is no doubt in my mind that Vineeta Jalan's touch in every aspect of Mancotta's hospitality takes it from being "very good" to an "outstanding" experience. My only petty criticism is that the fine old bathtub in our suite rocks like a boat when you take a shower.
Clearly the British tea planters lived well as compensation for their isolated life. Now life is less isolated but the comfort and style remains.
This is not just the best place to stay in Assam but it must rank amongst the best places to stay in India.

Room Tip: The master bedroom on the first floor is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raypillai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
124 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

Mancotta Chang Bungalow is a beautifully restored British Raj-era plantation manager's bungalow in the middle of tea gardens . It is ideal for people looking to escape from hectic and noisy urban life .
It is a small place with 4 very comfortable rooms ( the two on the first floor are huge as well ) and nice verandahs where you can put your feet up and rejuvenate your eyes looking at the tea gardens . The staff is very attentive and the food is wholesome and tasty .
Since the owners are tea planters , you will get a quick education on how tea is grown and manufactured . It also serves as a good staging point for Arunachal Pradesh , Nagaland and the rest of Upeer Assam . The owners also offer riding holidays .
Overall , a definite must unless you are looking for action of the city kind.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hedgefund007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Packwood, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

I spent two nights at the wonderful Mancotta Chang Bungalow, and it quickly became one of my all-time favorite places! The rooms (I stayed on the top floor) have been beautifully restored, while still retaining their historic character. The service and food were first rate, and a traveler can easily spend qualtiy time here sipping tea on the porch while looking out at the surrounding tea plantation. If you happen to be in the Dibrugarh area in eastern Assam, do yourself a favor and spend a night or two here!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigertomPackwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

We stayed here as a start to our holiday in Assam. Its a great property, a former tea managers property. It lies within a tea garden so there are places to go and walk. Accomoodation and food was good, a place to get away from the noise and dirt of India

  • Liked — Location, food and cleanlessness
  • Disliked — price, quite expensive
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bangalorebob4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dibrugarh
1.3 mi away
Dibrugarh Club House
Dibrugarh Club House
#6 of 17 in Dibrugarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tea County
Hotel Tea County
#1 of 17 in Dibrugarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wild Mahseer
Wild Mahseer
#1 of 1 in Balipara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rajawas
Hotel Rajawas
#3 of 17 in Dibrugarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Natraj
Hotel Natraj
#2 of 21 in Dibrugarh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mancotta Chang Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mancotta Chang Bungalow

Property: Mancotta Chang Bungalow
Address: Mancotta Road | Jalan Nagar, Dibrugarh 786001, India
Region: India > Assam > Dibrugarh
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Dibrugarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mancotta Chang Bungalow 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Mancotta Chang Bungalow Hotel Dibrugarh
Mancotta Chang Bungalow Dibrugarh, India - Assam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing