We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More like a couple of evenings staying with friends than B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talmine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cloisters Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Talmine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“More like a couple of evenings staying with friends than B & B”
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Cloisters is a beautiful location and the very thoughtful and comfortable home of Audrey and Bob Morrison. Even the first time we arrived soaking wet from a lengthy bike trip in the seasonal showers, we were made very welcome. We were warmly invited to join our hosts 'with some friends' for a glass or two of wine. Only to discover the other guests were 'the friends', we were delighted with rooms and personal effort both Bob and Audrey made to ensure our stay was very comfortable. We have returned several times with even years in between, and we are truly received and fussed over like real friends. An absolute delight to visit and the location is excellent. The food in the Craggan close by is first class and well worth the short walk even in the rain.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Growlie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
48
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Our hosts gave us a spotless, comfortable, calm room, a warm welcome and a terrific Scottish breakfast in their beautiful, individual house. We just love the church carpeting, with its 'stained glass' patterns, which must make breakfast in this retreat cosy even in winter. In June, there were orchids on the cliff, with views across to Rabbits Islands, and wide, windy skies we never see in the south. There are a couple of places for dinner locally and the location is handy for catching the ferry to Orkney. Tired after our long drive , we forgot our all-weather coats, but our hosts sent them on to meet us when we got home... Thanks! We liked everything about the Cloisters, including the other guests: this was World Cup season and yet we two Brits had cordial chats with two German bikers. So there... Friendly people go there...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellyvap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perthshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2010

This little gem of a B&B exceeds one's expectations in terms of location, charm, hospitality and value. Bob and Audrey are delightful, charming hosts; they genuinely enjoy their guests and it shows!

Breakfasts are excellent; generous helpings, home-made jams and marmalades (thankfully, portion control is not practiced here), along with a 'can't do enough' approach, cannot be faulted - and silver service to boot!

Their home contains an eclectic selection of artifacts from around the world, reminding you that you are indeed in a very special place here. Guest rooms are well-furnished, warm and comfortable, with extra bed linen in the wardrobe - and plenty of hot water. There is ample shampoo, body wash, wrapped soap, etc - and pump soap dispensers, for those of us who prefer it.

Cloisters is an exceptionally good base from which to explore the north coast; we spent three nights, which was right for this particular trip - sightseeing and photography.

We wholeheartedly recommend Cloisters - we shall certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyBoopPerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
842 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 678 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We undertook a driving holiday, mainly of Scotland, from Heathrow airport, where we landed and hired a car, up as far north as the Orkney Islands and back again. We stayed primarily at bed & breakfasts found over the internet, checked out via Tripadvisor where possible.

We stayed in this area after getting off the ferry from the Orkney Islands at Gills Bay at about 6.30pm. Being summer, it was still light until late, so we could drive the few hours to the Kyle of Tongue without any concerns, despite the lateness of the hour (arriving about 9.00pm).

This was an interesting choice of B & Bs. It’s a converted church. Although we were staying in a new building, it had still been constructed in a matching ecclesiastical style (both inside and out – and rather tasteful at that). The room, though a twin rather than a double, was relatively spacious, as was the bathroom (shower/bath), which offered disabled facilities. There was a high mounted TV, tea & coffee making facilities, a dressing table and hanging space. Parking is on-site.

The place has a view to die for. In fact, the whole area of the Kyle of Tongue was very dramatic, and with hindsight, we wish we’d have stayed longer to explore it. But then, this provides a reason to return.

Breakfast was good (silver service, no less!), and I had the best kippers ever! Our hosts were lovely.

We’d be quite happy to return to this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seagullrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

The adaptation of a disused church for a bed and breakfast on cliffs overlooking the bay of Tongue is a great success. The couple who hosted us are charming and most welcoming. Our experience at Cloisters completed the repair of our most negative impression of Scottish hospitality imprinted two nights previously at the dreadful Ashaig B&B on Skye. The contrast could not have been greater. What a pleasant visit to Cloisters and Skinnet.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dotyacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Cloisters is located in a picturesque spot overlooking the Kyle of Tongue and the Rabbit Islands. The rooms are of a good standard but are all twin rooms. The welcome we received was not particularly warm and didn't make us feel very welcome to begin with. Breakfast was served in the main house which was very good and the service definately picked up with the owners showing more hospitality. It was certainly a shame this wasn't shown during check in.
We ate dinner at the nearby Pub/Restaurant called the Craggon Inn recommended but were very dissapointed but there are few other local options.
Overall I would stay again and recommend to others as the location makes up for everything else.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azza11Nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2007

This is a great area to stay for people out on hillwalks and those who want real highland scenery. We were not able to stop for a good walk, but we are making plans to return. The Cloisters' rooms are warm and clean and appropriate for folks who have a hard time getting around. I have an issue when the mattresses are covered with plastic, but that's me. The surrounding sights of the ocean and bens are lovely. Be sure to walk down the road to the bar/restaurant. The food was excellent and the regulars willing to warm up and chat.

  • Liked — Location, good bathrooms, pub down the road
  • Disliked — Plastic on the matresses
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talmine
3.1 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
12.0 mi away
Mackay's Rooms
Mackay's Rooms
#1 of 11 in Durness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
15.2 mi away
Strathy Inn
Strathy Inn
#2 of 2 in Strathy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloisters Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloisters Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cloisters Bed & Breakfast
Address: Church Holme, Talmine IV27 4YP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Talmine
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Talmine
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cloisters Bed & Breakfast Talmine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing