We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel well worth a visit”
Review of Bettyhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bettyhill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bettyhill
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel well worth a visit”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just spend three days touring Scotland on our motor bikes and stay here as an over night stop... The owner Carl made us very welcome and showed us to our room .... What a stunning view! The room was huge very clean and well presented and one of the best nights sleep I've had in a long time.
The dining room had the same view as it was directly under our room again very clean with the same stunning view food that even was fantastic and hats off to the chef for a well presented evening meal (keep the black pudding fritters mmm) breakfast in the morning was a Scottish breakfast and again it was presented as if it was an evening meal and freshly cooked and very hot unlike some hotels you go too.
I for one will stay here again if I get the chance to get their on our bikes again so well done to Carl and his staff I rate this hotel highly and well worth a visit 10 out of 10

Thanks again !

Room Tip: No fitness centre so can't delete the rating Fist come gets the best rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    77
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
39
142
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Amazing views from room just stunning. Stayed with friend and was lovely .. Hotel being renovated and they are making a cracking job ... Bar area nice but music was extremely loud and hard to have decent conversation but lovely welcoming pub

Room Tip: Ask for beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMCDBWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We went back to the hotel after 15 years! It's really great to see the hotel looking so fab! The manager was very friendly and helpful. The views are spectacular and one of the finest walks in the north of Scotland is just on the doorstep. We had a fantastic day!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ccr100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Rude and arrogant. I asked for a change of room and offered to pay for it and the management, although not fully booked refused me. I was above the bar and it was terribly loud.
The manager is very young, for me too young to be in charge of a hotel. He obviously thinks only of money and not for the comfort of his visitors, or of the reputation of his hotel.
I will stay elsewhere on my next visits. The borgie lodge is good I hear. I hope so.
I really wish this hotel was owned by others as the location is great.

Room Tip: Not above the bar!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank menno s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Carl and family have done an amazing job with the renovations of this hotel. It is wonderful to see new life in the old girl. My mother and I stayed here whilst visiting family in Bettyhill. Our second visit from Australia in twelve months and we were welcomed back with open arms, smiles and excellent hospitality. The rooms are fantastic. Ask for one with a lovely sea view and your morning views will be out of this world. Dinner In the restaurant was good hearty local fare, followed by a traditional Scottish cook up for breakfast. If you are keen for a night out, go to the bar and mix with the locals, you will be very welcome.
Hard to leave this hotel as it feels just like home.

Room Tip: Room 12 is great. Most rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorrenaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Bettyhill for one night on a business trip with a colleague.

It takes a good place to get over 4 from me normally!

All in all an excellent hotel with everything needed for a reasonable price. There are some updates being done currently as its the off season, but when complete, I think could easily justify charging c10-15% higher.

Rooms were clean and tidy, beds comfy, water was hot, heating was hot too! Only thing I would like, personal choice is curtains rather than a blind and a mirror directly over sink, even if a small one on a stand.

There is free wifi, although doesn't stretch to everywhere in the hotel. A great little bar area with TV, pool and darts which serves food, plus an additional restaurant and lounge (with TV) away from bar.

The food is good and fairly priced as is the hotel overall and the owners are really friendly and welcoming.

The best thing though is the location, and the views. The view from the breakfast room, lounge and my colleagues room (3) is awesome.

We were looking for a hotel for our staff in the area. If there is vacancies, I think we've found it!

Price 5 out of 5
Rooms 4 out of 5
Location 5 out of 5
Bar/food 4 out of 5
Cleanliness 4 out of 5

Hope to see you soon.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Bexy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Have stayed here several times over past few months and the welcome is always very warm and friendly. The evening meals are lovely and the full breakfast is so filling that I wasn't fit for lunch. The room I was in is nicely decorated and very comfortable.
The owners/staff are all very friendly and helpful.
The seaward views are simply stunning...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SINKY1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bettyhill
7.7 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
328 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
347 reviews
11.2 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Forss House Hotel
Forss House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Thurso
293 reviews
0.7 mi away
Farr Bay Inn
Farr Bay Inn
#2 of 3 in Bettyhill
66 reviews
8.1 mi away
Strathy Inn
Strathy Inn
#1 of 2 in Strathy
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bettyhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bettyhill Hotel

Property: Bettyhill Hotel
Address: Bettyhill | Nr Thurso, Bettyhill KW14 7SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Bettyhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bettyhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bettyhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bettyhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bettyhill Hotel Ltd
Ltd Hotel Bettyhill
Bettyhill Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing