We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bali off beaten tracks in an exceptionnal guest house”
Review of Balam Bali Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Balam Bali Villa
Ranked #1 of 7 Mengwi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My stay in Balam Bali Villa was like in a dream and unforgettable. I felt at home and being like a princess by the staff who was very attentive, smily and kind.
This is a wonderful place to stay nearby UBUD, in the middle of authentic rice fields and environement. A guest house offering very classy and comfortable rooms, a nice swimming pool surrounded by a nice & flowery garden. The french touch is everywhere and the most amazing that they offer very good french cuisine with fresh local products cooked by a Balinese cook and trained by a French Chef, unforgettable "crème brulé" ...
The package offered is a nice and complete product which enables me to visit Bali Off beaten tracks known only by the "connaisseurs" and "amoureux de Bali".
Words are not enough to say how much i enjoyed and loved my stay overthere and is eager to go back to visit other off beaten tracks.
Thanks a lot for this wonderful stay with you overthere !!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and superbs
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (348)
There are newer reviews for Balam Bali Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

What can I say about Balam Bali Villa? It was my choice to get away from the throngs and to experience the idyllic life on the island, and it was the right choice. From the beautiful setting, to the enjoyable excursions, and the warm and wonderful staff, I really did not feel like leaving at the end of my vacation and for good reason. This is the place to gain some tranquility and wander around in the rural culture of Bali. If it is shopping or a party you are looking for, then this is not the place for you as it is not close to the beaches and bars in the south. It is somewhat closer to Ubud, but still more for a daytrip as it takes a little time to get there by car. However, being away from it all has its benefits. If you are lucky enough, you get to experience local customs and celebrations firsthand (I was fortunate enough to witness a "barong" ceremony in nearby Cengkok village), something that you would otherwise never get a chance to do in the regular tourist haunts. Take the time to get to know the staff as they are very kind and wonderful people. Thank you, everyone at Balam Bali. I will miss being there and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalamBali, Propriétaire at Balam Bali Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Oh Chris, we miss you as well !!! whay you are gone ??? I can create a good position for you "Carming Guest". What do you think, fits you perfectly.

all the staff was sad when you left. should you come back, write me, so that we can advise your the period to come, like, I.e. the Balinese new years, with ceremonies all around the island.

Be happy there in Bengladesh !

kisses from everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Location: We were very grateful to have happened upon this villa for the final leg of our trip. Having spent a week in Ubud previously, the distance of Balam Bali from town was a plus. While staying in Ubud, it was more common to be within earshot of construction than not. This place, maybe 20 minutes from Ubud, is located in a tranquil area surrounded by ricefields, soothing and peaceful. We finally got what we were looking for here.

Staff: We spent nearly an hour speaking with Mayun--who I believe is a manger--he gave us a lot of the background underlying the customs and ceremonies we'd been seeing throughout our trip. One of the owners is a museum curator and is wildly passionate and knowledgable about Balinese arts, ranging from antique furniture (which you'll see throughout the villa) to local music and dance performances (which they can arrange for you to witness & which you should definitely not miss).

Services: Food quality is excellent but limited and is a bit more expensive than what you'd get in Ubud. This will make perfect sense to any person who has worked in a restaurant, as you have to sacrifice variety and quantity to ensure freshness and quality. The waitstaff are wonderful. There are drivers available, I found their rates to be a bit high, but again, it's good to know its there if you need it, which we did. The owners have maintained a lovely relationship with a local village for many (10?) years and have been bringing their guests to see/hear the villagers' performances, so it's a real treat to get in on.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaimerothbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalamBali, Propriétaire at Balam Bali Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. I am always so happy to see this, not for myself, but for the staff who gives all they can to make our guests happy. Our staff does not like the evolution of Bali, in the South, in Ubud. Reading your comments will make them smiling, they will be proud to be what they are : the real Balinese, with the see in their back, and the eyes direction the volcanos where the Gods are dwelling. Mayun is the son of a priest, therefore he know well the meaning of the ceremonies.

About the prices: our isolation has a certain cost (half a day to get fresh fish, i.e.). In addition to that, we are, as you noted, close to the villagers around the villa. We are regularely contributing to the cultural activities, so that a the villa has a benefit for this population. We maintain as well the bamboo bridges around the villa, so that the old people can go to the ricefields again. We train as well our staff (driving licence, english course). I can assure you that the 10% "above Ubud price" goes in this socialisation program. it is our philosophy. Come back, and if you are lucky, may be, just before midnight, we will wake you up, because a villager informed us "come come with the guests, will be a dance trance in that village..." This is no more Bali for tourist, this is mistery. Thanks again, enjoy, and remember, all Indonesia is fascinating as long your are not obsessed by sea ! Sulawesi, the Toraja, Sumba... There are 2 planets with humans: the Earth and Indonesia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

If only we could've stayed here longer. As if the beautiful grounds, location, view, rooms, pool, decor, and common areas aren't enough, the service is absolutely impeccable, and the food is delicious. Stay here for multiple days and use it as your Ubud-area exploration headquarters - you will have a superb trip. Sure, it's not in Ubud, but it's close enough, and instead of the usual tourist crap, you get authentic Bali. The staff will go above and beyond to make your stay extra special. Can't recommend Balam Bali enough and only hope we can return some day!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

A beautiful 8 room villa, well appointed, secluded yet not 'out of touch', flanked by paddy fields and greenery. I have to admit - I made a grave mistake of staying here for only a couple of nights, before moving on to Seminyak. The staff at Balam Bali Villa are excellent - smiles everywhere and so eager to assist you in whatever your requirements may be. Breakfast on the upper terrace, overlooking the paddy fields was a sublime experience - watching the farmers as they worked their fields, then unabashedly removing all their clothes before dipping into the clear flowing stream, to cool off as the heat of the day sets in...this is not a matter of Balinese being exhibitionists - the Balinese, especially those relatively untouched by modern lifestyles, truly believe that they are invisible when they are naked.

Room Tip: Each of the 8 rooms has a different theme. I stayed in the Java room simply because I preferred the...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asia-aficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalamBali, Propriétaire at Balam Bali Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

it is so nice to have a feedback from a HAPPY guest ! yes yes, you are right, the balinese are invisible when naked. We did not choose the villa because of the public bath, it is just ... like this.

next, time, share the bath with them, they will lough a lot, it is so funny. You will learn about the balinese snow ball... mud balls ! not bad ! but shower before our pool please ! come back !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights during our fall break with 3 children. Booking was easy and responses were quick. We booked the Bali Room which was a spacious room with a small room with 2 single beds attached. They had put a large cot in the room of which you could take the side off. My almost 6 yo both still fitted, but for any older child you would have to request a proper rollaway (not sure if they have). Room was in good condition with nice touches. Bathroom is large and spacious, although oddly designed (only a single sink and a bath with hand shower, plus toilet, while they could have easily fitted another sink and a bath / shower combination or even separate), but it worked fine for us. Other funny detail about the room is that the bathroom has a black out curtain while the little bed room where the kids slept, didn't so it was quite very early in the morning. Could be solved quite easily. Could have used slightly more storage space, even for 2 nights, but especially with a family of 5 (only one fairly small closet in the ensuite room plus some shelves under TV). Slightly less privacy as almost all rooms are surrounding the pool. Again, worked fine for us, but you have to keep in mind.

We were picked up from the airport after a 1 1/2 hour queue for immigration ;(. Transfer took an hour and we got welcome drinks and they quickly showed us the rooms. Separate pool towels were given. The Villa is in the middle of the rice paddies (fairly flat area), very quiet on a proper road. They have a small a la carte menu for lunch and dinner plus a fixed daily dinner special which makes sense given the small scale of the property. Tasty food and friendly service. Breakfast includes fresh fruit / juice and toast and you can order pancakes / eggs, etc as you like. Lovely terrace overlooking the rice paddies. Overall, very good value for the price paid, given we all fit in a room with the 5 of us, for US$140. Food prices are reasonable, but of course slightly higher, which is completely understandable. Friendly owner and staff. Would recommend this place. Free wifi which overall works well, also in the rooms (always handy). Please remember you can only pay the balance (after deposit) in cash.

The kids enjoyed the pool and we took a day trip to Ubud, and after two days we set off for the Bali mountains. They organised our transfers to Ubud (and back) and also to Munduk.

Room Tip: Bali room is spacious enough for a family of 4 or even 5 (including a little one).
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1andTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalamBali, Propriétaire at Balam Bali Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Dear guests, thank you so much for your comments. We are sorry that the "children en suite room" was not big enough for you. Tennagers are now tall "kids". We will ask more information in the future to avoid deception of the manage this issue in a better way.

Regarding the disposition of the rooms around the pool: it is basically a sort of Roman villa plan. Until now, only one - very shy - couple of guests found this odd. in general, as it was the case for you, it works without problem. It is even a possiblity to socialize with the various nationality around the pool, in the evening. It is the "friendly aspect" of the villa almos all guests like. They feel that they are OUR guests and not just a passeport number. Hope you will come back to Bali. And remember that ALL INDONESIA is a fantastic country. Try Sulawesi ! amazing. Hubert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

We picked the Siam reap room and chose to stay here for 4 nights last december. And what an excellent choice it turned out to be. The room was really luxurious with all the amenities On hand including free wifi. The food was really great as well with excellent banana pancakes in the morning and great dinners offered in the evenings. The location is a bit away from the centre, but we didn't have a problem with it, as it was just great to get away from it all.
They also offer a 2 hour walk around the village in the morning which is a nice activity to do and it's Free!
Great experience for myself and my wife and I'm sure you won't be disappointed either.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EatDrinkStayReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mengwi
5.0 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 199 in Ubud
764 reviews
5.3 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
263 reviews
4.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#48 of 199 in Ubud
379 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 147 in Seminyak
1,557 reviews
6.4 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balam Bali Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balam Bali Villa

Address: Jalan Teleng 100, Banjar Cengkok | Baha Village, Mengwi, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Mengwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mengwi
Price Range: £24 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balam Bali Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is nestled amid the rice paddies, near the temple of Taman Ayun, at 25 minutes drive from Ubud. You will discover here a 17th century pirate lair perched atop a hill with two family rooms. It was restored with connoisseur passion. The more contemporary marble villa alongside has also been enhanced with an exceptional collection of objets d'art.Balam Bali Villa embraces seven rooms and includes a convivial bar, a pool, authentic cooking, and a panoramic terrace view. It is a perfect place for a family or a couple. Our guest house organises several excursions to discover the inland (volcanoes, amazing rice fields, temples, lakes, and local villages). WIFI internet available and free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Balam Bali Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balam Bali Villa Hotel Mengwi
Balam Bali Villa Mengwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing