We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Balam Bali Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Balam Bali Villa
Ranked #1 of 4 Mengwi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed at Balam Bali late June with my whole family. We stayed in the Pirate Room ( but all of the rooms look great).
It is a little remote to get to, but the hotel are very willing to assist with transport arrangements. It's in the heart of rural "real" Bali - very authentic and great views over the rice paddies. Great decor in the rooms and air conditioners. Breakfast a little limited in choice.
Well worth it - we would recommend it and would return.

Room Tip: Pirate room great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomsonJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    38
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
105
169
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Best staff on our Bali journey, very helpful and had great drivers/guides. Tranquile environment, Genuine indonesian atmosphere, Breakfast wiew is spectacular (and so is the breakfast). Balam Bali villa will make you feel relaxed. Just a short stone's throw away from Ubud and the airport.

Room Tip: Room Agung is fantastic, only sad thing is that AC is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldenear65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalamBali, Propriétaire at Balam Bali Villa, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear guests, thank you for your comments. We always try to improve our service, and with our popular staff, we try to eliminate the flaws. I am really sorry about the AC. Immediately after knowing about the problem through your comments, we openned it and found the source of the vibration. We are very sorry for that!

Hubert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Having loved this venue 18 months ago returned for 4 nights with husband & 7 year old grandson. Oka picked us up from airport and immediately established a rapport with Zaivier(grandson). Loved Agung room in the Pirate house with its balcony overlooking the rice-fields. All the Staff were again so welcoming led by Mayun who took us on the village/rice field walk. The meals were as I remembered, of a very high standard. It is so wonderful to have breakfast overlooking the beautiful countryside as the local villages work in the fields.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here & either Oka or Made can take you anywhere you wish to go (at a reasonable cost).
My grandson recommends the massage from Kadek. You can also purchase a quality hand-woven sarong made by Mayun's mother.
We were made to feel so much at home that we will definitely return again. Thanks especially to Oka for your thoughtfullness (and lovely to meet Nelly).
This is the absolutely best location for anyone who wants to spend some time relaxing and being pampered. Not for those who want to party or shop- although they can drive you there.

Room Tip: We like the Pirate house away from the pool but it does have stairs. The room around the pool are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria001_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalamBali, Propriétaire at Balam Bali Villa, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Dear Gloria,

Thank your so much for your nice comments ! Oka was really moved when we translated to him your praise. We say in French: "never 2 without 3". Come back !

Hubert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

In this perfect guest house, you will be surprise by the villa (looking like traditional Balinese house) in the middle of rice fields. Every night, after having perfect dinner, in front of rice fields you will hear incredible frogs song. Didier, one of owners will explain you Balinese life, culture, tradition with passion and french point of you. Balam Bali team will help you every time you need. Madi will drive you in ally interesting places like jatiluwih rice fields or tanah lot temple. You'll never forget balam bali villa.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SebS679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Denis - Réunion
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

My stay in Balam Bali Villa was like in a dream and unforgettable. I felt at home and being like a princess by the staff who was very attentive, smily and kind.
This is a wonderful place to stay nearby UBUD, in the middle of authentic rice fields and environement. A guest house offering very classy and comfortable rooms, a nice swimming pool surrounded by a nice & flowery garden. The french touch is everywhere and the most amazing that they offer very good french cuisine with fresh local products cooked by a Balinese cook and trained by a French Chef, unforgettable "crème brulé" ...
The package offered is a nice and complete product which enables me to visit Bali Off beaten tracks known only by the "connaisseurs" and "amoureux de Bali".
Words are not enough to say how much i enjoyed and loved my stay overthere and is eager to go back to visit other off beaten tracks.
Thanks a lot for this wonderful stay with you overthere !!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and superbs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

What can I say about Balam Bali Villa? It was my choice to get away from the throngs and to experience the idyllic life on the island, and it was the right choice. From the beautiful setting, to the enjoyable excursions, and the warm and wonderful staff, I really did not feel like leaving at the end of my vacation and for good reason. This is the place to gain some tranquility and wander around in the rural culture of Bali. If it is shopping or a party you are looking for, then this is not the place for you as it is not close to the beaches and bars in the south. It is somewhat closer to Ubud, but still more for a daytrip as it takes a little time to get there by car. However, being away from it all has its benefits. If you are lucky enough, you get to experience local customs and celebrations firsthand (I was fortunate enough to witness a "barong" ceremony in nearby Cengkok village), something that you would otherwise never get a chance to do in the regular tourist haunts. Take the time to get to know the staff as they are very kind and wonderful people. Thank you, everyone at Balam Bali. I will miss being there and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalamBali, Propriétaire at Balam Bali Villa, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Oh Chris, we miss you as well !!! whay you are gone ??? I can create a good position for you "Carming Guest". What do you think, fits you perfectly.

all the staff was sad when you left. should you come back, write me, so that we can advise your the period to come, like, I.e. the Balinese new years, with ceremonies all around the island.

Be happy there in Bengladesh !

kisses from everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Location: We were very grateful to have happened upon this villa for the final leg of our trip. Having spent a week in Ubud previously, the distance of Balam Bali from town was a plus. While staying in Ubud, it was more common to be within earshot of construction than not. This place, maybe 20 minutes from Ubud, is located in a tranquil area surrounded by ricefields, soothing and peaceful. We finally got what we were looking for here.

Staff: We spent nearly an hour speaking with Mayun--who I believe is a manger--he gave us a lot of the background underlying the customs and ceremonies we'd been seeing throughout our trip. One of the owners is a museum curator and is wildly passionate and knowledgable about Balinese arts, ranging from antique furniture (which you'll see throughout the villa) to local music and dance performances (which they can arrange for you to witness & which you should definitely not miss).

Services: Food quality is excellent but limited and is a bit more expensive than what you'd get in Ubud. This will make perfect sense to any person who has worked in a restaurant, as you have to sacrifice variety and quantity to ensure freshness and quality. The waitstaff are wonderful. There are drivers available, I found their rates to be a bit high, but again, it's good to know its there if you need it, which we did. The owners have maintained a lovely relationship with a local village for many (10?) years and have been bringing their guests to see/hear the villagers' performances, so it's a real treat to get in on.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaimerothbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalamBali, Propriétaire at Balam Bali Villa, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. I am always so happy to see this, not for myself, but for the staff who gives all they can to make our guests happy. Our staff does not like the evolution of Bali, in the South, in Ubud. Reading your comments will make them smiling, they will be proud to be what they are : the real Balinese, with the see in their back, and the eyes direction the volcanos where the Gods are dwelling. Mayun is the son of a priest, therefore he know well the meaning of the ceremonies.

About the prices: our isolation has a certain cost (half a day to get fresh fish, i.e.). In addition to that, we are, as you noted, close to the villagers around the villa. We are regularely contributing to the cultural activities, so that a the villa has a benefit for this population. We maintain as well the bamboo bridges around the villa, so that the old people can go to the ricefields again. We train as well our staff (driving licence, english course). I can assure you that the 10% "above Ubud price" goes in this socialisation program. it is our philosophy. Come back, and if you are lucky, may be, just before midnight, we will wake you up, because a villager informed us "come come with the guests, will be a dance trance in that village..." This is no more Bali for tourist, this is mistery. Thanks again, enjoy, and remember, all Indonesia is fascinating as long your are not obsessed by sea ! Sulawesi, the Toraja, Sumba... There are 2 planets with humans: the Earth and Indonesia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mengwi
7.1 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
6.4 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#3 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
5.2 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#7 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#55 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
4.8 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
9.7 mi away
Sejuk Beach Villas
Sejuk Beach Villas
#3 of 19 in Mengwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balam Bali Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balam Bali Villa

Property: Balam Bali Villa
Address: Jalan Teleng 100, Banjar Cengkok | Baha Village, Mengwi, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Mengwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mengwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Balam Bali Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is nestled amid the rice paddies, near the temple of Taman Ayun, at 25 minutes drive from Ubud. You will discover here a 17th century pirate lair perched atop a hill with two family rooms. It was restored with connoisseur passion. The more contemporary marble villa alongside has also been enhanced with an exceptional collection of objets d'art.Balam Bali Villa embraces seven rooms and includes a convivial bar, a pool, authentic cooking, and a panoramic terrace view. It is a perfect place for a family or a couple. Our guest house organises several excursions to discover the inland (volcanoes, amazing rice fields, temples, lakes, and local villages). WIFI internet available and free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Balam Bali Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balam Bali Villa Hotel Mengwi
Balam Bali Villa Mengwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing