We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not enough superlatives...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Balam Bali Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Balam Bali Villa
Ranked #1 of 5 Mengwi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not enough superlatives...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

There are not enough superlatives about this villa. The experience was simply amazing. The reservation process and questions about the stay/area (including coordinating driver who was meeting me from Singapore with delayed flight and a friend who flew in from Los Angeles) was a breeze and so professional thanks to David Lam. The villa itself is in a beautiful and peaceful location amidst rice fields and local village -- close enough to Ubud (probably even closer when damaged bridge is repaired) yet blissfully away from most tourists to have a meaningful and "real" experience. We stayed in the pirate house, which was unique and huge and comfortable, and my room (Agung) had large balcony which we used often for hanging out and relaxing (see later in review). Pool was perfect. Food was excellent. Breakfast every morning with Western and Balinese options. Preset dinner, done with style and perfect proportions and taste. Kudos to the chef! The staff was remarkable!! Friendly and helpful, with excursions to many of the cultural sites in central Bali (Jatiluwih, Lake Batur, Badung, trek along local river, etc...). One of the days was my birthday (my 17th annual 29th) and I was brought a birthday cake -- which was so delicious and such a surprise. Can't beat that personal touch! Some of the best times were hanging out with the people working at the villa at local eateries for fried tofu and Babi guling, or drinking arak at the local wayun -- and also one night on my aforementioned balcony having arak and wine and talking until the wee hours. Need (well, need is relative, but want...) a massage? Kadeck is your man! Thanks to everyone at Balam Bali Villa -- David, Mayun, Oka, Kadeck, Made, Kamong, Didier and whoever else I may be forgetting. It was a truly special experience that I won't ever forget. When back in Bali I will stay again in a nanosecond. (One thing: if you are a light sleeper bring earplugs, as some of the folks who tend the rice fields bang stuff early in the morning to keep birds away).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TREIBS67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalamBali, Propriétaire at Balam Bali Villa, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Oh my God, Tom !!!! i do not know where to hide ! it is tooooooo much ! It was that good ? half of the staff did a heart attack when reading your review. they commemorated your nice words with a Sirsak cocktail, for all of them. Thank you thank you thank you !

We really hope to see you again. Why not a sabbatical year ??? ha ha !

H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    38
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
105
169
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Everything's worth the experience. Very friendly and knowlegable staff will take you to the sites you want to check off your list and some you never knew existed. :-) wonderful stay at the villa itself, with breakfast and Bali coffee made the right way. Dinner menu is different and preset every evening - worth planning ahead not to miss the deliciously wrapped chicken (Ahhh wish I remembered what it was called - served on Friday of our stay). We stayed 6 nights in the pirate house and its unique and peaceful but bring ear plugs as the local woman bangs pots to scare off the birds in the rice fields out side the window.
If I return I wouldn't want you stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tzhuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalamBali, Gérant at Balam Bali Villa, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Tanya,

Thank you for your nice words ! ha ha... the women woke you up ??? Not a problem ! Bali belongs to the ones who are early up ! The chicken you enjoyed so much is "chicken Pandanus" ! the piece of chicken, marinated in a preparation made of coconut cream and spcices is cooked in a leave from plant named "pandan" or "pandanus". it is indeed delicious. share your experience with friends, and tell them that we do have the best packages in the island. thanks again in the name of all thes staff, Hubert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

The view from the back of this hotel is just lovely, set amidst rice fields.

Pros:
• Air conditioning, Western bathroom, room service
• Great view
• Quiet location away from tourist area
• Breakfast included
• French and English-speaking staff

Cons:
• Our room (Bali) wasn't sealed from the outdoors - wear bug spray.
• Room opened onto a communal pool, but luckily the other guests weren't rowdy.
• The doorways have a raised frame, so watch your step when you're stumbling to the bathroom at 2 AM.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalamBali, Propriétaire at Balam Bali Villa, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear Suzie,

Thank you for your remarks. until now, the configuration around the pool was never an issue. The various guests take this opportunity to socialise and to explore Bali together, to reduce the use of car and share the expenses.

For the doors and the raised frame... this is the traditional Balinese door. We are protected by the good spirits, we never has an accident.

but we will of course look for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We had the Agung room and it was perfect : a bit alone upon the reception but definitely not in the "hassle" of the swiming pool where the room are literally opening on the water.

We spent 2 nights there and it was perfect : the room was wonderful, beautiful decoration, nice staff, nice pool ; everything is very clean.

The only "problem" is that if you want to do thing your way (in terms of logistics), you're really on your own : we wanted to rent a scooter for our last day ; something very common in Bali as a matter of fact. No help was given to me, there's no collaboration between the hotel and a renting entreprise, no-one seemed to know anyone (a brother, a grandpa, a cousin) that could rent a scooter for the day.

The only answer we got is : you have to go to Ubud, that's the touristic place in Bali, you'll find a scooter there, we can transfer you there if you want. (I let you draw the conclusions)

I took a bicycle, cycled for 1h15 and found among the 20 people I met, 1 person willing to trust me and rented me a scooter for the day after....Victory is mine !!

Even tough, nice stay, nice food, a good way to en a trip in Bali

Room Tip: Room Agung is VERY nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxime O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalamBali, Propriétaire at Balam Bali Villa, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Thank you Maxime for your positive review and your feedback regarding the motorbikes. We will check if there is a possibility to get a cooperation with a motorbike rental company at Ubud.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

If you want to see Bali but don't want any hassles and be away from the main tourist areas the Balam Bali villa is really only an hour from the airport and is right in the countryside in between the rice fields. The villa is an immaculately restored 200 year old wooden house at the front with poolside villas at the back.

We were after an extremely relaxing three days and got just that. The staff was always around and there when we needed something. Breakfast is served any time you want, lunch is a-la-carte and the dinner is a set menu. The food was always fresh, beautifully presented and really nice, just honest food with local ingredients, but with western taste in mind. It's really great to have the meal out on the terrace at the back overlooking the rice fields at the back of the complex.

Because we stayed in the Agung room, we had a private balcony with views of the rice fields. The locals were always around working on the fields, or passing by. Kids were playing on the road or went for a swim in the canal. The atmosphere was very friendly and kids sometimes were looking for a wave. The view and the breeze on the balcony was very calming.

It was nice to have everything arranged by the helpful staff. We went for a guided morning walk through the village and rice fields, had a massage and on the final day went for a tour of the Jatiluwih ricefields and the Bedugul temple before being dropped off at the airport. All of these are highly recommended.

In conclusion, it was just the right way to end our trip before going back to work. We would recommend Balam Bali Villa to anyone who really wants to get away and relax.

Room Tip: The Agung room is away from the central pool area and is the only room that has a private balcony ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vbrendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalamBali, Propriétaire at Balam Bali Villa, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Hello ! Thanks a lot for your super words, our staff was very happy to read your comments ! just a little detail.... the wooden house is.... 300 ! years old, not 200 ! it is from the end of the 17th century. Actually, it might be the oldest house in Bali !

share your passion for our villa with friends ! advise them to use our packages, everything included. It is a way to enjoy Bali, with no troubles. We hope to see you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed ten days at the gorgeous Balam Bali Villa and wished we could have stayed for longer. Our room, the magnificent Siam room, was clean, stylishly decorated and complete with the largest marble bathroom we'd ever seen. We loved it. We ate in most nights and the food was always fresh and delicious traditional Balinese with French touches, at very reasonable prices. Check out the vanilla ice cream and ginger cream brulee. David, Hubert and the team-thank you. Without your amazing dedication to Bali and authentic day trip recommendations we would have been confined to a standard Bali tourist experience. You made it exceptional.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrederikDeBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalamBali, Propriétaire at Balam Bali Villa, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hello guys !!! how are you doing in Brussels ? You miss Bali, I am sure. I will never forget the tour at Batour we did together. Perfect weather, and this way we recommand to see the Batur volcano is really stunning. I never stop to look at the photos. Thank you so much for your comments ! readers will think that we offered the stay for free against such a chorus of praise ! come back again ! spend new year with us !

Hubert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

What a warm welcome. These people are very nice and very helpfull. We arived late by bus comming from Java, Probomingo. After texting them we were almost at the Mengwi buss stationd they came to pick us up free from charge. Since they only had the Bali family room we took that room. The setting is peacefull and a beauty. From the roof terrace you can see the rice fields. The food is just wonderfull and so are the fruit mix juices. The room and bathroom are very spacious. There is airco, bed with muskeeto net, shower with hot water, tv, dvd player (dvd can be rented at reception). Clean rooms. At night its realy quiet. The staff is great they like to talk to you and not one question us to much. They make you feel vert welcome. We rented some bikes there free of charge. We only stayed 2 nights so we cant judge their excursions but from what I've heard they are great. I would like to thank them all for the pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannesroets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalamBali, Propriétaire at Balam Bali Villa, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
hello both ! Thank you for your nice comments ! We were so worried about you, comming from Java on this crazy road. your safety was our first consideration, not to cash money for a pick-up. Oh just one details: our DVD's are not for rent, they are free of charge. 700 titles... just going through the albums makes you sleepy ! what is a good point for having them ! Come back, and try our packages next time !

hubert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mengwi
6.4 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#12 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#25 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#39 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
5.2 mi away
Villa Saraswati
Villa Saraswati
#7 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.8 mi away
Puri Taman Sari
Puri Taman Sari
#4 of 13 in Tabanan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balam Bali Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balam Bali Villa

Property: Balam Bali Villa
Address: Jalan Teleng 100, Banjar Cengkok | Baha Village, Mengwi, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Mengwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mengwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Balam Bali Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is nestled amid the rice paddies, near the temple of Taman Ayun, at 25 minutes drive from Ubud. You will discover here a 17th century pirate lair perched atop a hill with two family rooms. It was restored with connoisseur passion. The more contemporary marble villa alongside has also been enhanced with an exceptional collection of objets d'art.Balam Bali Villa embraces seven rooms and includes a convivial bar, a pool, authentic cooking, and a panoramic terrace view. It is a perfect place for a family or a couple. Our guest house organises several excursions to discover the inland (volcanoes, amazing rice fields, temples, lakes, and local villages). WIFI internet available and free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Balam Bali Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balam Bali Villa Hotel Mengwi
Balam Bali Villa Mengwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing