We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERDUPER WORTH IT”
Review of Balam Bali Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Balam Bali Villa
Ranked #1 of 7 Mengwi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
singaporeee!
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SUPERDUPER WORTH IT”
Reviewed 9 April 2010

The deepest impression left by the staff was their hospitality. The staff was really really kind and helpful and extremely polite. Even the owners of the villa are such warm people and are always ready to assist you to have an awesome stay at the villa. They would ensure that you'd not only have a great stay in their villa but also experience it in BALI as a whole. Like, they would make sure you have transport to the different places... help to book our volcano-climbing guides.. drew maps for us to help us with our way around and allow us to have such awesome meals. NOT FORGETTING THEIR OWN BAKED CHOCO COOKIES ON THE LAST DAY :DDD TASTYY

The place itself is great. Best for those who intend to withdraw from the hustle and bustle of city life and just relax in a natural setting where you can breathe in fresh air and enjoy the view of farmers at work... or even families taking showers at the nearby canal HAHA. That is for the house of pirates and the terrace where we mostly had our meals at. The room has a nice wood smell... quite unexpected as i thought i would be inhaling those musty air in old kampong houses. the entire place is well maintained and very pretty.

the swimming pool and the house of marbles are just so pretty a place to be hanging out at.


Well you should just give it a try and have a few days stay there yourself ^^

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xlynmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    38
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
107
173
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

I stayed 4 days at Balam Bal Villa, which I found by chance on the internet.
It looked beautiful on the website, but what is more it came op to its expectations.
Authentic and original Indonesian homestay in the Wooden House or comfortable modern villa's at the pool. A very gentle staff with a surprisingly good cook made my stay relaxing and pleasant.
It is hidden in a beautiful scenery. There was time to take a walk in the ricefields with a staffmember.
I have speciallly good memory about the professinal massage by Gusti Mayung.
The whole staff are nice and beautiful people.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C-Hapeau49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2010

My family and I just returned from our stay at Balam Bali. I am the kind of person that usually doesn't bother with writing reviews, but we had such an incredible experience that I feel obliged to write something up. The rooms at Balam Bali are beautifully decorated and outfitted with all the modern amenities. Everything feels new and fresh. The staff were extremely warm, helpful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Adi, who is the manager, is a wonderful person and he made sure we felt like we were his honored guests. When we left the entire staff came out to wave us good bye and I really felt that I was leaving my friends behind, even though we only stayed one night! It was almost like staying at someone's home. The only slight drawback of the Balam Bali is that it isn't walking distance to any restaurants or shops- but the food at the B&B was delicious and the service excellent. Adi will set you up with a car and driver to any location you'd like to go to, so it was perfect for us.

I enthusiastically recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molnarp32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Our family group of 13 people (+ one baby) decided to rent the whole Balam Bali Villa for a week, just after Xmas. Most of us being regular visitors of the Island of Gods, we wanted something 'different' from the usually over-crowded seaside destinations. Not only the villa and its surroundings provided a quintessential experience of Balinese harmony, but also the staff - thanks to their friendly, discrete and efficient support - made this experience unique and unforgettable!

This was a very special family gathering for us and everyone will remember this week as a rare opportunity of bonding without having to worry about logistical details. Food was delicious and each villa was decorated with discerning taste.

There aren't many places left in Bali where tourists can walk along a narrow country road, wandering across beautiful paddy fields, without being hassled by traffic or vendors, just local residents and farmers happy to exchange few words in broken english. Too rare to be missed!

We'll come back!

Pascal
(Canberra, Australia)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pascalitOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mengwi
5.0 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#23 of 196 in Ubud
748 reviews
4.8 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
7.5 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#49 of 196 in Ubud
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#39 of 196 in Ubud
1,034 reviews
4.7 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
4.8 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 196 in Ubud
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balam Bali Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balam Bali Villa

Property: Balam Bali Villa
Address: Jalan Teleng 100, Banjar Cengkok | Baha Village, Mengwi, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Mengwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mengwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balam Bali Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is nestled amid the rice paddies, near the temple of Taman Ayun, at 25 minutes drive from Ubud. You will discover here a 17th century pirate lair perched atop a hill with two family rooms. It was restored with connoisseur passion. The more contemporary marble villa alongside has also been enhanced with an exceptional collection of objets d'art.Balam Bali Villa embraces seven rooms and includes a convivial bar, a pool, authentic cooking, and a panoramic terrace view. It is a perfect place for a family or a couple. Our guest house organises several excursions to discover the inland (volcanoes, amazing rice fields, temples, lakes, and local villages). WIFI internet available and free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Balam Bali Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balam Bali Villa Hotel Mengwi
Balam Bali Villa Mengwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing