We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Balam Bali Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Balam Bali Villa
Ranked #1 of 7 Mengwi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2010

The best place we ever stayed at! Beautiful spacious room (siam) with very large bathroom. Perfectly cleaned every day. Very friendly staff and owner. At your service at all times, without being to much in your face. In the middle of the rice paddies. Transport (almost anywhere) is arranged by the staff, for a very fair price. Breakfast at the roof terras, beautiful! Diner and lunch available. Wish we could have stayed longer, hope to return one day!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylviadekoning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2010

Balam Bali is a beautiful villa in a beautiful setting. It is the people and the staff that make it deserve the highest rating and recommendation possible.

Every day, eating a delicious simple breakfast overlooking the rice padis
Read the other reviews - we found everything they rave about to be true.

We made full day trips with transport arranged by Balam Bali and also had drop-offs and returns to Ubud and other areas arranged. All drivers and vehicles they use are safe and reliable

Many of the places they recommended for us to visit, tour and eat at - not the ones all the tourists go to - were excellent.

While we have not gone back to far off and exotic places we've visited. we honestly will stay in Balam Bali Villa if/when we next visit Bali.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matthewra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Nice location, friendly staff, good food, calm and quiet environment.......... altogether very nice place to stay if you are looking for a calm holiday. Except for the fact that the place is a little far from Nusa Dua or Denpasar, everything else is good. It is near to Ubud, the cultural markets and nice restaurants places though. Defenitely recommended if you want to stay away from the city, noises, etc! Grt place!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwethaBalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

From the moment we arrived everything went just right. We were welcomed very warm and our room was upgraded. The whole layout is very nice. The bungalows are arranged around a pool and have a decent interior design. The old Pirate House is quite amazing. The Owner have a big DVD collection, they'll share it with you. In case of rain it will make your day. Go for the small trekking, it was very nice and informative!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrizc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Immersed amongst rice fields, this secluded gem is the perfect place to relax, live the balinese nature and enjoy 5 star treatment.
The beautiful rooms, gardens and pool give the villa a freshness very much needed in this hot climate. It’s the ideal place to come back to after a long day out... The place is very inviting, you might aswell end up spending most of your time at the villa enjoying it’s peace.
The owners and managers are enchanting! We just loved hanging out with them!
The staff is extremely friendly and will do it’s most to make your stay remarkable - they speak very good english.
The villa has a fantastic cook who also makes amazing chocolate pies. The breakfast is served on a terrace from which you can see farmers working in the rice fields. Breakfast is rich in different types of fresh fruit, juices, teas, and other delicious items.
Most rooms are equipped with a big TVs and DVD players. There is a library with more than 300 movies.
They have bikes at the villa.

We were amazed to find that the pictures you see on their website reveal EXACTLY what you will find.

Tip: on the first day we took their “around the villa” tour in which you will treck trough rice fields and forests to reach a small village on the other side of the river. During this tour you will have a taste of “real Bali life”. It is very worth it!!

PS. no mosquitos.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuriJi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Originally booking the Batukaru room in the pirate villa, we were upgraded upon arrival to one of the villas facing the pool, which we were so grateful for. Spent four nights at this magic place, relaxing by the pool and eating the gorgeous meals prepared by the wonderful kitchen staff.

Cannot recommend highly enough the beauty of the surrounding ricefields, the staff, cleanliness and all over professionalism of this place. Please stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhoebeandMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

I had a really fantastic stay at Balam Bali Villa which is all because of the really wonderful staff working there. Everyone was friendly, welcoming and helpful beyond expectation - really first class! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mengwi
5.3 mi away
LUXE Villas Bali
LUXE Villas Bali
#1 of 199 in Ubud
269 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 148 in Seminyak
1,577 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Puri Taman Sari
Puri Taman Sari
#6 of 13 in Tabanan
182 reviews
9.6 mi away
Angin Sepoi Resort
Angin Sepoi Resort
#5 of 22 in Mengwi
54 reviews
11.1 mi away
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
#1 of 58 in Tabanan
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balam Bali Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balam Bali Villa

Address: Jalan Teleng 100, Banjar Cengkok | Baha Village, Mengwi, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Mengwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mengwi
Price Range: £39 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balam Bali Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is nestled amid the rice paddies, near the temple of Taman Ayun, at 25 minutes drive from Ubud. You will discover here a 17th century pirate lair perched atop a hill with two family rooms. It was restored with connoisseur passion. The more contemporary marble villa alongside has also been enhanced with an exceptional collection of objets d'art.Balam Bali Villa embraces seven rooms and includes a convivial bar, a pool, authentic cooking, and a panoramic terrace view. It is a perfect place for a family or a couple. Our guest house organises several excursions to discover the inland (volcanoes, amazing rice fields, temples, lakes, and local villages). WIFI internet available and free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Balam Bali Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balam Bali Villa Hotel Mengwi
Balam Bali Villa Mengwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing