We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“country side heaven -”
Review of Balam Bali Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Balam Bali Villa
Ranked #1 of 5 Mengwi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“country side heaven -”
Reviewed 17 November 2010

It was wonderful property in village area of mengwi. Our purpose to visit the place to see balinese culture and tradition closely. Our stay was very well managed by the villa staff and every one was very helpful in all the ways. It was like a home away from our home.

I will definately recommend this property

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamyalok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    38
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
105
172
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Balam Bali is a perfect example of how the staff can really make you feel at home away from home. Set in an excellent location this is an ideal place if you really want a quite and relaxing vacation in bali away from the commercial hustle and bustle. We stayed in the Agung room at the pirate house and it gave us a complete experience of a true balinese stay. Any appreciation of Balam Bali will be incomplete without a special mention of Hubert and Adi who go an extra mile to make sure that you feel like guests rather than paying customers.

I would highly recommend Balam Bali for people who are traveling to Bali for a relaxing stay close to nature, this place will provide you a true balinese experience amongst the Rice Paddy Fields for a great price.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Safarnama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We stayed in Java room for 5 nights at the beginning of our 2 week trip to Bali/Lombok then returned to Toraja room for the last night of the trip. We had arranged airport transfers which made everything very easy.

The villa is in an amazing location surrounded by rice fields, the view was fantastic. You can hire bikes from the villa which were useful for exploring the nearby surroundings. The villa itself was gorgeous, the rooms were very spacious and comfortable. The breakfasts were superb - especially the banana pancakes! We ate at the villa a few nights, the food was delicious and good value. Ubud is just over half an hour drive away for a change of scenery.

Hubert and his staff went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay, they were a wealth of information about the local area, Balinese culture and the trips arranged through the villa were great. Would thoroughly recommend booking one of the massage treatments on offer.

I would not hesitate to recommend Balam Bali, thanks to Hubert and staff for such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

My husband & I stayed in Balam Bali for 5 days & without a doubt it was the best 5 days we spent in Bali, having previously stayed in All Seasons & Indiana Kennanga.
Positives: Great food, friendly atmosphere, helpful staff
What we really loved about Balam Bali are the people - Hubert, the co-owner, knows Bali like the back of his hand and can guide you to unique places & experiences. He'd pass by & crack jokes with a poker face, always a tidbit about Bali ready for our consumption! Adi, Mayun, Kadek, Poka & the rest of the staff really set the standards for hospitality.
I was really interested in attending a traditional Balinese ceremony & Hubert, Adi really went all out to make that possible.
When we visit Bali again, we are definitely staying in Balam Bali!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supsleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

I chose to stay at Balam Bali Villa for my first time in Bali as my partner & I prefer a more natural setting.

Upon arrival at Denpasar, our pre-arranged villa driver, Borju, was there to pick us up. He is a very nice guy and as we discovered over the next few days, highly punctual too. The villa helped us arrange drop-offs at Ubud and even bought us tickets to experience the 'Jegog', a bamboo musical performance.

Hubert & his team, Wayan, Adi etc are excellent. The level of attention to detail, the care and quality of service is impeccable. Looking around the villa you will note how immaculate everything is and you will appreciate that every piece of decor, crockery, etc are extremely aesthetically pleasing. Hubert also provided us with a most valuable map that highlights all the must-do places in Ubud - it is very useful!

Also of note is the breakfast and food at the villa. We found the eggs, pancakes, toast, etc to be super fresh & tasty! Plus the coffee and food from the menu are all excellent and served with careful decorations.

To sum up, this is one place I will return to Bali once more in order to experience it again. We greatly enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere and lush green-ness of this place. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank li-kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Spent four nights at this beautiful, tucked away villa in Mengwi, about 20 min drive away from downtown Ubud -- our experience from start to finish was blissful.

The medium sized villa was tastefully decorated and the greenery within the villa compliments the natural beauty that surrounds it -- fields of well-plowed rice paddies.

My husband and I arrived at this hotel and within minutes we felt at home and at heaven at the same time.

The pool is beautiful, not very big, but a good size pool to swim a few laps and to relax in. Set right in front of the footsteps of the rooms, it is the center of the villa.

The room is beautiful, well chosen wooden furniture and cooling marble floor. Our room had everything you needed for a relaxing holiday away from the hustle bustle of big cities. While the room did not provide a fridge, guests could store anything in the fridge in the main restaurant, they also provided complimentary cold drinking water at all times at the restaurant.

Everyone at the villa was wonderful, the owner Hubert and manager Adi provided the perfect guide to Bali - everything from restaurant recommendations to places to shop and sightseeing, they even organize nature walk or Balinese village tour to help guests learn about the local culture and people. In our experiences traveling around the world, Hubert has been the most helpful, and friendly host, just ask him anything about Bali and he'll pretty much have an answer for you.

The food at the villa is delicious, fresh and yummy. The chef bakes the best brownie that we've ever had.

The staff provide attentive service while never been intrusive - its like a team of butlers that appears just when you need them and disappear when they are not needed.

We are amazed at the level of service and value for money at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone who seeks a quiet getaway and a place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeijingBagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

I promised Hubert a tripadvisor review before i left, and here it finally is.

First of all, we love the location, even though it is somewhat far from the city. Our taxi from the Denpasar airport got lost numerous times, and we only reached the villa several hours later, at night. The way around this is to book the airport transfer direct with the villa, you won't regret it. Unfortunately for our group, the flight was delayed an hour, and we never found our airport transfer. Don't let the location deter you, its beautiful and definitely better than staying in the busy areas of Kuta or Legian. You can get the villa to arrange for a very capable driver to take you around. We were also lucky enough to have the awesome Borju, who i will not hesitate to call up again the next time we are there.

As for the villa itself, we have no complaints whatsoever.

We booked the Pirate House for our group of five people, and were not disappointed. Its a bit more isolated than the villas surrounding the pool, and is perfect for quiet nights relaxing over a cup of bali coffee or ginger tea on the verandah, overlooking the paddy fields. Several times the owner Hubert or Adi would pop by for a chat.

Don't forget to book the morning walk with Hubert, it gives you an interesting insight into the real Bali, away from the tourists and development.

The food was excellent, and we actually had Hubert cook supper for us himself one night, when we came back late and hungry after the resident chef was sent home.

Special thanks to Adi, who woke up at the crack of dawn without complaint when my sister needed to see a doctor after picking up a stomach bug.

I honestly can't say enough good things about Balam Bali Villa, and if i keep writing it will become a book. In short, when we come back to the island, its the only place i or anyone else in our group is willing to stay at, because we just fell in love with it immediately.

Warm thanks to everyone at Balam Bali for making our stay truly memorable.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yellow-Scarab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mengwi
4.5 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 198 in Ubud
1,013 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
12.4 mi away
Kembali Lagi Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Puri Taman Sari
Puri Taman Sari
#5 of 14 in Tabanan
169 reviews
17.4 mi away
Sawah Indah Villa
Sawah Indah Villa
#1 of 17 in Sidemen
414 reviews
4.8 mi away
Gerhana Sari 2 Hotel
Gerhana Sari 2 Hotel
#11 of 555 in Ubud
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balam Bali Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balam Bali Villa

Property: Balam Bali Villa
Address: Jalan Teleng 100, Banjar Cengkok | Baha Village, Mengwi, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Mengwi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mengwi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balam Bali Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is nestled amid the rice paddies, near the temple of Taman Ayun, at 25 minutes drive from Ubud. You will discover here a 17th century pirate lair perched atop a hill with two family rooms. It was restored with connoisseur passion. The more contemporary marble villa alongside has also been enhanced with an exceptional collection of objets d'art.Balam Bali Villa embraces seven rooms and includes a convivial bar, a pool, authentic cooking, and a panoramic terrace view. It is a perfect place for a family or a couple. Our guest house organises several excursions to discover the inland (volcanoes, amazing rice fields, temples, lakes, and local villages). WIFI internet available and free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Balam Bali Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balam Bali Villa Hotel Mengwi
Balam Bali Villa Mengwi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing